VOGONS


Dual Pentium Pro Build Thread

Topic actions

Reply 100 of 123, by Mentat-vvo

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
red-ray wrote on 2020-05-14, 13:59:

Wow, I did not know PPros would work with a 440LX chipset! Does your board have the optional LM78 sensor chip ?

Please will you try ..

I run W2k. And my board do have that IC. Will run later, since the mobo is trying to run dual Mendocino 500 🥴

About PPro & iBX

4B1B2BF6-7CFC-4B79-B4C2-6A662E7AA34E.jpeg
Filename
4B1B2BF6-7CFC-4B79-B4C2-6A662E7AA34E.jpeg
File size
1.26 MiB
Views
244 views
File license
Public domain

Dual Opteron285/4G/RadeonHD3850/Audigy
2x P3Xeon700-2M/1G/Voodoo2/GF3Ti/AWE32
Tualeron(150x10)/P3B-F/512M/GF4Ti/AWE64
2x PPro-200-1M /P2L97-DS/ 256M/Voodoo3
K6-III+ 400@600/5MVP3/384M/Riva128ZX
K6-2+ 500@600/GA5AA/128M/Velocity100

Reply 101 of 123, by red-ray

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Mentat-vvo wrote on 2020-05-15, 09:21:
red-ray wrote on 2020-05-14, 13:59:

Wow, I did not know PPros would work with a 440LX chipset! Does your board have the optional LM78 sensor chip ?

I run W2k. And my board do have that IC. Will run later, since the mobo is trying to run dual Mendocino 500 🥴

About PPro & iBX

Thank you and W2K should be fine, use SIV32L, SIV should report the LM78 sensor chip readings and if it doesn't I will fix it.

I would also be interested in SIV save files from the ASUS P2B-F PPro system, ideally use any of NT4/W2K/WXP

Reply 102 of 123, by Mentat-vvo

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Orkay wrote on 2020-05-14, 15:02:

From what I've heard here, the Pentium Pro can work on 440BX boards, too. If I had some Socket 8 adapters for my P2B-DS, I'd be very much willing to compare a couple of SL259 CPUs running at a 66MHz and a 100MHz FSB.

Slotket8 copies (C-P6S1) will soon be available. But, you can not just put PPros into P2B-DS )) BIOS mod is required. I'm unable to PM for now because of the "newbie" status.

Dual Opteron285/4G/RadeonHD3850/Audigy
2x P3Xeon700-2M/1G/Voodoo2/GF3Ti/AWE32
Tualeron(150x10)/P3B-F/512M/GF4Ti/AWE64
2x PPro-200-1M /P2L97-DS/ 256M/Voodoo3
K6-III+ 400@600/5MVP3/384M/Riva128ZX
K6-2+ 500@600/GA5AA/128M/Velocity100

Reply 103 of 123, by red-ray

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Mentat-vvo wrote on 2020-05-19, 12:25:

I'm unable to PM for now because of the "newbie" status.

I think you need to make 20 posts before you can send PMs.

I spotted you have 2x P3 Xeon 700-2M and wonder which motherboard you are using. I have 2x P3 Xeon 700-1M and am wondering if it's possible to get them to work in either an Intel MS440GX or MSI MS-6135. I recall trying maybe 10 years ago, but can't remember what happened.

Reply 104 of 123, by austinham

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Orkay wrote on 2020-05-14, 15:02:
red-ray wrote on 2020-05-14, 13:59:
Mentat-vvo wrote on 2020-05-14, 11:57:

Dual PPro-200/1M build. Asus P2L97-DS, asus C-P6S1 slotkets (original & clone).

Wow, I did not know PPros would work with a 440LX chipset!

From what I've heard here, the Pentium Pro can work on 440BX boards, too. If I had some Socket 8 adapters for my P2B-DS, I'd be very much willing to compare a couple of SL259 CPUs running at a 66MHz and a 100MHz FSB.

I have heard the same before too, but never seen it done.

Reply 105 of 123, by Mentat-vvo

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
5C11E8EF-F68C-4955-87E4-496EE60A9CA1.jpeg
Filename
5C11E8EF-F68C-4955-87E4-496EE60A9CA1.jpeg
File size
172.28 KiB
Views
175 views
File license
Public domain

This is S2DGE Slot-2 from Supermicro. Can handle up to Dual Cascades 900 /2M.

Dual Opteron285/4G/RadeonHD3850/Audigy
2x P3Xeon700-2M/1G/Voodoo2/GF3Ti/AWE32
Tualeron(150x10)/P3B-F/512M/GF4Ti/AWE64
2x PPro-200-1M /P2L97-DS/ 256M/Voodoo3
K6-III+ 400@600/5MVP3/384M/Riva128ZX
K6-2+ 500@600/GA5AA/128M/Velocity100

Reply 107 of 123, by red-ray

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Mentat-vvo wrote on 2020-05-19, 15:55:

This is S2DGE Slot-2 from Supermicro. Can handle up to Dual Cascades 900 /2M.

Thank you, I was hoping you knew a way to get 100 MHz FSB Cascades Xeons to work on one of the motherboards I already have. I found https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/113739277180 and feel I should not spend that much on a Slot 2 system given I could get a far more desirable D5400XS for much the same cost.

Reply 108 of 123, by luckybob

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

I'd spend that much on that motherboard in a heartbeat. EXCEPT it doesn't appear to have the cpu support brackets. Something that can NOT be ignored with slot-2.

It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

Reply 109 of 123, by Orkay

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

On top of that, I'd like to know how cooling might be achieved with Slot 2 Xeons. Often, retention brackets came with fans on the side, but when you don't have those... well, I'm not sure a single rear fan on the case is adequate to pull out the heat the CPUs will probably generate. The only thing I can think of is to strap a large fan somewhere on a side of the CPUs.

Maybe if Slot 2 retention brackets can be 3D printed, I might have a reason to get more P6-based Xeon hardware.

New retro tech videos on Vlare: https://vlare.tv/u/Kugee

Reply 110 of 123, by luckybob

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

I'm actually considering getting a basic 3d printer for things like this. Also drive rails, faceplates, keyboard stems, and other random brittle pieces of plastic.

two 900mhz xeons generate as much heat as three slot-1 chips. (anecdotally) Its not like they are P4 chips.

It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

Reply 111 of 123, by red-ray

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
luckybob wrote on 2020-05-19, 19:35:

I'd spend that much on that motherboard in a heartbeat. EXCEPT it doesn't appear to have the cpu support brackets. Something that can NOT be ignored with slot-2.

In years gone by I did and still have a boxed Supermicro S2QR6 4 x Slot 2 motherboard with all the VRMs + brackets + … sitting on the shelf waiting to be used. When I got it I was overly keen to have a four socket system, but as I now have HP DL580 G5 + G4 + Dell PowerEdge 6300/450 systems and suspect I will never use the S2QR6 , maybe it's time to put it on eBay.

Reply 112 of 123, by Mentat-vvo

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
austinham wrote on 2020-05-19, 13:01:
Orkay wrote on 2020-05-14, 15:02:
red-ray wrote on 2020-05-14, 13:59:

Wow, I did not know PPros would work with a 440LX chipset!

From what I've heard here, the Pentium Pro can work on 440BX boards, too. If I had some Socket 8 adapters for my P2B-DS, I'd be very much willing to compare a couple of SL259 CPUs running at a 66MHz and a 100MHz FSB.

I have heard the same before too, but never seen it done.

7D2205A4-AC04-4888-8C2F-B3A0BF924AA9.jpeg
Filename
7D2205A4-AC04-4888-8C2F-B3A0BF924AA9.jpeg
File size
1.24 MiB
Views
92 views
File license
Public domain

Just 4 seconds off the champion .

34858A8F-DB04-470A-AB9C-2A7B31E0C901.jpeg
Filename
34858A8F-DB04-470A-AB9C-2A7B31E0C901.jpeg
File size
1.84 MiB
Views
94 views
File license
Public domain
E70EEAFF-9AAC-4D54-AAF5-F1B6B753136B.jpeg
Filename
E70EEAFF-9AAC-4D54-AAF5-F1B6B753136B.jpeg
File size
1.66 MiB
Views
94 views
File license
Public domain
67DB2E44-2E5A-40E9-992A-068434FEF6A2.jpeg
Filename
67DB2E44-2E5A-40E9-992A-068434FEF6A2.jpeg
File size
1.46 MiB
Views
94 views
File license
Public domain

Dual Opteron285/4G/RadeonHD3850/Audigy
2x P3Xeon700-2M/1G/Voodoo2/GF3Ti/AWE32
Tualeron(150x10)/P3B-F/512M/GF4Ti/AWE64
2x PPro-200-1M /P2L97-DS/ 256M/Voodoo3
K6-III+ 400@600/5MVP3/384M/Riva128ZX
K6-2+ 500@600/GA5AA/128M/Velocity100

Reply 117 of 123, by luckybob

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

I have a P2B-DS I'd love to try this out on. Also with overdrive chips.

Ppro with sdram AND agp? I'm moist just thinking about it.

It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

Reply 118 of 123, by red-ray

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
maxtherabbit wrote on 2020-05-23, 16:18:

45.6MHz FSB what? Is that thing running at 366 for real?

I expect this must be incorrect and if you check the POST BIOS screen shot the speed is 250MHz.

He used an ancient CPUZ, my guess is that old CPUZ messed up and I feel he should have used the current CPUZ_X32 or CPUZ_W9X release.

My guess is that it's using a x2.5 multiplier and the FSB is about 100 MHz.

Reply 119 of 123, by Mentat-vvo

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
red-ray wrote on 2020-05-23, 16:55:

My guess is that it's using a x2.5 multiplier and the FSB is about 100 MHz.

That's correct. 100x2.5. Asus P2B-F is unstable @ 103. Goin to repeat the same with Asus P3B-F.

Also, I'm to run a couple of Black Top / 1M/ 200M PPros in a VIA-based mobo (Tyan S1834D) to use +33M option on SDRAM. But, this mobo is installed in GC-MS instrument that still works ))

thumb.jpg
Filename
thumb.jpg
File size
16.76 KiB
Views
33 views
File license
Public domain

Sadly, but I do not have any P2 overdrive CPUs in my collection.

Dual Opteron285/4G/RadeonHD3850/Audigy
2x P3Xeon700-2M/1G/Voodoo2/GF3Ti/AWE32
Tualeron(150x10)/P3B-F/512M/GF4Ti/AWE64
2x PPro-200-1M /P2L97-DS/ 256M/Voodoo3
K6-III+ 400@600/5MVP3/384M/Riva128ZX
K6-2+ 500@600/GA5AA/128M/Velocity100