VOGONS

First post, by Colek

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Hey there,

I am fairly new to the topic of old PC hardware, but decided to make my own first retro build as cheap as possible (just for challenge!).

I've managed to get Asrock P4VM8 with Pentium 4 3.2GHz, ATi Radeon 9800 SE, 2x512MB DDR RAM, 80GB Samsung HDD, Compaq Evo D300v case and generic 300W power supply. I'm quite happy with the results (I do not have parts 'in my hands' yet) since the total price I've paid doesn't exceed 30€. For slightly modern approach, I've also purchased M.2 to SATA adapter, and along with that SATA to IDE, since I've got unused 16GB SSD that I have no use of. Also got CF card to SATA adapter, to use with CF card to MicroSD adapter I have been using in my camera. I am looking extremely forwad to seeing the results with such setup.

I am looking to run Windows 98 SE on this setup.

But, I've been wondering if there are 486 mobos with AGP and ISA slots on them? I am looking for good compatibility in DOS games in regards to MIDI music. Or maybe there is another modern approach? I just love how MIDI music sounds on ex. Roland SC-55 or DreamBlaster X2 and would love to implement it in my setup. Could you guys let me know what could I do in regards to that?

Also, any reviews on PicoPSU's? I think they would be pretty nice addition to this.

Reply 1 of 18, by ODwilly

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Agp is SS7/Slot 1 territory. So think K6-2 and Pentium 2. For 486 you are limited to motherboards with ISA only, VLB (32bit extended ISA) or pci and ISA. Also some other more obscure and rare slots like eisa and mca. I'd suggest checking out the Vogon's wiki 😀

Main pc: Asus ROG 17. R9 5900HX, RTX 3070m, 16gb ddr4 3200, 1tb NVME.
Retro PC: Soyo P4S Dragon, 3gb ddr 266, 120gb Maxtor, Geforce Fx 5950 Ultra, SB Live! 5.1

Reply 2 of 18, by Colek

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
ODwilly wrote: