VOGONS

Surviving the late 90's without 3Dfx

Topic actions

First post, by TELEPACMAN

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

Matrox Millenium G200 8MB AGP for me and with all the early drivers bugs, I managed to survive 😐

How about you? Did anyone here managed with some TNT/TNT2 or G200/G400, maybe Rage? Savage? What were you stuck with? And how did it went?

Thanks.

Reply 2 of 70, by shamino

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

I had an S3 Virge and a Cyrix 6x86. 3D was not my friend.
I mostly didn't care much. 3D was still pretty new, I didn't have many of those games and I found them tolerable in software mode, though noticeably laggy. But in 1999 I started playing a European football game that was in 3D and I was kind of annoyed how badly it ran. 3D accelerated mode sort of worked and was a bit faster than software mode, but it gave me some ugly image quality. As I recall I think the players ended up being flat shaded.

I didn't get a K6-3 until Christmas 1999. Software 3D worked a lot better, but I still had the Virge. My Geforce2 MX came another year after that. So it wasn't really until 2001 that I was able to play 3D games properly.

I missed 3Dfx at both ends, the start and their death. I got my Virge at a time when the original Voodoo was the killer card, but it was too expensive. I got my Geforce2 MX when 3Dfx was collapsing. In fact, their death had just hit the news, and as I was in the store to get that MX card, I remember seeing a bit of a run on the Voodoo4 and 5 series cards, including some people with multiple boxes under their arms. They're worth a tad more money today than my MX. 😀

Last edited by shamino on 2015-09-29, 07:28. Edited 5 times in total.

Reply 3 of 70, by PhilsComputerLab

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

Went from S3 Trio 64 V+, then added a V1 (in a P133). Then got a PII and got a V2. Then took a break from computing for 4 years and picked up with a P4 and Radeon 9800 😀

YouTube, Facebook, Website

Reply 4 of 70, by AnacreonZA