FIC PA-2013 Ver 2.1 and Voodoo3 3000 AGP

Discussion about old PC hardware.

FIC PA-2013 Ver 2.1 and Voodoo3 3000 AGP

Postby Marmes » 2016-9-12 @ 13:33

Hi!
I've just assembled a ss7 system with a FIC PA-2013 with PCB 2.1, I have the JI4333 bios installed, an AMD K6 III+ set at 2V and 550Mhz, 128mb ram PC100. isa SB16 sound card, isa MQ mpu401, Ali USB card, and realtek 100mbps lan card, on PCI.
I also have these cards:
1-voodoo3 3000 AGP
2-Viper 770U tnt2 ultra AGP
3-Matrox G400Max AGP
4-Kyro II AGP
I have some issues that I just can't understand or know how tos solve them.
Hre goes:
1-When I set my pc with fsb at 100mhz, with any multiplier, voodoo3 does not start, but computer starts and nothing happens(black screen, no monitor activity). If I set fsb to 66mhz it starts and does everything normal. I checked the card with PC-Check, memory, etc and all is fine. But at 66mhz fsb cpu won't go beyond 396Mhz. Does anyone have a similiar configuration? How do I set the AGP to 66Mhz and FSB to 100Mhz in these motherboards? Is there any trick or jumper settings that are not documented?
2-All the other cards run well, install drivers well at 100mhz fsb configuration except Riva TNT2U, locks the system when running Unreal. I guess tnt2 must be a driver configuration.
3-Kyro and Matrox just run fine.
Can anyone help me with the voodoo3 situation? I'm getting a bit desperate.
Thanks!
User avatar
Marmes
Member
 
Posts: 181
Joined: 2015-2-18 @ 13:12

Re: FIC PA-2013 Ver 2.1 and Voodoo3 3000 AGP

Postby kanecvr » 2016-9-12 @ 16:31

Here's s silly question - did you set the jumper for the AGP multiplier? At 66Mhz fsb it's 1:1, but at 100Mhz it should be 2:3. I'm asking because I had the same exact issue with my Aopen AX59 PRO.

If you did set the AGP multi jumper, then the V3 might have an issue with the FIC's AGP latency. I have a Shuttle HOT 591P board witch displays the exact same behavoiur with some v3 and banshee cards.
User avatar
kanecvr
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1950
Joined: 2015-4-22 @ 20:30
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Re: FIC PA-2013 Ver 2.1 and Voodoo3 3000 AGP

Postby Marmes » 2016-9-12 @ 19:24

Thanks kanecvr, I found with pc check that voodoo3 has problems at 1024x768 in any color depth, other resolutions are fine, don't know if it's a property from the v3 or not. So solution for me is g400max, and sli voodoo2.
RivaTNT2 is hard to configure, and image is not as good as matrox or voodoo.
User avatar
Marmes
Member
 
Posts: 181
Joined: 2015-2-18 @ 13:12

Re: FIC PA-2013 Ver 2.1 and Voodoo3 3000 AGP

Postby brostenen » 2016-9-12 @ 19:27

Actually.... There is no guarantee that a V3 will work on a FIC PA-2013.
Some of the models have "bad" voltage regulators, hence frying the board when the Voodoo fires up.
If you'r board have good agp regulators (late boards) or not, I can not say.
You just have to counter this in. Investigate before trying the Voodoo again.
I have a revision 2.0 and that has the shitty voltage regulators, so I have used a TNT2 pro previously.

Some time ago, there was someone here on Vogons that fried his 2013 board.
He used a Voodoo3 3000 and something just burned on that board.
I want to give you this advice, so you won't toast the board once the Voodoo begins to draw power.
Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick I tell.... (never tried though)

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011
User avatar
brostenen
l33t
 
Posts: 4039
Joined: 2014-5-07 @ 21:13
Location: Northern Jutland, Denmark.

Re: FIC PA-2013 Ver 2.1 and Voodoo3 3000 AGP

Postby Marmes » 2016-9-12 @ 19:41

my board does not have regulators . Mine is the good version.(v2.1) 3.3V comes directly form psu. I tried a voodoo5, it also worked. So my v3 3000 is busted, I need to find another one for my stock, or a v4 4500 , lets see if I can get them or not :)
Thanks everyone !
User avatar
Marmes
Member
 
Posts: 181
Joined: 2015-2-18 @ 13:12

Re: FIC PA-2013 Ver 2.1 and Voodoo3 3000 AGP

Postby brostenen » 2016-9-12 @ 19:44

Cool.... Is it a homemade mod or is it the last revision that they have fixed?
I can not remember wich revision they fixed it on.
Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick I tell.... (never tried though)

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011
User avatar
brostenen
l33t
 
Posts: 4039
Joined: 2014-5-07 @ 21:13
Location: Northern Jutland, Denmark.

Re: FIC PA-2013 Ver 2.1 and Voodoo3 3000 AGP

Postby Marmes » 2016-9-12 @ 19:51

They fixed it on 2.1 (mine), they removed the 3.3V regulator for AGP and connected directly from PSU. AT boards, still need the regulator.

brostenen wrote:Cool.... Is it a homemade mod or is it the last revision that they have fixed?
I can not remember wich revision they fixed it on.
User avatar
Marmes
Member
 
Posts: 181
Joined: 2015-2-18 @ 13:12

Re: FIC PA-2013 Ver 2.1 and Voodoo3 3000 AGP

Postby brostenen » 2016-9-12 @ 20:04

Hmmm.... I think my board is a 2.1 or it could be 2.0 How do I identify if the regulators are there or not?
It is just to be shure if I have them or not, regardless of wich revision is written on the board.
Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick I tell.... (never tried though)

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011
User avatar
brostenen
l33t
 
Posts: 4039
Joined: 2014-5-07 @ 21:13
Location: Northern Jutland, Denmark.

Re: FIC PA-2013 Ver 2.1 and Voodoo3 3000 AGP

Postby Marmes » 2016-9-12 @ 20:24

On the corner near isa slot you can see the board revision.It's etched. not painted. If you have some sort of transistor with a heatsink near AGP connector , it's a V2.0,what you can do is this: remove the regulator and put a more powerful one, or remove it and solder a thick wire between 3.3V from ATX connector (pins on bottom) to the output pin of regulator (also on bottom), that will fix the agp voltage situation.
brostenen wrote:Hmmm.... I think my board is a 2.1 or it could be 2.0 How do I identify if the regulators are there or not?
It is just to be shure if I have them or not, regardless of wich revision is written on the board.
User avatar
Marmes
Member
 
Posts: 181
Joined: 2015-2-18 @ 13:12

Re: FIC PA-2013 Ver 2.1 and Voodoo3 3000 AGP

Postby Marmes » 2016-9-14 @ 01:33

Problem solved with voodoo3 3000 agp, you must disable spread spectrum in this motherboard bios. :)
User avatar
Marmes
Member
 
Posts: 181
Joined: 2015-2-18 @ 13:12

Re: FIC PA-2013 Ver 2.1 and Voodoo3 3000 AGP

Postby Cga.8086 » 2017-11-10 @ 04:49

love this forum. thanks will try this fix tomorrow

mine is a version 2.0 and with voodoo3 3000 agp after booting, and memory ecc check...it gave jailbars always and hanged.

im sure the voodoo card is fine because i tried it on another motherboard and works perfectly
Cga.8086
Newbie
 
Posts: 67
Joined: 2017-4-16 @ 22:38

Re: FIC PA-2013 Ver 2.1 and Voodoo3 3000 AGP

Postby BloodyCactus » 2017-11-10 @ 14:51

Cga.8086 wrote:love this forum. thanks will try this fix tomorrow

mine is a version 2.0 and with voodoo3 3000 agp after booting, and memory ecc check...it gave jailbars always and hanged.

im sure the voodoo card is fine because i tried it on another motherboard and works perfectly


your voodoo3 can fry a 2.0 tho because the 2.0 still has the vregs.
--/\-[ Stu : Bloody Cactus :: http://kråketær.com :: http://mega-tokyo.com ]-/\--
User avatar
BloodyCactus
Oldbie
 
Posts: 573
Joined: 2016-2-03 @ 13:34
Location: Lexington VA

Re: FIC PA-2013 Ver 2.1 and Voodoo3 3000 AGP

Postby Cga.8086 » 2017-11-11 @ 23:22

BloodyCactus wrote:
Cga.8086 wrote:love this forum. thanks will try this fix tomorrow

mine is a version 2.0 and with voodoo3 3000 agp after booting, and memory ecc check...it gave jailbars always and hanged.

im sure the voodoo card is fine because i tried it on another motherboard and works perfectly


your voodoo3 can fry a 2.0 tho because the 2.0 still has the vregs.


Hey maybe you can help me

I have no clue of what you guys are talking about near the AGP there is a metal voltage regulator. Maybe im blind but, where is it??

so this is the motherboard, i placed an arrow where the revision is, and it says 2.0

the voltage regulators i see are on the upper part near the memory and where the capacitors are, that area gets really hot
Last edited by Cga.8086 on 2017-11-12 @ 00:38, edited 1 time in total.
Cga.8086
Newbie
 
Posts: 67
Joined: 2017-4-16 @ 22:38

Re: FIC PA-2013 Ver 2.1 and Voodoo3 3000 AGP

Postby Cga.8086 » 2017-11-12 @ 00:33

now i understand
from version 1 to version 2 they removed what looked like an IC chip
called LM78

its not on version2 anymore.

Image
Cga.8086
Newbie
 
Posts: 67
Joined: 2017-4-16 @ 22:38

Re: FIC PA-2013 Ver 2.1 and Voodoo3 3000 AGP

Postby Ozzuneoj » 2017-11-12 @ 01:12

Yeah, you should be okay if there's no chip there next to the AGP slot. Mine has no chip there and I've never had any issues with any cards I've put in there.

I was just looking at my PA2013 system yesterday and was reminded of a rather confusing aspect of this board.

On my board, it says 2.1 right where your yellow arrow is pointing, next to the back of ISA slot 2. However, in between PCI slots 3 and 4 the following is printed on the PCB in white: 2.0 E-0036 . So, here it says 2.0, but on the bottom left corner it says 2.1. I believe the printed number by the ISA slot is what people should look for. As long as there is no chip next to the back of the AGP slot though, the version likely doesn't matter.
Time Machine = FIC PA-2013 2.1 - K6-2 500 - 256MB PC-100 - TNT2 Pro 16MB AGP - Labway Yamaha YMF719-E - Midiman MM401
Amibay For Sale Threads
I have lots of PC stuff for sale on Mercari! Get a $10 sign up credit with invite code VBGQMM.
User avatar
Ozzuneoj
Oldbie
 
Posts: 600
Joined: 2016-3-16 @ 21:33

Re: FIC PA-2013 Ver 2.1 and Voodoo3 3000 AGP

Postby BloodyCactus » 2017-11-12 @ 01:16

Cga.8086 wrote:now i understand
from version 1 to version 2 they removed what looked like an IC chip
called LM78

its not on version2 anymore.


the chip in your image you pointed to, is not a voltage regulator. the vregs are 3pin chips, at top of mobo with caps around them.
--/\-[ Stu : Bloody Cactus :: http://kråketær.com :: http://mega-tokyo.com ]-/\--
User avatar
BloodyCactus
Oldbie
 
Posts: 573
Joined: 2016-2-03 @ 13:34
Location: Lexington VA

Re: FIC PA-2013 Ver 2.1 and Voodoo3 3000 AGP

Postby Cga.8086 » 2017-11-12 @ 02:00

LM78 looks like some sort of voltage report

http://www.plst.ru/html/techsupport/faqs/faqsgenr.html
Cga.8086
Newbie
 
Posts: 67
Joined: 2017-4-16 @ 22:38

Re: FIC PA-2013 Ver 2.1 and Voodoo3 3000 AGP

Postby Ozzuneoj » 2017-11-12 @ 03:15

Can anyone find any concrete proof that the AGP voltage problem was fixed with version 2.1 of this board? I've been trying to find the articles\comments I read last year and I found this:
http://forums.windrivers.com/showthread ... 3-2-0-mobo

One guy says his 2.1 still had problems. I'll admit I didn't play a lot of later 3D games on this system (since I have faster systems for that), but I never had stability issues with mine running a 500AFX CPU at full speed, and I'm sure I used a Voodoo 3 at some point.
Time Machine = FIC PA-2013 2.1 - K6-2 500 - 256MB PC-100 - TNT2 Pro 16MB AGP - Labway Yamaha YMF719-E - Midiman MM401
Amibay For Sale Threads
I have lots of PC stuff for sale on Mercari! Get a $10 sign up credit with invite code VBGQMM.
User avatar
Ozzuneoj
Oldbie
 
Posts: 600
Joined: 2016-3-16 @ 21:33

Re: FIC PA-2013 Ver 2.1 and Voodoo3 3000 AGP

Postby gdjacobs » 2017-11-12 @ 04:03

Cga.8086 wrote:LM78 looks like some sort of voltage report

http://www.plst.ru/html/techsupport/faqs/faqsgenr.html


It monitors temperature and system voltages and reports them back, usually via the I2C bus.
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t
 
Posts: 4183
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North


Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: InbetweenDays, notsofossil, yawetaG and 6 guests