VOGONS


Reply 14240 of 14325, by appiah4

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Got my new S7 pet project to boot with SDRAM instead of EDO which resulted in 16% better memory bandwidth and around 1% better performance. 😁

Retronautics: A digital gallery of my retro computers, hardware and projects.

Reply 14241 of 14325, by brostenen

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

Played with my new Furia-020 for my Amiga600. It has become quite the beast, my little Amiga600.

Furia.jpg
Filename
Furia.jpg
File size
196.69 KiB
Views
345 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick....

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011

Jah ich will trynen... Die Leute wie macht scheisse in dem Grünen.

Reply 14242 of 14325, by appiah4

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
brostenen wrote on 2020-02-14, 07:44:

Played with my new Furia-020 for my Amiga600. It has become quite the beast, my little Amiga600.

Furia.jpg

Are you experiencing the CPU clamping issues a lot of users of this card are having?

Retronautics: A digital gallery of my retro computers, hardware and projects.

Reply 14243 of 14325, by brostenen

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
appiah4 wrote on 2020-02-14, 07:50:
brostenen wrote on 2020-02-14, 07:44:

Played with my new Furia-020 for my Amiga600. It has become quite the beast, my little Amiga600.

Furia.jpg

Are you experiencing the CPU clamping issues a lot of users of this card are having?

Nope. Not with the Furia-020. I can lift the entire machine, with all it's upgrades as it is in the picture. By grabbing the Furia it self. 😀

Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick....

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011

Jah ich will trynen... Die Leute wie macht scheisse in dem Grünen.

Reply 14244 of 14325, by appiah4

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
brostenen wrote on 2020-02-14, 07:55:
appiah4 wrote on 2020-02-14, 07:50:
brostenen wrote on 2020-02-14, 07:44:

Played with my new Furia-020 for my Amiga600. It has become quite the beast, my little Amiga600.

Furia.jpg

Are you experiencing the CPU clamping issues a lot of users of this card are having?

Nope. Not with the Furia-020. I can lift the entire machine, with all it's upgrades as it is in the picture. By grabbing the Furia it self. 😀

Ahh, good for you. Just don't do that a lot because it does get loose over time from what I hear 😁

Retronautics: A digital gallery of my retro computers, hardware and projects.

Reply 14245 of 14325, by brostenen

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
appiah4 wrote on 2020-02-14, 07:57:
brostenen wrote on 2020-02-14, 07:55:
appiah4 wrote on 2020-02-14, 07:50:

Are you experiencing the CPU clamping issues a lot of users of this card are having?

Nope. Not with the Furia-020. I can lift the entire machine, with all it's upgrades as it is in the picture. By grabbing the Furia it self. 😀

Ahh, good for you. Just don't do that a lot because it does get loose over time from what I hear 😁

Yes... Those sockets get loose over time, if you insert and remove the accelerator a good number of times. However. I am not planning to remove it at any point in time. Unless it becomes broken. For that, I bought the active cooler (near silent or noise free) to keep it as cold as possible. Also. The machine have been recapped and I am using one of these Meanwell (65-something) PSU's that I have installed in an original Amiga500 PSU case. I bought the accelerator from the inventor him self. And yes. Running something with sound, that is games, demo or modules. Then I can not hear any fan noise. It is only when it is standing idle, I can hear a slight airflow hiss, from the fan it self.

Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick....

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011

Jah ich will trynen... Die Leute wie macht scheisse in dem Grünen.

Reply 14246 of 14325, by PTherapist

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Worked some more on an Dell LPX 486 motherboard I bought cheaply last year. Did most of this work the other day, but today just finalised a few tests:

The board was extremely picky about RAM, it required Parity RAM to even POST. But then even though it was posting, there was absolutely no display from the onboard VGA - it would turn on the monitor but just output a blank screen. No jumper settings on the board made a difference, other than 1 setting that disabled the onboard completely.

I didn't have a Riser card for it so I'd put off doing anything further for some time. The Riser slot looks identical to a regular ISA slot, but I was a bit wary of trying a card straight onto the slot. So I found an already faulty ISA Graphics Card from my collection (has memory issues) and thought I'd give it a go plugging directly into that slot - and it actually worked, so far as the faulty card allows. I was able to get into the BIOS and move around, however the system would freeze after about 30 seconds each time.

I'll have to test further with a working Graphics Card and see if I can get this thing to boot at all.

Reply 14247 of 14325, by FazzaGBR

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Today I have been creating a 'Golden Image' on a Pentium 4 HP/Compaq nx9010 laptop with Windows XP and some open source software ready to image the other ones that I have in my collection 😀

My personal website blog: https://www.retrocomputing.co.uk/

Reply 14248 of 14325, by brostenen

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
FazzaGBR wrote on 2020-02-14, 12:37:

Today I have been creating a 'Golden Image' on a Pentium 4 HP/Compaq nx9010 laptop with Windows XP and some open source software ready to image the other ones that I have in my collection 😀

What tool did you use? I am testing out image creation, using DD on my Linux machine. (Learning or trying to image an Amiga HDD)

Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick....

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011

Jah ich will trynen... Die Leute wie macht scheisse in dem Grünen.

Reply 14249 of 14325, by FazzaGBR

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
brostenen wrote on 2020-02-14, 13:21:
FazzaGBR wrote on 2020-02-14, 12:37:

Today I have been creating a 'Golden Image' on a Pentium 4 HP/Compaq nx9010 laptop with Windows XP and some open source software ready to image the other ones that I have in my collection 😀

What tool did you use? I am testing out image creation, using DD on my Linux machine. (Learning or trying to image an Amiga HDD)

I'm using a copy of Norton/Symantec Ghost I got off of eBay last year. I have it installed to a bootable USB Flash Drive that has plenty of space to store the image as well. I believe Ghost works with Linux - as long as it's a version 'of the time' when the version of Ghost you has was released etc.

My personal website blog: https://www.retrocomputing.co.uk/

Reply 14250 of 14325, by brostenen

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
FazzaGBR wrote on 2020-02-14, 14:20:
brostenen wrote on 2020-02-14, 13:21:
FazzaGBR wrote on 2020-02-14, 12:37:

Today I have been creating a 'Golden Image' on a Pentium 4 HP/Compaq nx9010 laptop with Windows XP and some open source software ready to image the other ones that I have in my collection 😀

What tool did you use? I am testing out image creation, using DD on my Linux machine. (Learning or trying to image an Amiga HDD)

I'm using a copy of Norton/Symantec Ghost I got off of eBay last year. I have it installed to a bootable USB Flash Drive that has plenty of space to store the image as well. I believe Ghost works with Linux - as long as it's a version 'of the time' when the version of Ghost you has was released etc.

Well...
So far I am using DD to make an image file. If it works with Amiga FFS, then I believe it can be used for any other file systems and disks out there.
However. It is not the same as doing a standalone installer. For that you might need Ghost or something like that.
I know that you can remaster a Linux installation into a Live CD, if that is the goal. That however require some other tool than DD.

Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick....

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011

Jah ich will trynen... Die Leute wie macht scheisse in dem Grünen.

Reply 14251 of 14325, by Sago7

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I was very happy testing my Athlon XP build (Building an Athlon XP Configuration on this days. This is what I got.). Yesterday tried some benchmarks before replace the graphic card. But... With 3DMark 02 system constantly reboots.
First thought: RAMs
So I tested the memory modules using MemTest86 and 2 of the 3 sticks (3x1GB) are with errors.
Now I have to find another set of memory to start all over again.

Reply 14252 of 14325, by Mister Xiado

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Slowly working on resurrecting a mortally-wounded IBM Thinkpad 760E that some waste of flesh had trod upon nearly 20 years ago. The display is shattered, but the plastic casing is fine. The bottom casing is cracked in the middle, but everything inside is fine. Alas, the CMOS battery is dead, but being an IBM, it won't allow you to use the system until that issue is remedied. The floppy drive had been swiped from it, making it even more fun to deal with. I'd have bought replacement parts years ago, but even then, I couldn't justify the excessive asking prices for anything, for a system I have no emotional attachment to.

Edit: Aaaand a proprietary cable was snapped clean across every line. 18 conductor plastic ribbon cable that bends back 180º under the plastic wrist wrest. Brilliant engineering. I'm not going to spend days trying to mend broken conductors on a "flexible" cable that I can't replace. Back it goes to its eternal rest in a box in the basement, never again to see the light of day while I yet live.

b_ldnt2.gif - Where it's always 1992 (or so).
Icons, wallpapers, and typical Oldternet nonsense.

Reply 14253 of 14325, by pewpewpew

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Mister Xiado wrote on 2020-02-14, 20:18:

Back it goes

To honor as future organ-donor. We've already reached the point where people are repairing CDROM drives, & fussing about getting the correct motherboard standoffs. It's a marvel.

Reply 14254 of 14325, by Mister Xiado

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

I quit hunting on ebay for parts to repair the misfit systems I have due to the greed. People want $50 for a used and un-tested floppy drive. Now, to blazes with it. I'll just make do with what I have. If I can get Windows installed onto a system through a parallel port, I can do pretty much anything. Too bad I still need a drive controller for my 486 tower. Guess I have one last hunt in me.

b_ldnt2.gif - Where it's always 1992 (or so).
Icons, wallpapers, and typical Oldternet nonsense.

Reply 14255 of 14325, by xtgold

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Put a dvd r/w drive in my dell dimension 4100 multi-boot system and noticed the actcd.sys showed during boot it was a cd/dvd driver in dos.Just for laughs I stuck a dvd with my stored dos games on it and I was able to read the dvd with xtreegold.The driver has been around since 1998,so nothing new.I did a google search and found a later version of the driver from 2000 same name.Did a search for dvd4dos and found that program with cdrom.sys that also reads dvd's in dos.

Reply 14256 of 14325, by RacoonRider

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

It was Valentine's day, so I came up with a present for my sweet Libretto 50CT in the form of a revamped battery.

The 6" Libretto series laptops use 17670 Lithium-Ion elements. It turns out, quality 17670 elements are hard to come by, and I would rather not put a 6000mAh nonsense from aliexpress into my precious machine. I wanted to mod the battery case to accept 18650 elements instead, but it requires quite a lot of work and to be honest, I have been procrastinating for far too long for it to actually ever happen. Besides, I never even use it for that long.

Anyway, I bought three 1100mAh 17500 batteries with wires from a trusted source. At least the capacity is real and they probably won't catch fire. A few minutes with a soldering iron and a glue gun to close the gaps - et voila!

IMG_20200215_210539.jpg
Filename
IMG_20200215_210539.jpg
File size
794.5 KiB
Views
122 views
File license
GPL-2.0-or-later

It works, it charges, and I wonder what the battery life will be. As an added bonus, the battery pack is now 15g lighter, which brings the whole machine's weight to 757g down from the original 840g.

Edit: fully charged battery depletes after 2 hours of continuous 3dbench.

Last edited by RacoonRider on 2020-02-16, 04:34. Edited 1 time in total.

Reply 14257 of 14325, by Horun

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Mister Xiado wrote on 2020-02-15, 02:18:

I quit hunting on ebay for parts to repair the misfit systems I have due to the greed. People want $50 for a used and un-tested floppy drive.

Yes ! Hate that some ask such high prices for "untested" parts.
Only retro thing I did lately is look thru a bunch of old driver disks looking for anything that has not been properly archived.

First computer was an IBM 3270 workstation with CGA monitor. 🤣

Reply 14258 of 14325, by imi

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

nobody buys those anyways, so they just sit there forever and pollute the search results.

I removed the clothes rail from my old wardrobe yesterday and put another shelf in so I can store more hardware.

Reply 14259 of 14325, by Horun

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
imi wrote on 2020-02-15, 16:57:

nobody buys those anyways, so they just sit there forever and pollute the search results.

I removed the clothes rail from my old wardrobe yesterday and put another shelf in so I can store more hardware.

🤣 you want to help me organize my storage space ? It is truly a mess 😁

First computer was an IBM 3270 workstation with CGA monitor. 🤣