What retro activity did you get up to today?

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby candle_86 » 2018-12-31 @ 01:08

Loading Windows 98 right now onto a system

Athlon 700
ASUS K7M HP OEM Version
128mb Ram
Voodoo 3 3000
40GB Western Digital HDD
Ryzen 5 1600 - Gigabyte B350 Gaming - 16gb DDR4 3200 - 240GB M.2 - Windows 10 Pro
Core i3 3470 - Dell B75 Mobo - 4gb DDR3 1333 - 500gb HDD - Windows XP
Opteron 180 - Epox EP-9NPA+SL - 2gb DDR500 - 320GB HDD - Windows XP
User avatar
candle_86
l33t
 
Posts: 2263
Joined: 2010-8-06 @ 01:04
Location: Fort Worth, Republic of Texas

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby oeuvre » 2018-12-31 @ 01:58

What HP system is that one?
HP Z420 Workstation Intel Xeon E5-1620, 32GB, AMD FirePro V7900 2GB, SSD + HD, XP/7
HP Z440 Workstation Intel Xeon E5-1650 v3, 64GB, NVIDIA GTX1070 8GB, SSD + HD, 10
Image
User avatar
oeuvre
l33t
 
Posts: 3192
Joined: 2015-3-31 @ 13:31
Location: USA

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby Ozzuneoj » 2018-12-31 @ 02:35

I just fixed a bad trace on my one and only 386 board. I had "fixed" it "temporarily" a couple years ago using that Permatex rear window defogger repair goop (basically liquid metal paint that dries hard and conductive). The board worked when I did this originally so I was happy and cobbled it together into an ATX case... two years later I finally tried to use the system and it wouldn't post. I pulled the board out and tested the traces I'd repaired and sure enough, one of them was testing as broken again. I've done very few trace repairs but I got some wire wrapping wire earlier this year and decided I'd try using that to reroute the bad trace. At first I made it overcomplicated and I was going to attempt to attach it to one of the tiny test holes, then I realized it was much easier to just follow that test hole to wherever it leads and thankfully it lead to a very easy to access pin on the BIOS chip socket. This would explain why it wouldn't post! I ran the wire, tested it with no cards installed and it didn't catch fire, so... good! Next I threw in my cheap ISA POST code test cards and... it barely lit up. After testing it 20 times this way I decided to try a vintage PocketPOST card I'd gotten online and... it was working! I dropped in an expendable old ISA VGA card and sure enough it fired right up!

Apparently the cheapo post card I bought online last year decided to kill itself. I used both cards yesterday when testing this board and neither had any issue reporting the POST codes... now the cheap one is dead. I was careful not to insert it backward, so I have no idea what happened to it. I get some lights and once in a great while something will show on the LCD code indicator, but its random every time. The soldering job on it is terrible but I don't actually see any broken traces. Anyone ever had one of these fail? Mine is like this one. I do get a faint but recognizable smell of burnt electronics when I sniff it... can't pinpoint where its coming from though.
Time Machine = FIC PA-2013 2.1 - K6-2 500 - 256MB PC-100 - TNT2 Pro 16MB AGP - Labway Yamaha YMF719-E - Midiman MM401
Amibay For Sale Threads
I have lots of PC stuff for sale on Mercari! Get $10 off your first purchase with my invite link!
User avatar
Ozzuneoj
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1538
Joined: 2016-3-16 @ 21:33

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby Merovign » 2018-12-31 @ 03:28

RandomStranger wrote:
Merovign wrote:LOL I grabbed, out of a pile of discarded PSUs, a Codegen unit because the name ran a bell, even though it's a lightweight.

Finally tested it, it has the elusive -5V line. So as long as it doesn't blow up, it has a use indeed!


Codegen PSUs are infamous PC killers. I also have some bad memories with them.
I wouldn't recommend them even for short term use or testing purposes.
Just solder out the Molex and FDD power cables so you can use it in more modern and reliable PSUs replacing the SATA power cables.
It's not hard to find quality OEM PC or workstation PSUs in the 200-350W range which is perfect for P2-P4 builds


Well it's *literally* the only one I've ever tested wit -5V. I'll keep an eye out, but it's all I've got. I'd like to load-test it if I get a chance.

Right now I don't have a need to use it, yet.
Merovign
Member
 
Posts: 353
Joined: 2018-6-25 @ 05:39

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby candle_86 » 2018-12-31 @ 04:58

oeuvre wrote:What HP system is that one?


No idea, the board was pulled from an HP and sold on ebay to me by an e waste place from California lol
Ryzen 5 1600 - Gigabyte B350 Gaming - 16gb DDR4 3200 - 240GB M.2 - Windows 10 Pro
Core i3 3470 - Dell B75 Mobo - 4gb DDR3 1333 - 500gb HDD - Windows XP
Opteron 180 - Epox EP-9NPA+SL - 2gb DDR500 - 320GB HDD - Windows XP
User avatar
candle_86
l33t
 
Posts: 2263
Joined: 2010-8-06 @ 01:04
Location: Fort Worth, Republic of Texas

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby appiah4 » 2018-12-31 @ 07:19

voodoo5_6k wrote:
appiah4 wrote:Installed a backplate on my K6-2 system, thanks to liqmat for being so generous with this part. I thought this PC would never have a backplate, but it actually does now..
[...]
With patience, time and a great community like Vogons, anything is possible I guess!

These can be found relatively easy, as many motherboards used this I/O layout. I have two of these motherboards, Asus P/I-XP55T2P4 and Intel Advanced/ML (Marl). One valid part# for this type of I/O shield is 32140544A (just in case anybody else is looking for one...).


Either I'm not as resourceful as you are, or they are always available in US and shipping over the Atlantic just doesn't make it worthy the while.. liqmat was kind enough to ship to a relative of mine in US, and they brought it over. Regardless, he made my day.
A500:Rev6|+512K|ACA500+|C1084S
i386:Am386SX25|4M|GD5402|ES688
i486:U5S33|8M|GD5428|YMF719|DB-S2
i586:P133|32M|T64+/MX2|V1|CT3980/32M
i686:K6-2/500|128M|Rage|V2|CT4520/32M
S370:P3-1200|384M|GF4-4200|MX300
S754:A3700+|2G|X800XTPE|SB0350
User avatar
appiah4
l33t
 
Posts: 4379
Joined: 2017-2-19 @ 07:36

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby voodoo5_6k » 2018-12-31 @ 08:03

liqmat wrote:Yes, but he got three for free. That's a price you can't beat.

Yeah, that's hard to beat ;) But that wasn't my intent. As many motherboards of that time used this I/O layout, there's a certain probability that others are looking for these I/O shields too. That's why I put that part# in here to make it easier to search for.

appiah4 wrote:Either I'm not as resourceful as you are, or they are always available in US and shipping over the Atlantic just doesn't make it worthy the while.. liqmat was kind enough to ship to a relative of mine in US, and they brought it over. Regardless, he made my day.

I too had to wait for some time to get one for a decent price locally, but having the part# made the search a little easier. Anyhow, congratulations on this great deal. Sometimes, all the pieces just seem to fall in the right places ;)
END OF LINE.

My retro systems:
1: E4700 2.6|512MB|P5PE-VM|Voodoo5|SB0240|UM-1>UM-550>CM-32L+SC-55
2: P3-S 1.4|512MB|D815EEA2|Voodoo5+Voodoo5 6000|SB0350
3: P4 3.4EE|4GB|P4C800-E|FX 5900 Ultra+Ti4600|SB0466
4: X5470 3.33|8GB|P5Q-E|GTX 580 3G|SB0886
User avatar
voodoo5_6k
Member
 
Posts: 235
Joined: 2016-4-13 @ 06:52

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby liqmat » 2018-12-31 @ 15:45

voodoo5_6k wrote:Yeah, that's hard to beat ;) But that wasn't my intent. As many motherboards of that time used this I/O layout, there's a certain probability that others are looking for these I/O shields too. That's why I put that part# in here to make it easier to search for.

Thanks for doing that actually. Luckily all of mine are new old stock. I wish I could give out more, but I have to have enough for the PPro mobos I have in the haul. If I have any extras left over I will hand them out to the community here to whoever might need them. That will be a few months from now though.
User avatar
liqmat
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1759
Joined: 2015-7-07 @ 21:59
Location: KEMO City

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby Mister Xiado » 2018-12-31 @ 18:20

Image

Image
Image - Where it's always 1992 (or so).
Icons, wallpapers, and typical Oldternet nonsense.
User avatar
Mister Xiado
Member
 
Posts: 278
Joined: 2017-9-12 @ 23:04

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby Rodoko » 2019-1-01 @ 06:04

First of all happy new year to everyone

Yesterday I swapped the motherboard from my main DOS system box as the one that had was kind of dying

Original mobo was a Tekram one and I swapped for a common PCChips mainboard, yes, all you guys are going nuts with me but I had to do it

I kept all the original hardware until something went horribly wrong and that was that not only the motherboard was kind of dying, also the video card too, I mean, it works fine but it started showing lines so what I did is I wanted to reseat both RAM chips and in the middle of getting them out I managed to pop one out and putting it backwards (Oh damn...) and then I smelled something burning and I touched it and I instantly burn my finger so I said, oh... no no NOO!! so I went to remove the second one and the plastic on the socket was so dry that I managed to break the right part of it :angry: so... I saved it and I went to a Cirrus 5436 and I was SO LUCKY to find the original Windows drivers with the utility (!!!) on DriverGuide and yanno what guys?? My system works like a champ now!!

Also I made a rebuild of my very very first AT machine that I had back in 2015 so the specs are as follows

P233 MMX (The '15 build had a 200 one)
32 MB FP RAM
SB16 MCD
Cirrus 5436 (The '15 one used the VIA onboard one)
WD 2.1 GB HDD
Windows 3.11
3com 3c905B
User avatar
Rodoko
Newbie
 
Posts: 84
Joined: 2015-5-04 @ 22:00

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby doaks80 » 2019-1-01 @ 06:32

Built my fourth PC for the holidays (and probably the last), this one for the Win95 era (still running Win98SP3).

Shuttle AV14 motherboard
Via C3 Ezra 866Mhz
S3 Savage4 Pro AGP
Audigy SB0090
Voodoo2 12MB SLI (Creative 3DBlasters)
AWE64 Value (soon to have a memory upgrade)
256mb PC133
500gb seagate cucked down to 120gb.

After solving the jigsaw puzzle that is configuring a motherboard with a Via chipset (the Audigy worked in only 1 PCI slot for example), I am actually surprised just how well everything works. No conflicts between any hardware, graphics cards work well together, sound cards ignore each other splendidly. The supposed quality loss from passing through the V2 is unnoticeable to my eyes.

Tested so far:
- Unreal Gold with HD textures and S3TC/Metal api.
- Quake2 using Glide/minigl.
- Doom2 and Duke3D using the AWE.

DOS gaming from within Win98 is easier than I remember when you have a nice SB16 compatible card like the AWE64 available. Probably because the PC I had in the late 90s almost certainty had a cheap PCI card and I had no idea how to configure it for DOS gaming if it even supported it. Just echo %BLASTER%, enter those values into the setup and it works like a dream. Only change is to move the audio cable from one line-out to another :)
Attachments
DSC_0025 (Large).JPG
k6-3+ 400 / s3 virge DX+voodoo1 / awe32(32mb)
via c3 866 / s3 savage4+voodoo2 sli / audigy1+awe64(8mb)
athlon xp 3200+ / voodoo5 5500 / diamond mx300
pentium4 3400 / geforce fx5950U / audigy2 ZS
core2duo E8500 / radeon HD5850 / x-fi titanium
doaks80
Member
 
Posts: 285
Joined: 2018-11-16 @ 21:22

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby RandomStranger » 2019-1-01 @ 16:00

Today I've decided to build a(n almost) dream machine of mine from the mid-to-late 2000s.
Originally I wanted a QX6700 and a full size ATX board, but the board I was eyeing with had a little accident.
The seller dropped a Codegen PSU on that. It was a good board, it's really a shame. Maybe I'll uprade it later.

Still, I would have sold my soul for this back then.

IMG_1074.jpg
Geforce 8800 Ultra
IMG_1072.jpg
Core2 Quad Q6600
IMG_1073.jpg
Motherboard
IMG_1078.jpg
FSP 500W PSU
8800 Ultra.png
CPU+GPU-Z
User avatar
RandomStranger
Newbie
 
Posts: 65
Joined: 2018-12-06 @ 07:50

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby Duouk2000 » 2019-1-01 @ 16:42

So, after talking about the issues I had with Episode 1: Racer refusing to run when it came out because only 28MB RAM was usable on my PC at the time I decided to mess around in PCem and set up a similar specced system with the same amount of RAM. As before it failed the hardware analysis check except this time the game still let me play it. No error message saying my PC didn't meet the minimum requirements or anything.

At this point I don't know what the hell I was doing back then but it was interesting to give it another try. Perhaps this was another case of memories merging together.
User avatar
Duouk2000
Newbie
 
Posts: 97
Joined: 2005-5-31 @ 14:12
Location: England

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby bjwil1991 » 2019-1-01 @ 21:38

Backed up all of my GameBoy Game Saves using the InterAct Mega Memory Card for GameBoy and GameBoy Color games (battery backup games only) that I've had for 2 years as a precautionary measure. Might buy an adapter to read the EEPROM chip to make a backup of it as well to be safe. I wonder if there is one for the N64 games as well? Also:

Image
Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from C64 to FX-6300.
User avatar
bjwil1991
l33t
 
Posts: 2765
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: SE, MI USA

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby Cobra42898 » 2019-1-02 @ 14:39

Got an old gateway g6-350 rebuilt. Must have been some kind of corporate machine. It was pronounced dead by someone else, so it was free to me. It had some kind of network card with a built-in bios, that for some reason would only allow a network boot. Yanked that and the modem, and a 98se CD, and at least got it to boot.

Installed win98se, but no audio/video drivers built in to 98. So I wiped that out and tried ME. Riva128 graphics and a built in es1373 creative audio. Haven't gotten to test it's capabilities vs other setups just yet.

Oddly enough, it's got a fan far superior to the gateway g6-266 I have (which is supposed to run 'hotter', isn't it?). The downside? It's only a 90w PSU. How is that possible? I didn't even think that would work.
Searching for Epson Actiontower 3000 486 PC.
Cobra42898
Newbie
 
Posts: 95
Joined: 2018-8-11 @ 10:43

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby bjwil1991 » 2019-1-02 @ 15:00

Fancy.

Image

2000th post on this fine site. Here's to another 2000 more.
Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from C64 to FX-6300.
User avatar
bjwil1991
l33t
 
Posts: 2765
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: SE, MI USA

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby liqmat » 2019-1-02 @ 19:32

Bought some mint condition Wang APC system & software 5¼" diskettes from a gentleman in Massachusetts off of Craigslist so I could archive them properly for future collectors and preservationists. Unfortunately there are not a lot of downloads for this software to be found online currently. The Wang APC had its own way of doing things so these disks only work with the actual hardware even though it is a DOS compatible machine. The seller even included a 5¼" and 8" cleaning disk for good measure.

Wang Disks.jpg


The Wang APC system & software disk images are now uploaded over at minuszerodegrees:

http://minuszerodegrees.net/manuals.htm#Wang

What was really neat is he included his family's old business postcards from the 1960s which were in mint condition and he gave me permission to share my scans of them online. He even has a website documenting the business. I love when there is a lot of history behind a purchase.

http://www.acme-electronic.com/

ACME Electronic Company Postcard Front 300dpi.jpg

ACME Electronic Company Postcard Back 600dpi - Variant 1 - Photo Mode.jpg
Last edited by liqmat on 2019-1-02 @ 20:50, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
liqmat
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1759
Joined: 2015-7-07 @ 21:59
Location: KEMO City

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby PcBytes » 2019-1-02 @ 19:55

Did a easy repair on a Radeon X1650 Pro 512MB AGP GPU I bought. Had a bad cap near the 4 pin floppy power plug which I replaced. Works fine, no artefacts, so I guess for $1 it was worth it.
Main: Xeon X5450, 8GB RAM DDR2, DFI Lanparty DK P45-T2RS
Wolfram: C2D E6750, 2GB DDR2, ASUS P5K-SE/EPU
R.A.I.D: Pentium 4 2.8GHz, 2GB DDR400, ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe
Totem: Pentium S 166MHz, 128MB RAM, Totem TM-586TX4
Voodoo: AMD K6-2 500MHz, 128MB RAM, LuckyStar 5MVP3
User avatar
PcBytes
Oldbie
 
Posts: 900
Joined: 2012-12-31 @ 08:32
Location: Bacau,Romania

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby slivercr » 2019-1-02 @ 20:14

While on holiday at my parents' I ran into an old friend...

DSC_0305.JPG

My old Athlon64 setup!
Its a Newcastle core 3000+ CPU overclocked to 2400 MHz, the motherboard is the nForce4-4x based K8N-Neo3, with PCIe and an AGP-like slot called AGR; and a Radeon x1950 Pro. I'm taking it with me to restore it and build a nice XP/7 machine.
Outrigger: an ongoing adventure with the OR840
QuForce FX 5800: turn your Quadro into a GeForce
User avatar
slivercr
Member
 
Posts: 307
Joined: 2017-2-16 @ 18:00
Location: Groningen

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby appiah4 » 2019-1-02 @ 21:00

slivercr wrote:While on holiday at my parents' I ran into an old friend...

DSC_0305.JPG

My old Athlon64 setup!
Its a Newcastle core 3000+ CPU overclocked to 2400 MHz, the motherboard is the nForce4-4x based K8N-Neo3, with PCIe and an AGP-like slot called AGR; and a Radeon x1950 Pro. I'm taking it with me to restore it and build a nice XP/7 machine.


Nice! I have, right next to me, an Athlon64 PC myself, a 3200+ Clawhammer with an X1950PRO AGP; it's a fantastic PC. I plan to upgrade it to a 3700+ soon, though. Socket 754/939 Athlon64s were things I really missed out on (went from AthlonXP right to Athlon64 X2 AM2 stuff) so I am REALLY enjoying using this system as a fast single processor Windows XP box.
A500:Rev6|+512K|ACA500+|C1084S
i386:Am386SX25|4M|GD5402|ES688
i486:U5S33|8M|GD5428|YMF719|DB-S2
i586:P133|32M|T64+/MX2|V1|CT3980/32M
i686:K6-2/500|128M|Rage|V2|CT4520/32M
S370:P3-1200|384M|GF4-4200|MX300
S754:A3700+|2G|X800XTPE|SB0350
User avatar
appiah4
l33t
 
Posts: 4379
Joined: 2017-2-19 @ 07:36

PreviousNext

Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Stiletto, Vynix and 17 guests