VOGONS

First post, by Turboman

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

Hey guys, I got this 286/16 computer tested it seems to work good, hard drive looks dead. It's nice looking PC looks to be complete even came with the original manual.
I want to upgrade this to the max! It currently has 2mb of ram and it has an AMD 16mhz. The manual seen in the pictures mentions 20mhz can I actually get a 20mhz to upgrade this with?
I also want to get an FPU it say to use a 80287, what kind should I use, 10mhz? The motherboard is a Super 286/16 Ver 1.0, 00-71-80286-10. I don't know anything about other then that.

I'm not very good with finding ram like this. It currently has Hy531000S-80, I checked on ebay and they are $3 a piece which is too much for me. What is the fastest kind of ram this can take and where can I get some that is reasonably priced? and what other upgrades should I get for it? This is a new project that I'm going to finish and test it out see how it performs 😁

DSC08040.jpg

DSC08041.jpg

DSC08042.jpg

DSC08044.jpg

DSC08046.jpg

DSC08047.jpg

DSC08049.jpg

DSC08050.jpg

DSC08051.jpg

DSC08052.jpg

DSC08053.jpg

DSC08054.jpg

DSC08055.jpg

DSC08056.jpg

Reply 1 of 8, by carlostex

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

You probably need to get a 40MHz crystal oscillator and put it in place of the 32MHz one. Keep in mind that your motherboard seems to get the ISA bus clock from the main OSCI divided by 4, so the BUS will run at 10MHz. This will provide a speed boost, but some 16bit ISA cards might be fussy working at 10MHz. I would recommend you to keep the system at 16MHz, it was the definitive 286 clock speed i believe. I think 12MHz and 16MHz were the most common clock speeds for the 286.