VOGONS

First post, by jheronimus

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Hi, everyone

Tomorrow I'm going to get an AOpen AP5T motherboard and while I'm at it, I have a chance to pick a ESS sound card. I have no experience with those and not even sure if they have any value, given that I already have some soundblasters, and two cards with Yamaha chip. Here are two cards:

- AudioDrive ES1868F
- Solo-1 ES1938S

I can also get a Cirrus Logic Crystal CX4237B-XQ3.

Is there anything these cards can do that an AWE64/Vibra16 can't?

BTW, can I have two sound cards in my system at the same moment? Say, an AWE64 and a MediaMagic ISP-16 with AdLib support.

Thanks!

MR BIOS catalog
Unicore catalog

Reply 1 of 7, by Skyscraper

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

The Solo-1 ES1938S is a PCI card with DOS capabilities and the AudioDrive ES1868F is a simple but nice ISA sound card.

Non of them are worth much but both are good to have.

I know nothing about the Crystal ISA card but I doubt it's any good.

New PC: i9 12900K @5GHz all cores @1.2v. MSI PRO Z690-A. 32GB DDR4 3600 CL14. 3070Ti.
Old PC: Dual Xeon X5690@4.6GHz, EVGA SR-2, 48GB DDR3R@2000MHz, Intel X25-M. GTX 980ti.
Older PC: K6-3+ 400@600MHz, PC-Chips M577, 256MB SDRAM, AWE64, Voodoo Banshee.

Reply 2 of 7, by Totempole

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
jheronimus wrote:
Hi, everyone […]
Show full quote

Hi, everyone

Tomorrow I'm going to get an AOpen AP5T motherboard and while I'm at it, I have a chance to pick a ESS sound card. I have no experience with those and not even sure if they have any value, given that I already have some soundblasters, and two cards with Yamaha chip. Here are two cards:

- AudioDrive ES1868F
- Solo-1 ES1938S

I can also get a Cirrus Logic Crystal CX4237B-XQ3.

Is there anything these cards can do that an AWE64/Vibra16 can't?

BTW, can I have two sound cards in my system at the same moment? Say, an AWE64 and a MediaMagic ISP-16 with AdLib support.

Thanks!