VOGONS

would you pay for this?

Topic actions

First post, by emosun

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I should start off by saying this isn't an ad or anything I'm just purely curious what you think.

How much would you pay someone else to return your yellowed classic computer cases/components/peripherals back to their original light beige?
Provided they did a good job , had plenty of references and examples of their work , were NOT painting but only chemically restoring them.
You could easily say "I don't mind them being yellowed". But this is for anyone who would be interested in them being original again.

How much would you EXPECT to pay for a

mouse
kb
monitor
tower

Skipable:

I restore wood for a living in large government buildings. I noticed the chemical process for restoring wood and removing yellowing on plastic is very similar so that's where I'm coming from. Plus I get alot of satisfaction from restoring things that are savable.

Reply 2 of 25, by brostenen

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

I would not pay anyone for doing this at any point in time. It is not a question about money.
It is more the thing, that I want to do stuff on my own. Too easy just to pay for stuff being done for me.

Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick....

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk
My YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/brostenen

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011

Reply 3 of 25, by sliderider

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

Keep in mind that you can still buy brand new in box AT cases sometimes for $40-$50 that will have no yellowing at all, so the amount you can charge to restore yellowed cases has a definite upper limit.

Reply 4 of 25, by PCBONEZ

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I would do that sort of thing myself.
Even if the cost of the service was dirt cheap the two-way shipping costs would kill the deal for me.

GRUMPY OLD FART - On Hiatus, sort'a