Slot 1 build HDD and CD doing nothing

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Slot 1 build HDD and CD doing nothing

Postby harddrivespin » 2017-10-20 @ 18:31

Hey!

Just finished building a Slot 1 PC:

- Gateway 443bx mobo

- 250w ATX PSU

- 2x 64mb PC100 SDRAM

- IBM 38mdsp2780

- 20gb QF HDD (Tried 4gb Fujitsu HDD, same issue)

- 54x PATA CD drive

- Pentium Katmai

- ATI Radeon 64mb DR VIVO

- Random XTEK case from 2001

When I boot up the PC, BIOS detects the HDD and the CD drive, POSTs, and then nothing happens. Anyone know what's happening?
User avatar
harddrivespin
Member
 
Posts: 136
Joined: 2017-8-16 @ 20:36

Re: Slot 1 build HDD and CD doing nothing

Postby TOBOR » 2017-10-20 @ 19:47

harddrivespin wrote:Hey!

Just finished building a Slot 1 PC:

- Gateway 443bx mobo

- 250w ATX PSU

- 2x 64mb PC100 SDRAM

- IBM 38mdsp2780

- 20gb QF HDD (Tried 4gb Fujitsu HDD, same issue)

- 54x PATA CD drive

- Pentium Katmai

- ATI Radeon 64mb DR VIVO

- Random XTEK case from 2001

When I boot up the PC, BIOS detects the HDD and the CD drive, POSTs, and then nothing happens. Anyone know what's happening?

Do you have a bootable partition on the primary HDD? Have you tried booting from the ODD with a Windows OS cd in the ODD? Can you boot from the floppy drive using a boot disk? What error mssages are you seeing on screen? Do you get any error beeps?
If the truth hurts, tough shit.
TOBOR
Member
 
Posts: 132
Joined: 2017-8-10 @ 07:25

Re: Slot 1 build HDD and CD doing nothing

Postby harddrivespin » 2017-10-21 @ 09:24

1. Yes

2. Yes

3. No, because I lack writable floppies.

4. None.

5. Nope.

Also, this PC did boot from HDD when the CD drive wasn't plugged in at all, and the same problem continues to occur if the CD drive is primary master and the HDD is secondary.
User avatar
harddrivespin
Member
 
Posts: 136
Joined: 2017-8-16 @ 20:36

Re: Slot 1 build HDD and CD doing nothing

Postby yawetaG » 2017-10-21 @ 09:34

harddrivespin wrote:1. Yes

2. Yes

3. No, because I lack writable floppies.

4. None.

5. Nope.

Also, this PC did boot from HDD when the CD drive wasn't plugged in at all, and the same problem continues to occur if the CD drive is primary master and the HDD is secondary.


Try a different CD drive (older one). I had boot problems on my PII system with a circa-2005-era Samsung DVD drive that were only fixed after removing the drive.
yawetaG
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1053
Joined: 2016-6-14 @ 14:36
Location: Netherlands

Re: Slot 1 build HDD and CD doing nothing

Postby TOBOR » 2017-10-21 @ 09:45

Put the bootable HDD on IDE1 and set the HDD jumpers for Cable Select.
Put the ODD on IDE2 and set the jumpers on the ODD to Cable Select.
If the truth hurts, tough shit.
TOBOR
Member
 
Posts: 132
Joined: 2017-8-10 @ 07:25

Re: Slot 1 build HDD and CD doing nothing

Postby TOBOR » 2017-10-21 @ 10:06

harddrivespin wrote:1. Yes

2. Yes

3. No, because I lack writable floppies.

4. None.

5. Nope.

Also, this PC did boot from HDD when the CD drive wasn't plugged in at all, and the same problem continues to occur if the CD drive is primary master and the HDD is secondary.

My suggested config above was if you have two 40 pin EIDE cables available. If only one cable then HDD goes on the end of cable with jumpers set to Master and the ODD on the middle of the cable with jumpers set to Slave.
If the truth hurts, tough shit.
TOBOR
Member
 
Posts: 132
Joined: 2017-8-10 @ 07:25

Re: Slot 1 build HDD and CD doing nothing

Postby Koltoroc » 2017-10-21 @ 10:09

It is worth a shot to replace the cmos battery. My k6 system does the same with an empty cmos battery
Koltoroc
Member
 
Posts: 243
Joined: 2016-10-07 @ 23:21

Re: Slot 1 build HDD and CD doing nothing

Postby TOBOR » 2017-10-21 @ 10:35

harddrivespin wrote:1. Yes

2. Yes

3. No, because I lack writable floppies.

4. None.

5. Nope.

Also, this PC did boot from HDD when the CD drive wasn't plugged in at all, and the same problem continues to occur if the CD drive is primary master and the HDD is secondary.

Set your drive detection in your bios to Auto for both IDE channels. The HDD will not boot on any other config other than Primary IDE and detected as Master device on the cable.
If the truth hurts, tough shit.
TOBOR
Member
 
Posts: 132
Joined: 2017-8-10 @ 07:25

Re: Slot 1 build HDD and CD doing nothing

Postby TOBOR » 2017-10-21 @ 11:02

harddrivespin wrote:1. Yes

2. Yes

3. No, because I lack writable floppies.

4. None.

5. Nope.

Also, this PC did boot from HDD when the CD drive wasn't plugged in at all, and the same problem continues to occur if the CD drive is primary master and the HDD is secondary.

If the issue still persists after using my suggested drive configs then try a slower and older ODD preferably not a DVD burner.
If the truth hurts, tough shit.
TOBOR
Member
 
Posts: 132
Joined: 2017-8-10 @ 07:25

Re: Slot 1 build HDD and CD doing nothing

Postby yawetaG » 2017-10-21 @ 12:07

TOBOR wrote:Set your drive detection in your bios to Auto for both IDE channels. The HDD will not boot on any other config other than Primary IDE and detected as Master device on the cable.


Depending on the motherboard, booting from a different HDD than primary master is sometimes possible through BIOS configuration options. My SS7 and P4 systems certainly can do it :happy:

Also already suggested trying a different optical drive...
yawetaG
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1053
Joined: 2016-6-14 @ 14:36
Location: Netherlands

Re: Slot 1 build HDD and CD doing nothing

Postby TOBOR » 2017-10-21 @ 12:10

yawetaG wrote:
TOBOR wrote:Set your drive detection in your bios to Auto for both IDE channels. The HDD will not boot on any other config other than Primary IDE and detected as Master device on the cable.


Depending on the motherboard, booting from a different HDD than primary master is sometimes possible through BIOS configuration options. My SS7 and P4 systems certainly can do it :happy:

Also already suggested trying a different optical drive...

Not on Intel Altered Assembly motherboards.
If the truth hurts, tough shit.
TOBOR
Member
 
Posts: 132
Joined: 2017-8-10 @ 07:25

Re: Slot 1 build HDD and CD doing nothing

Postby BitWrangler » 2017-10-21 @ 13:06

Koltoroc wrote:It is worth a shot to replace the cmos battery. My k6 system does the same with an empty cmos battery


Yah there is a few boards out there with real bastard behaviour with dud batteries, like appearing completely dead, or flashing the GPU splash then nothing.
Basement full of ancient PC stuff, starting to go through it. Most recently toyed with DOS era stuff 15 years ago, so memory might be rusty. So what's this BitWrangler guy's deal ??? >>> http://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=56382
User avatar
BitWrangler
Member
 
Posts: 432
Joined: 2017-10-11 @ 00:55

Re: Slot 1 build HDD and CD doing nothing

Postby TOBOR » 2017-10-22 @ 16:17

At harddrivespin, if you are still reading this thread would you please update it with what you have tried and if fixed what was done ?
If the truth hurts, tough shit.
TOBOR
Member
 
Posts: 132
Joined: 2017-8-10 @ 07:25

Re: Slot 1 build HDD and CD doing nothing

Postby harddrivespin » 2017-11-30 @ 19:54

Well, some progress was made but due to side of an IDE port being damaged and scratching the mobo in a bad place both IDE ports kerplunkled. + the mobo I was using was a Gateway OEM mobo.

I now use a Cyrix 6x86MX custom PC with XP for all my retro gaming needs.
User avatar
harddrivespin
Member
 
Posts: 136
Joined: 2017-8-16 @ 20:36


Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 10 guests