ISA Cards & Devices Requiring -5V

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Re: ISA Cards & Devices Requiring -5V

Postby QBiN » 2015-3-25 @ 15:23

Just as an FYI... I have found the following two PSU's currently being sold that still support a -5V line on the ATX 20-pin connector. I'm sure there are others out there. This was just a quick pass through NewEgg to see what was available and somewhat cheap. You should be able to find these at your favorite online computer shops without too much trouble.

StarTech ATXPOWER300 300W ATX Power Supply
RAIDMAX RX-380K 380W ATX12V Power Supply EDIT: DO NOT BUY. NEWEGG PHOTO IS OLD. NO LONGER SUPPORTS -5V.

EDIT: Update to available -5V supplies.
Last edited by QBiN on 2015-3-26 @ 21:06, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
QBiN
Member
 
Posts: 492
Joined: 2005-1-14 @ 19:18
Location: Mêlée Island

Re: ISA Cards & Devices Requiring -5V

Postby AllUrBaseRBelong2Us » 2015-3-26 @ 18:05

StarTech also still makes an AT power supply:

http://www.amazon.com/StarTech-com-Repl ... 00005133U/
AllUrBaseRBelong2Us
Member
 
Posts: 106
Joined: 2014-12-29 @ 00:13

Re: ISA Cards & Devices Requiring -5V

Postby QBiN » 2015-3-26 @ 18:38

By definition, all AT power supplies will include the -5V line. But it's good to know that they are still available. (I actually have one of those star tech AT PSU's as a spare / testbed PSU).
User avatar
QBiN
Member
 
Posts: 492
Joined: 2005-1-14 @ 19:18
Location: Mêlée Island

Re: ISA Cards & Devices Requiring -5V

Postby ibm5155 » 2015-3-26 @ 18:43

OFF:
would that StarTech PSU work on this config?
-Pentium MMX 233MHz
-128mb sdram
-3DFX VOODOO 3000 AGP
-Maxi Sound Game Theater 64 (ISA)
-Ethernet PCI + USB2.0 PCI
-80GB HDD
-DVD-ROM
turbo display (I did some tricky connection, so I Took the usb card and used his internal usb to give the display energy since my motherboard doesn't support it '-'

well, that's all :)

I have a good PSU on this device, it has like 10 years or more that I have it, it worked just fine on a pentium 3 1GHz, but the problem is:
1)ATX (Power on/Off on this case is useless '-')
2)220v only (So I always need a really big transform to use the computer '-')
But at least it has a cool feature on that atx psu, It can stay on by one second without energy thanks to a big transformer or battery inside of it O_O
ibm5155
Member
 
Posts: 293
Joined: 2013-8-13 @ 23:46

Re: ISA Cards & Devices Requiring -5V

Postby QBiN » 2015-3-26 @ 18:59

ibm5155 wrote:OFF:
would that StarTech PSU work on this config?

I found an older thread where you were talking about some of this. Since you have an AT case and an AT power supply currently. I would recommend staying with that configuration, personally.

If you think your PSU is flaky. You could buy the StarTech AT PSU new. I think that's a better option than ATX, even if your motherboard can technically accept an ATX PSU.
User avatar
QBiN
Member
 
Posts: 492
Joined: 2005-1-14 @ 19:18
Location: Mêlée Island

Re: ISA Cards & Devices Requiring -5V

Postby ibm5155 » 2015-3-26 @ 19:06

The AT psu is now gone, since months of research I concluded that the AT PSU was the cause of all my problens.
So for now I'm only using the ATX PSU since it's the only thing I have for now '-', the motherboard is good, it support ATX and AT connection...

Fun fact: I discovered that for somehow, If I had a flash drive pluged in usb 2.0 board, I noted a huge performance drop (27fps on quake 2, 40fps on quake 2 without the flash drive), but for some reason, the same flash drive on the internal usb 1.1 wouldn't cause any fps drop (and others usb things wouldn't actually touch the fps)...

1 year of hard research was actually good, I ended up making a kind of ms-dos text engine :D
ibm5155
Member
 
Posts: 293
Joined: 2013-8-13 @ 23:46


Previous

Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: anderswk, Deksor, kaputnik, PTherapist, tgod, zeromous and 11 guests