Adding PS/2 mouse components to a Chaintech 486SPM

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Adding PS/2 mouse components to a Chaintech 486SPM

Postby feipoa » 2015-12-26 @ 12:26

The Chaintech 486SPM, like the MSI MS-4144, has solder pads in place for native PS/2 mouse implementation. If you want to add PS/2 support to the Chaintech 486SPM, I've added some easy to follow images of which components need to be added on. I tested the mouse and it is working fine.

You can also add a coin cell CR2032 battery holdfer if you pull up D1, which would otherwise charge the battery.

If you want to add variable voltage support, replace the 909 ohm resistor with a 1 Kohm trimmer as shown. This will give you a variable 3.0 - 4.1 V to the CPU.

What's needed (for the PS/2 mouse addition):
2x 3-pin headers w/jumpers
3x 2-pin headers w/jumpers
1x 4-pin header w/PS2 mouse connector
2x inductors ~1-6 uH
2x SMD capacitors, 47 pF
2x SMD resistors, 10 Kohm
1x 7406 inverter IC
Use Modbin to add PS/2 support to your AWARD BIOS. Actually, I will just upload my modified BIOS here.
Chaintech_486SPM_PS2.zip
(81.45 KiB) Downloaded 39 times


Click images for larger resolution.

Chaintech_486SPM_PS2.jpg

Chaintech_486SPM_PS2_Components_1.jpg

Chaintech_486SPM_PS2_Components_2.jpg

Chaintech_486SPM_PS2_VRM_Trimmer.jpg
Last edited by feipoa on 2018-2-05 @ 23:46, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
feipoa
l33t
 
Posts: 4586
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Re: Adding PS/2 mouse components to a Chaintech 486SPM

Postby brassicGamer » 2016-4-07 @ 19:14

Mate this is epic, thank you. I have this board and there is very little documentation for it - just anecdotal stuff mainly. I'm looking forward to applying this mod!
Check out my blog and YouTube channel for thoughts, articles, system profiles, and tips.
User avatar
brassicGamer
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1011
Joined: 2015-8-16 @ 22:17

Re: Adding PS/2 mouse components to a Chaintech 486SPM

Postby feipoa » 2016-4-07 @ 22:14

Let me know how it works out for you. This was one of the easier PS/2 additions I've done.
User avatar
feipoa
l33t
 
Posts: 4586
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Re: Adding PS/2 mouse components to a Chaintech 486SPM

Postby Marcjan » 2018-1-25 @ 18:42

Hi
I have a few questions about MS-4144 rev 2.1.
Capacitors must by 47pF not 470? On mainboard i see overprint:
Image

I need something beyond the inductors and this capacitors?

And please do not judge my english :)
Marcjan
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2018-1-25 @ 18:24

Re: Adding PS/2 mouse components to a Chaintech 486SPM

Postby feipoa » 2018-1-25 @ 19:46

Let me check what I did on my MS-4144 and get back to you.
User avatar
feipoa
l33t
 
Posts: 4586
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Re: Adding PS/2 mouse components to a Chaintech 486SPM

Postby feipoa » 2018-1-25 @ 21:29

Attached is my worksheet from when I added PS/2 mouse support to the MSI MS-4144. Looks like I used 47 pF caps for the mouse and was also wondering about the 470 pF silkscreen.
Attachments
MS-4144_PS2_Mouse_Addition.pdf
(50.41 KiB) Downloaded 11 times
User avatar
feipoa
l33t
 
Posts: 4586
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Re: Adding PS/2 mouse components to a Chaintech 486SPM

Postby Rabanik » 2018-2-04 @ 17:34

Hi. I own Chaintech 486SPM Rev. M103 with BIOS labelled 02/08/96. I made this mod with original PS/2 connectors and PS/2 mouse does not work. Keyboard works.
I "beeped" all the traces and I found out that all 4 lines of the PS/2 mouse spots are connected +5V/ground and data and clock to VT82C42N chip. See the schema. I soldered both headers, flashed the BIOS and placed the jumpers. It is my first job with soldering iron.
It looks like that the bios still does not support PS/2 mouse. Could you tell me please why the ps/2 mouse not work? Did I miss something? Is it possible that the BIOS was flashed badly?
Thank you.
Attachments
3.jpg
2.jpg
1.JPG
Rabanik
Newbie
 
Posts: 36
Joined: 2015-5-29 @ 22:05
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Adding PS/2 mouse components to a Chaintech 486SPM

Postby feipoa » 2018-2-04 @ 19:03

Provide high res. photo of top and bottom of entire motherboard after mod.
User avatar
feipoa
l33t
 
Posts: 4586
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Re: Adding PS/2 mouse components to a Chaintech 486SPM

Postby Rabanik » 2018-2-04 @ 19:35

I am not proud of my soldering job :-)
Attachments
DSC_1267.jpg
DSC_1265.jpg
Rabanik
Newbie
 
Posts: 36
Joined: 2015-5-29 @ 22:05
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Adding PS/2 mouse components to a Chaintech 486SPM

Postby Rabanik » 2018-2-04 @ 20:01

Here are the rest.
Attachments
DSC_1272.jpg
DSC_1271.jpg
Rabanik
Newbie
 
Posts: 36
Joined: 2015-5-29 @ 22:05
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Adding PS/2 mouse components to a Chaintech 486SPM

Postby Skyscraper » 2018-2-04 @ 20:25

Rabanik wrote:Here are the rest.



No disrespect but those pictures look like they have been taken with a potato! :D

In this picture the soldering looks like a mess but from the picture you posted before it's possible to see that the soldering (of the ports at least) is totally fine although perhaps a bit messy. :)

Perhaps they are good enough after all if feipoa only wants to check if any component is missing.
Main PC: Dual Xeon X5690@4.6ghz, Evga - SR-2, 48gb memory, Intel X25-M g2 SSD and a Nvidia GTX 780 Ti.
Retro PC #3: K6-2 450@500mhz, PC-Chips m577, 256mb sdram, AWE64 and a Voodoo Banshee.
Skyscraper
l33t
 
Posts: 3239
Joined: 2013-9-18 @ 15:36
Location: Sweden

Re: Adding PS/2 mouse components to a Chaintech 486SPM

Postby feipoa » 2018-2-04 @ 20:45

Rabanik, I recommend that you follow the tutorial. You are missing all the components I highlighted in the OP, e.g. 7406 inverter, inductors, resistors, capacitors, jumper headers, etc. This board contains the solder pads for these items, but you must source the items and solder them in. Is there any reason you did not solder in the missing components?
User avatar
feipoa
l33t
 
Posts: 4586
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Re: Adding PS/2 mouse components to a Chaintech 486SPM

Postby Rabanik » 2018-2-05 @ 20:20

I thought that the rest parts are required only for volt regulator. I dont have SMD capacitors 47 pF right now. It will take a few days. I let you now than. Thank you.
Rabanik
Newbie
 
Posts: 36
Joined: 2015-5-29 @ 22:05
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Adding PS/2 mouse components to a Chaintech 486SPM

Postby feipoa » 2018-2-05 @ 23:48

OK. I thought it was pretty explicit from the OP,
If you want to add variable voltage support, replace the 909 ohm resistor with a 1 Kohm trimmer as shown. This will give you a variable 3.0 - 4.1 V to the CPU.


Looking forward to your success.
User avatar
feipoa
l33t
 
Posts: 4586
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Re: Adding PS/2 mouse components to a Chaintech 486SPM

Postby Rabanik » 2018-2-19 @ 16:20

Hi guys,
I soldered the rest of the parts and this mod works. I must only replace both big inductors for the smaller ones. But I ordered them. Thank you Feipoa!
Attachments
DSC_1282.jpg
DSC_1279.jpg
DSC_1278.jpg
Rabanik
Newbie
 
Posts: 36
Joined: 2015-5-29 @ 22:05
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Adding PS/2 mouse components to a Chaintech 486SPM

Postby bjwil1991 » 2018-2-19 @ 19:09

Looks pretty good, eh!
C64, WheelWriter 10 Series II QuietWriter 8, Pack-Mate 28 Plus, K6-2/300, Pavilion N3350, iMac G3/600, Socket 370, 2x Inspiron 600m, Athlon 64, Dimension 4550 & E510, ThinkPad R40, Presario C700, ASUS X54C, Raspberry Pi B+, 2-3, Custom FX-6300
User avatar
bjwil1991
Oldbie
 
Posts: 908
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: United States of America

Re: Adding PS/2 mouse components to a Chaintech 486SPM

Postby feipoa » 2018-2-19 @ 19:47

Congratulations! This is a really nice motherboard - one of the fastest with ps/2 mouse support.
User avatar
feipoa
l33t
 
Posts: 4586
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Re: Adding PS/2 mouse components to a Chaintech 486SPM

Postby Rabanik » 2018-2-20 @ 12:00

feipoa wrote:one of the fastest with ps/2 mouse support.
Yes. I noticed too! How fast is the 486 SPM compared to MSI MS-4144? Is the 486 SPM faster than Biostar MB-8433?
Rabanik
Newbie
 
Posts: 36
Joined: 2015-5-29 @ 22:05
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Adding PS/2 mouse components to a Chaintech 486SPM

Postby feipoa » 2018-2-20 @ 12:52

A brief comparison of the MSI vs. Chaintech can be found here: viewtopic.php?f=46&t=46122

The Chaimtech came out on top. I didnt have the Biostar in this comparison.
User avatar
feipoa
l33t
 
Posts: 4586
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Re: Adding PS/2 mouse components to a Chaintech 486SPM

Postby Rabanik » 2018-2-20 @ 20:19

Hmm. Look like 486 SPM is really fast. I got some 32MB 50ns EDO single sided SIMMs and it seem that this motherboard do not support them. Is there any advantage caompared to FPM? And how fast is compared to famous Aopen AP43? Are there any tests? Is it possible to make PS/2 mod for AP43 too? Thanks.
Rabanik
Newbie
 
Posts: 36
Joined: 2015-5-29 @ 22:05
Location: Czech Republic

Next

Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 5u3 and 5 guests