VOGONS

Best Super Socket 7 Motherboard?

Topic actions

First post, by Jupiter-18

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

Hello Vogons!
I am considering building a couple of retro PCs. My first choice was inspired by PhilsComputerLab. It will be a Super Socket 7 PC with an AMD K6-III+. Following the ideas from PhilsComputerLab, this PC will allow me to run every era of MS-DOS and early Windows Games. I am considering using the Gigabyte GA-5AX Motherboard, but I was wondering if there is a SS7 mobo that supports AGP 4x, because I am considering using the Nvidia GeForce 3 Ti500 GPU. I'd prefer to use an ALi chipset, Via chipsets seem too unstable. I am just getting started in this field, so any help would be appreciated!

Reply 1 of 189, by keenmaster486

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Welcome to the forums! It's good to see more system builders here.

Hmm... personally, my gut feeling is to go the Voodoo 3 route with a processor like that. Don't quote me though, I don't have much experience with building systems from that era. Somebody flesh out why or why not to use Voodoo 🤣 If you're looking for DOS compatibility in addition to good Windows 3D performance, though, I can vouch for that card.

World's foremost 486 enjoyer.

Reply 2 of 189, by candle_86

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

No AGP 4x slots, also a K6-3 will not be able to provide the power needed to use a Geforce3, a Geforce2 Mx400 is about the upper limit, but consider a voodoo card, the drivers use 3dnow more efficently than the Nvidia drivers

as for the VIA chipset, it depends. The ALi chipset has issues with the K6+ cpu's properly with a Revision G chipset.

I myself have an EpoX MVP3c2 Motherboard based on the MVP3 chipset and I havn't noticed any issues with it yet.

K6-3 450 @ 570mhz
384mb PC100
Voodoo Banshee (tested with Geforce2 Ultra and FX 5900XT both work)
Promise ATA133 Controller
VIA USB 2.0 Card
sound blaster AWE 64 Value
Sound Blaster Live 5.1
Sound Blaster Audigy