VOGONS


First post, by sean1978

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I have a problem, I have a ps/2 model 25-286 with two 16 bit ISA slots. I need 3 slots to run everything I want at the same time.

After looking at a thread about expanding ISA with a passive industrial backplane that plugs into an original ISA slot and connects it to a second board in paralell I had a crazy idea.

Why can't I just piggyback a XT ide card onto my sound card? Basically I attach the card to the backside of my sound blaster and then run wires from the edge connector on sound blaster to the edge connector of the XT ide? Other than it being a bit of a pain why wouldn't it work?

SIMPLETHINGS: Fun stuff from the 80's and 90's!
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCLxoVzIzuIN1tQ7DRO7gB6g

Reply 1 of 13, by BloodyCactus

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
sean1978 wrote:

Why can't I just piggyback a XT ide card onto my sound card? Basically I attach the card to the backside of my sound blaster and then run wires from the edge connector on sound blaster to the edge connector of the XT ide? Other than it being a bit of a pain why wouldn't it work?

sure, it will work if your careful. your just expanding the bus manually like that. just watch out for crosstalk and impedence mismatch etc... or just buy an isa riser / bus extender card on ebay...

--/\-[ Stu : Bloody Cactus :: http://kråketær.com :: http://mega-tokyo.com ]-/\--

Reply 2 of 13, by sean1978

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

It's got a tight area to work in, however the two cards I would combine are short enough to fit together lengthwise.

SIMPLETHINGS: Fun stuff from the 80's and 90's!
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCLxoVzIzuIN1tQ7DRO7gB6g

Reply 3 of 13, by keropi

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

I did something similar on my ACER XT when I had it:

WP_20150908_003_zpswfpfanak.jpg

WP_20150908_005_zpsdchy6tx2.jpg

I had to use an 8bit ISA riser in order to get flawless operation.

🎵 🎧 PCMIDI MPU , Orpheus , Action Rewind , Megacard , MK8330 and 🎶GoldLib soundcard website

Reply 4 of 13, by luckybob

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

I know just how you feel. I had the same issue with my 25.

What 3 cards are you using? I'm only using sound and scsi. I run a scsi > ethernet adapter and that solved the problem for me.

It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

Reply 5 of 13, by sean1978

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Yeah I'm looking at a sound blaster card, a XT-IDE CF, and a VGA card (the internal VGA system is botlenecking my 33Mhz ax now!)

SIMPLETHINGS: Fun stuff from the 80's and 90's!
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCLxoVzIzuIN1tQ7DRO7gB6g

Reply 7 of 13, by sean1978

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Yeah saw that, but it's an expensive card. I had a look inside my machine again tonight and I think I may be able to pull this off.

SIMPLETHINGS: Fun stuff from the 80's and 90's!
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCLxoVzIzuIN1tQ7DRO7gB6g

Reply 8 of 13, by feipoa

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

Scsi to ethernet adapter? What is this?

Ultimate 486 Benchmark | Ultimate 686 Benchmark | Cyrix 5x86 Enhancements | 486 Overkill Graphics | Worlds Fastest 486

Reply 9 of 13, by luckybob

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
feipoa wrote:

Scsi to ethernet adapter? What is this?

Exactly that. Works just like a parallel port one. I recently sold 4 of them on ebay for $90 a pop. Got one left but was planning on keeping it. They work pretty seamless on compact macs. Just like this one: http://m.ebay.com/itm/Dayna-port-SCSI-Link-T- … 2084?nav=SEARCH

It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

Reply 10 of 13, by feipoa

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

Are there any for Windows? And what speed? Can you use a HDD on the same Scsi adapter simultaneously?

Ultimate 486 Benchmark | Ultimate 686 Benchmark | Cyrix 5x86 Enhancements | 486 Overkill Graphics | Worlds Fastest 486

Reply 12 of 13, by Anonymous Freak

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
feipoa wrote:

Are there any for Windows? And what speed? Can you use a HDD on the same Scsi adapter simultaneously?

It's a plain SCSI device, so no separate device for Windows - it was just commonly used on Macs because they came with SCSI by default. You would need drivers, though, and the only ones I have seen came with Mac drivers. The devices were standard 10-base-T Ethernet.

Of course you can use a hard drive at the same time! That's one of the big selling points of SCSI, you can connect a variety of different devices at the same time. (hard drive, CD-ROM drive, ZIP drive, scanner, printer, Ethernet deivce... I've had all of those connected to a single machine at once.)