What retro activity did you get up to today?

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby appiah4 » 2017-10-17 @ 15:08

oeuvre wrote:Diabolically evil.


Eh what? how? why?
1993:PCI597-1|P133|32MB|Trio64V2/DX|ES1868/S2
1995:P5I430VX|P233MMX|Virge/DX|CT4520
1997:S1573S|K6-2/400|64MB|M220|V2/SLI|CT4500/32M
1999:BE6-II|P3-700E|256MB|V3-3000|MX300
GX110LP:36XMT|PIII1000|512MB|R7000|CT4780
User avatar
appiah4
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: 2017-2-19 @ 07:36

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby cyclone3d » 2017-10-17 @ 15:12

I've been working on a modded driver pack and EEPROM map for the Compaq/STB Ultrasound 32 Pro.

Quite a few fixes as well as additional compatibility with regular Gravis Ultrasound PnP software.

After doing some more testing, I will be posting it in my thread about the card.

I really want to know exactly what kind of QA testing they did before releasing drivers/software updates back in the day. There are some pretty glaring bugs in the installer as well as the order in which things were installed as in completely broken if you want to get everything installed in one go.
Last edited by cyclone3d on 2017-10-17 @ 15:20, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
cyclone3d
Oldbie
 
Posts: 848
Joined: 2015-4-08 @ 06:06
Location: Huntsville, AL USA

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby Jade Falcon » 2017-10-17 @ 15:15

oeuvre wrote:Diabolically evil.

Nice.
Its amazing how ThinkPad's can swap out motherboards and keyboards. Or is that the new retro ThinkPad that came out?


EDIT:
Or did you get smart on us and just put a screen shot image in full screen?

Last night I tested my 6 raptor in raid 0
Image
Not to bad seeing that the system is down clocked for now.
User avatar
Jade Falcon
l33t
 
Posts: 3184
Joined: 2016-5-08 @ 19:23
Location: Stuck in Silent Hill after bailing out of my Eyrie

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby oeuvre » 2017-10-17 @ 17:03

Jade Falcon wrote:
oeuvre wrote:Diabolically evil.

Nice.
Its amazing how ThinkPad's can swap out motherboards and keyboards. Or is that the new retro ThinkPad that came out?


EDIT:
Or did you get smart on us and just put a screen shot image in full screen?

Last night I tested my 6 raptor in raid 0
Image
Not to bad seeing that the system is down clocked for now.


Screenshot. :D
HP EliteBook 820 G2
i7 6700K, 32GB, NVIDIA GTX770, 256GB M.2 SSD + HD, Windows 10
Image
User avatar
oeuvre
Oldbie
 
Posts: 774
Joined: 2015-3-31 @ 13:31
Location: USA

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby appiah4 » 2017-10-17 @ 19:16

Image
1993:PCI597-1|P133|32MB|Trio64V2/DX|ES1868/S2
1995:P5I430VX|P233MMX|Virge/DX|CT4520
1997:S1573S|K6-2/400|64MB|M220|V2/SLI|CT4500/32M
1999:BE6-II|P3-700E|256MB|V3-3000|MX300
GX110LP:36XMT|PIII1000|512MB|R7000|CT4780
User avatar
appiah4
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: 2017-2-19 @ 07:36

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby bjwil1991 » 2017-10-17 @ 20:29

Bidding on a Socket 370 motherboard bundle on eBay that has the following:

Motherboard: Shuttle Spacewalker AV18 V3 (VIA Apollo Pro 133A) ATX
512MB SD-RAM (1.5GB maximum, unlike Intel Chipsets that support up to 512MB)
VIA C3 700MHz CPU <-- Going to upgrade to a Pentium III 933 SL52Q with a new Heatsink with a fan
VisionTek NV996.0 AGP Rev. B (nVidia Riva TNT2 clone) 32MB
D-Link DFE-530TX+ Rev. D2 FastEthernet PCI
Integrated Sound + GamePort/MIDI (RealTek/VIA AC'97) <-- Going to disable since it's probably not Sound Blaster compatible (I'll be amazed if it is, but, wonders never cease).
2x RS-232 ports and a Parallel Port
PS/2 Keyboard and Mouse ports
USB 1.1

I have a couple of ATX cases the system is going to use, and the ports will line up nicely with the I/O shield, however, I have to cover the Ethernet port since the board doesn't have integrated Ethernet.

The reason why is because my K6-2 machine isn't up to the challenge for H&L games, and some of the games run too slow.

Edit: I won the motherboard bundle! Yay!

Edit 2: looked at the back end of the cases I got and both of them have the Ethernet port covered if the board only has USB ports.

Edit 3: Typed in the wrong specs of the video card.
Last edited by bjwil1991 on 2017-10-18 @ 19:09, edited 1 time in total.
C64, WheelWriter 10 Series II, Pack-Mate 28 Plus, K6-2/300, Pavilion N3350, iMac G3/600 Graphite, Socket 370, Pavilion 7955, Athlon 64, Dimension 4550, Dimension E510, ThinkPad R40, Presario C700, ASUS X54C, Raspberry Pi B+, 2-3, Custom FX-6300
User avatar
bjwil1991
Oldbie
 
Posts: 568
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: United States of America

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby oeuvre » 2017-10-18 @ 14:56

Working on dual booting MS-DOS 6.22 + Windows 98SE (so I can have WfW 3.11 as well) on my ThinkPad 770. Coming together nicely so far
HP EliteBook 820 G2
i7 6700K, 32GB, NVIDIA GTX770, 256GB M.2 SSD + HD, Windows 10
Image
User avatar
oeuvre
Oldbie
 
Posts: 774
Joined: 2015-3-31 @ 13:31
Location: USA

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby aop » 2017-10-18 @ 22:01

Found a 200W Seasonic ATX PSU from the trash. The fan had died and all the secondary side caps were fried. I replaced the fan and the caps but I haven't tested the PSU yet. If it works I'll put a resistor in series with the new fan since it's pretty loud (12V 0.30A Adda, the stock fan was 12V 0.19A Yate-Loon). The PSU starts up fine now but I need to test it with some load and see how much ripple there is with an oscilloscope before I connect it to any retro PC.
aop
Newbie
 
Posts: 45
Joined: 2017-9-27 @ 19:17

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby oeuvre » 2017-10-19 @ 03:02

seasonic is a very good PSU manufacturer
HP EliteBook 820 G2
i7 6700K, 32GB, NVIDIA GTX770, 256GB M.2 SSD + HD, Windows 10
Image
User avatar
oeuvre
Oldbie
 
Posts: 774
Joined: 2015-3-31 @ 13:31
Location: USA

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby bjwil1991 » 2017-10-21 @ 15:16

Moved the hard drive, floppy drive, CD drives, and the network card to my Socket 370 build I did last night, but the nVidia Riva TnT2 m64 16MB AGP 2x has the horizontal grey line issue, so I installed the GeForce4 MX 4000 as a temporary until I figure out what's going on with the card. Maybe the solder joints need to get reflowed or the GPU processor itself? The card still displays a picture, just the text is causing the horizontal grey line.

I still have the Socket 7 system (that'll be for MS-DOS games, and the VooDoo3 card is going to stay in place).
C64, WheelWriter 10 Series II, Pack-Mate 28 Plus, K6-2/300, Pavilion N3350, iMac G3/600 Graphite, Socket 370, Pavilion 7955, Athlon 64, Dimension 4550, Dimension E510, ThinkPad R40, Presario C700, ASUS X54C, Raspberry Pi B+, 2-3, Custom FX-6300
User avatar
bjwil1991
Oldbie
 
Posts: 568
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: United States of America

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby liqmat » 2017-10-21 @ 15:44

bjwil1991 wrote:Moved the hard drive, floppy drive, CD drives, and the network card to my Socket 370 build I did last night, but the nVidia Riva TnT2 m64 16MB AGP 2x has the horizontal grey line issue, so I installed the GeForce4 MX 4000 as a temporary until I figure out what's going on with the card. Maybe the solder joints need to get reflowed or the GPU processor itself? The card still displays a picture, just the text is causing the horizontal grey line.

I still have the Socket 7 system (that'll be for MS-DOS games, and the VooDoo3 card is going to stay in place).


Interesting. Only text mode or do you mean text in a graphics mode? I had an issue with an AGP 6200. I had digital snow all over my screen only in text mode. Ended up being a bad PSU. It was pumping out too much voltage of all things. After new PSU was installed no issues with that 6200 anymore.
User avatar
liqmat
Oldbie
 
Posts: 516
Joined: 2015-7-07 @ 21:59

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby Jade Falcon » 2017-10-21 @ 16:31

oeuvre wrote:
Jade Falcon wrote:
oeuvre wrote:Diabolically evil.

Nice.
Its amazing how ThinkPad's can swap out motherboards and keyboards. Or is that the new retro ThinkPad that came out?


EDIT:
Or did you get smart on us and just put a screen shot image in full screen?

Last night I tested my 6 raptor in raid 0
Image
Not to bad seeing that the system is down clocked for now.


Screenshot. :D

Can you not see the image?
User avatar
Jade Falcon
l33t
 
Posts: 3184
Joined: 2016-5-08 @ 19:23
Location: Stuck in Silent Hill after bailing out of my Eyrie

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby bjwil1991 » 2017-10-21 @ 17:45

liqmat wrote:
bjwil1991 wrote:Moved the hard drive, floppy drive, CD drives, and the network card to my Socket 370 build I did last night, but the nVidia Riva TnT2 m64 16MB AGP 2x has the horizontal grey line issue, so I installed the GeForce4 MX 4000 as a temporary until I figure out what's going on with the card. Maybe the solder joints need to get reflowed or the GPU processor itself? The card still displays a picture, just the text is causing the horizontal grey line.

I still have the Socket 7 system (that'll be for MS-DOS games, and the VooDoo3 card is going to stay in place).


Interesting. Only text mode or do you mean text in a graphics mode? I had an issue with an AGP 6200. I had digital snow all over my screen only in text mode. Ended up being a bad PSU. It was pumping out too much voltage of all things. After new PSU was installed no issues with that 6200 anymore.

When it's booting into Windows, but plain DOS works without issues. Maybe my 520W PSU is starting to go.
C64, WheelWriter 10 Series II, Pack-Mate 28 Plus, K6-2/300, Pavilion N3350, iMac G3/600 Graphite, Socket 370, Pavilion 7955, Athlon 64, Dimension 4550, Dimension E510, ThinkPad R40, Presario C700, ASUS X54C, Raspberry Pi B+, 2-3, Custom FX-6300
User avatar
bjwil1991
Oldbie
 
Posts: 568
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: United States of America

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby OldCat » 2017-10-21 @ 18:59

Prince of Persia on plasma - CGA vs EGA vs VGA
20171021_203215.jpg
User avatar
OldCat
Newbie
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 2017-9-19 @ 09:37
Location: Eastern Europe

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby looking4awayout » 2017-10-21 @ 20:52

The SATA to IDE adapter for my Pentium 3 has arrived some days ago. Now the only thing I am waiting for is the second Western Digital Velociraptor I will use with the adapter for the OS.

I also cleaned the old Crystal monitor with a can of compressed air and I let it dry with an hair dryer. The trick worked well, now there's way less dust inside than before, even though it's still dusty, especially around the coil.

Someday I might take it to someone who can check it out for cold solderings and so on, in order to keep the old Ms. Crystal healthy, as I don't know how what is "her" real condition inside. Good thing she's alive and kicking with us. ;)
Last edited by looking4awayout on 2017-10-21 @ 21:28, edited 1 time in total.
Proud owner of the >Ferrari-T< alive and computing since year 2000!
looking4awayout
Newbie
 
Posts: 38
Joined: 2017-8-08 @ 10:48
Location: The Twilight Zone

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby xeon3d » 2017-10-21 @ 21:05

I went about purchasing and cleaning a Intergraph TD-220 (Pentium Pro machine)... while daddy-sitting my 3 year old...
xeon3d
Newbie
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 2015-1-12 @ 23:24
Location: Albufeira, Portugal

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby BitWrangler » 2017-10-22 @ 00:17

OldCat wrote:Prince of Persia on plasma - CGA vs EGA vs VGA
20171021_203215.jpg

Nice, I dig those old clamshells/man size laptops.
Basement full of ancient PC stuff, starting to go through it. Most recently toyed with DOS era stuff 15 years ago, so memory might be rusty. So what's this BitWrangler guy's deal ??? >>> http://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=56382
User avatar
BitWrangler
Member
 
Posts: 424
Joined: 2017-10-11 @ 00:55

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby bjwil1991 » 2017-10-22 @ 01:05

I'm getting the BSOD in Windows 98SE since I want to use the Sound Blaster compatible drivers in Windows.

DOS does detect the card, but the volume is too low.

20171021_205558.jpg
BSOD


I already know it's the drivers, but, the other driver does work without issues.
C64, WheelWriter 10 Series II, Pack-Mate 28 Plus, K6-2/300, Pavilion N3350, iMac G3/600 Graphite, Socket 370, Pavilion 7955, Athlon 64, Dimension 4550, Dimension E510, ThinkPad R40, Presario C700, ASUS X54C, Raspberry Pi B+, 2-3, Custom FX-6300
User avatar
bjwil1991
Oldbie
 
Posts: 568
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: United States of America

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby BitWrangler » 2017-10-22 @ 01:34

Is this a new thing then, reliving your favourite BSODs from the past??? :D
Basement full of ancient PC stuff, starting to go through it. Most recently toyed with DOS era stuff 15 years ago, so memory might be rusty. So what's this BitWrangler guy's deal ??? >>> http://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=56382
User avatar
BitWrangler
Member
 
Posts: 424
Joined: 2017-10-11 @ 00:55

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby BloodyCactus » 2017-10-22 @ 01:41

Installed FreeBSD 3.5.1 and BeOS 5 on my K6-2+. Ive was a FreeBSD user since it was a patchset on 386bsd.

Also used to run + develop for BeOS ye-long time ago. I had 3/4/5. Figured I'd take a look at Be5 on my K6 before upgrading it to a Haiku nightly.

aah memories! lol
--/\-[ Stu : Bloody Cactus :: http://kråketær.com :: http://mega-tokyo.com ]-/\--
User avatar
BloodyCactus
Oldbie
 
Posts: 573
Joined: 2016-2-03 @ 13:34
Location: Lexington VA

PreviousNext

Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], kaputnik, mrau, RiP and 14 guests