Schneider Euro PC

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Re: Schneider Euro PC

Postby dr.zeissler » 2018-6-06 @ 16:22

I bought a Gotek for my EuroPC. I can tell you that it works, but it is slow!
It's perhaps as slow as the loading from a real floppy-disk, but you can't hear the disk-acess.
It's not a thing that I would give away my xt-ide in the single isa-slot.

I currently use CGA instead von MDA because I use a !084 with both C64 and EuroPC connected
and I can switch on the front between both machines... that's nice.

Composit CGA that is used in early agi-games (ll1,pq1,sq1,kq1,etc.) is monochrome on my
1084 but it looks much nicer then the real cga-color-mode for RGB which is truly ugly btw.

https://books.google.de/books?id=lB4PAw ... ry&f=false
CPU: PII 133-333 MOBO: SNI-D981 RAM: 512- FDD: Dualfloppy 3,5"HD/5,25"HD - 3,5"HD - 5,25"DD ISA-Catweasel HDD: 2x40GB - DVD
ISA(3): Audician32-S2Dreamblaster - GusACE PCI(3): Monster3D- Intel NW AGP(1): 3dfx V3-3000
dr.zeissler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1504
Joined: 2011-9-28 @ 15:33

Re: Schneider Euro PC

Postby Jinxter » 2018-6-06 @ 17:38

dr.zeissler wrote:I bought a Gotek for my EuroPC. I can tell you that it works, but it is slow!


I have not made one yet. I will use a Gotek with speaker.
Could you send the connection diagram for making the vable.? Are you using it internal or external?
Check out my YouTube channel: Retro Erik https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCSUf7nCpwTgFbjGmcTYGZEQ
My collection: https://retro.hageseter.com
User avatar
Jinxter
Newbie
 
Posts: 87
Joined: 2016-3-15 @ 18:42
Location: Norway

Re: Schneider Euro PC

Postby genocho » 2018-6-19 @ 11:41

Jinxter wrote:
Jinxter wrote:I am trying to connect the PC to a colour monitor. I see the the Video Controll Chip has a PIN called CMPVD. Could this be Composite video output?

Do you know if anybody has tried to use this pin to get Composite video?


I just tried to connect wires from the to pins market in picture to see if there where any composite video there. No luck!

I can see these reason for this not to work.
1. I used the wrong PIN on the video chip
2. These pins needs to be turned on in bios/setup or software
3. I need some additional electronics.

I would be fun to be able to use composite video and maybe run 8088mph on it.



Want to point out something:

That pic is not the video chip, that´s the bigjim chip (i/o chip)
The video chip is in the middle of the pcb branded as paradise pvc4.
genocho
Newbie
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 2008-7-05 @ 11:22

Re: Schneider Euro PC

Postby dr.zeissler » 2018-6-19 @ 16:00

Jinxter wrote:
dr.zeissler wrote:I bought a Gotek for my EuroPC. I can tell you that it works, but it is slow!


I have not made one yet. I will use a Gotek with speaker.
Could you send the connection diagram for making the vable.? Are you using it internal or external?


No I cannot send you the connection diagram, because I bought it as it is.
The Seller has wired it completly. It works, but it's slow and you can't hear what it is doing.
CPU: PII 133-333 MOBO: SNI-D981 RAM: 512- FDD: Dualfloppy 3,5"HD/5,25"HD - 3,5"HD - 5,25"DD ISA-Catweasel HDD: 2x40GB - DVD
ISA(3): Audician32-S2Dreamblaster - GusACE PCI(3): Monster3D- Intel NW AGP(1): 3dfx V3-3000
dr.zeissler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1504
Joined: 2011-9-28 @ 15:33

Re: Schneider Euro PC

Postby Jinxter » 2018-6-25 @ 06:16

genocho wrote:
Jinxter wrote:
Jinxter wrote:I am trying to connect the PC to a colour monitor. I see the the Video Controll Chip has a PIN called CMPVD. Could this be Composite video output?

I would be fun to be able to use composite video and maybe run 8088mph on it.


Want to point out something:
That pic is not the video chip, that´s the bigjim chip (i/o chip)
The video chip is in the middle of the pcb branded as paradise pvc4.


Thanks for your input, this means i must try again. It would be greate to get composite video output
Check out my YouTube channel: Retro Erik https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCSUf7nCpwTgFbjGmcTYGZEQ
My collection: https://retro.hageseter.com
User avatar
Jinxter
Newbie
 
Posts: 87
Joined: 2016-3-15 @ 18:42
Location: Norway

Re: Schneider Euro PC

Postby tereg » 2018-7-15 @ 21:03

Hola amigos. I've got composite video from Schneider euro xt (paradise PVC4) due to this card not really copy of CGA it has problems to demonstrate 8088mph, but works
tereg
Newbie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 2017-9-06 @ 17:12

Re: Schneider Euro PC

Postby tereg » 2018-7-16 @ 03:58

Also - do you use any cga-scart converters (I mean DIY)
tereg
Newbie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 2017-9-06 @ 17:12

Re: Schneider Euro PC

Postby Jinxter » 2018-7-16 @ 08:05

tereg wrote:Also - do you use any cga-scart converters (I mean DIY)


I made one from this schema.
CGA to Scart DEH.jpg
CGA to SCART


I also have a video showing it: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ymulGiO4NrI
Check out my YouTube channel: Retro Erik https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCSUf7nCpwTgFbjGmcTYGZEQ
My collection: https://retro.hageseter.com
User avatar
Jinxter
Newbie
 
Posts: 87
Joined: 2016-3-15 @ 18:42
Location: Norway

Re: Schneider Euro PC

Postby genocho » 2018-7-17 @ 17:01

tereg wrote:Hola amigos. I've got composite video from Schneider euro xt (paradise PVC4) due to this card not really copy of CGA it has problems to demonstrate 8088mph, but works


Hola !!!

Do you have the schematics of that composite mod for the euro pc ??? I assume you need an additional circuitry to have the composite color signal right ???

Thanks in advance.
genocho
Newbie
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 2008-7-05 @ 11:22

Re: Schneider Euro PC

Postby tereg » 2018-7-26 @ 12:47

I will provide it little bit later, when do have time.
tereg
Newbie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 2017-9-06 @ 17:12

Re: Schneider Euro PC

Postby tereg » 2018-7-26 @ 12:49

Jinxter wrote:
tereg wrote:Also - do you use any cga-scart converters (I mean DIY)


I made one from this schema.
CGA to Scart DEH.jpg


I also have a video showing it: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ymulGiO4NrI



I tried this scheme 3 times, but it doesn't start work on my Schneider xt, dunno why
tereg
Newbie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 2017-9-06 @ 17:12

Re: Schneider Euro PC

Postby Jinxter » 2018-7-26 @ 13:33

Try adjusting the Volt. I think Scary can tolerate up to 20 volt. On one TV I had to use 9 volt.
Also some TV does not use the Volt to change input. You must chose in RGB input on the TV settings.
Check out my YouTube channel: Retro Erik https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCSUf7nCpwTgFbjGmcTYGZEQ
My collection: https://retro.hageseter.com
User avatar
Jinxter
Newbie
 
Posts: 87
Joined: 2016-3-15 @ 18:42
Location: Norway

Re: Schneider Euro PC

Postby tereg » 2018-7-31 @ 14:41

I resolve it in my way

Also - there is my video how to add composite mode and get csync signal to 2nd pin of cga
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p-E7Qh1 ... e=youtu.be
tereg
Newbie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 2017-9-06 @ 17:12

Re: Schneider Euro PC

Postby Jinxter » 2018-7-31 @ 17:31

tereg wrote:I resolve it in my way

Nice mod.

Does it display 16 colours in e.x. KQ1?
What about 8088MPH?
Check out my YouTube channel: Retro Erik https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCSUf7nCpwTgFbjGmcTYGZEQ
My collection: https://retro.hageseter.com
User avatar
Jinxter
Newbie
 
Posts: 87
Joined: 2016-3-15 @ 18:42
Location: Norway

Re: Schneider Euro PC

Postby Scali » 2018-8-03 @ 08:54

tereg wrote:I resolve it in my way

Also - there is my video how to add composite mode and get csync signal to 2nd pin of cga
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p-E7Qh1 ... e=youtu.be


That's a great hack!

I have a Commodore PC20-III with the PVC4 chip and stock composite.
The colours on mine aren't perfect compared to a real CGA card, but they're close enough. The ATi Small Wonder I have is way off in certain video modes.
This is how the Commander Keen composite CGA version looks on mine: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-eRvF0aSYlc
Scali
l33t
 
Posts: 3644
Joined: 2014-12-13 @ 14:24

Re: Schneider Euro PC

Postby Jinxter » 2018-8-08 @ 16:57

dr.zeissler wrote:I bought a Gotek for my EuroPC. I can tell you that it works, but it is slow!
It's perhaps as slow as the loading from a real floppy-disk, but you can't hear the disk-acess.

Are you using FlashFloppy?
What are your settings?
Have you tried setting: track-change = instant* (instead of realtime that is default)?
Check out my YouTube channel: Retro Erik https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCSUf7nCpwTgFbjGmcTYGZEQ
My collection: https://retro.hageseter.com
User avatar
Jinxter
Newbie
 
Posts: 87
Joined: 2016-3-15 @ 18:42
Location: Norway

Re: Schneider Euro PC

Postby Jinxter » 2018-8-08 @ 17:04

dr.zeissler wrote:No I cannot send you the connection diagram, because I bought it as it is.
The Seller has wired it completly. It works, but it's slow and you can't hear what it is doing.


Could you send a picture of the cable - that would tell me alot. I have attached a picture of my cable - which i think is wrong.
Attachments
IMG_20180808_184858.jpg
EuroPC Gotek cable - not working
Check out my YouTube channel: Retro Erik https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCSUf7nCpwTgFbjGmcTYGZEQ
My collection: https://retro.hageseter.com
User avatar
Jinxter
Newbie
 
Posts: 87
Joined: 2016-3-15 @ 18:42
Location: Norway

Re: Schneider Euro PC

Postby Jinxter » 2018-11-13 @ 22:41

See this post on how to connect an Gotek to the EuroPC: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=19074
Check out my YouTube channel: Retro Erik https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCSUf7nCpwTgFbjGmcTYGZEQ
My collection: https://retro.hageseter.com
User avatar
Jinxter
Newbie
 
Posts: 87
Joined: 2016-3-15 @ 18:42
Location: Norway

Re: Schneider Euro PC

Postby dr.zeissler » 2018-11-14 @ 06:08

CPU: PII 133-333 MOBO: SNI-D981 RAM: 512- FDD: Dualfloppy 3,5"HD/5,25"HD - 3,5"HD - 5,25"DD ISA-Catweasel HDD: 2x40GB - DVD
ISA(3): Audician32-S2Dreamblaster - GusACE PCI(3): Monster3D- Intel NW AGP(1): 3dfx V3-3000
dr.zeissler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1504
Joined: 2011-9-28 @ 15:33

Previous

Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: danijelm and 11 guests