VOGONS

First post, by deleted_Rc

User metadata

For my upcoming project which is kinda uncharted territory for me I need some advice on for components 😎
For this project I want to build a AT ss7. However choices for this seem rather limited due mostly they are already ATX form.
Anyway I already have some stuff in mind (or rather I recently bought a lovely mini AT tower locally) which already had some decent stuff in it.

It's main purpose will be windows gaming on a similar level as my pentium 2.

Anyway for the build and components:
Mobo: advice needed here since I have no experience with ss7 and documentation is impossible to find for AT / baby AT formfactor.
I ofcourse know the FIC boards but that's it. My preference would go to via chipset though
Cpu: got my eyes set on a k6-3+
Gpu: either a voodoo banshee or voodoo 3 (kinda want a banshee since that's what I had in my first p2 )
Ram: pc100 something depending on the mobo
Sound card: I got my hands on a SB 128 along with the case.

The mobo is pretty much the part I am unfamiliar with and most expensive at that. The FIC are ridiculously priced on ebay and had no luck locally. Tnx for the advice.

Reply 2 of 38, by brostenen

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

I can't comment on SS7-AT boards, as I have only had ATX boards, when it comes to this platform.
If you go for Voodoo3, then you need to determine if the AGP port is a "crippeled" one.
Regarding the soundcard, then go for ISA if you need to run Dos software.
If it is a pure Win98 machine, then stick with PCI cards.

Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick....

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk
My YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/brostenen

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011

Reply 3 of 38, by meljor

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie