Cyrix 300 freebie wont auto-detect HDD

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Cyrix 300 freebie wont auto-detect HDD

Postby tizzdizz » 2017-10-22 @ 20:06

Hi guys,

I picked this old ~1998-99 custom build up on Craigslist for $10 a few months back. Tried plugging in two different IDE hard drives (one is new old stock), and it wont detect either one. It's got a Cyrix 300 CPU, Award Bios, VIA chipset, and some model MATSONIC motherboard.

During bootup, it tries to detect the HDD, but can not. Tried switching/reversing different cables, and no dice. Went into bios to try the auto-detect there, and nothing happens, just hangs. Changed the 2032 battery, Jumpers are set to master, can't think of how to troubleshoot this one. Any ideas?

It's currently got both types of RAM installed - should I remove one for troubleshooting? But not sure if that would affect the HD.

IMG_3007.JPG


IMG_3008.JPG
tizzdizz
Newbie
 
Posts: 63
Joined: 2017-5-18 @ 18:12
Location: Northern California

Re: Cyrix 300 freebie wont auto-detect HDD

Postby BitWrangler » 2017-10-22 @ 20:14

Are you trying a HDD smaller than 8GB to be sure it supports it?

Edit: also Simm/dimm systems don't run at their best with both installed and can have flakies, but they usually get to loading OS. If it came with them in, we could guess it may have worked, but in in doubt, take it out, golden rule is to make things as simple as possible.
Basement full of ancient PC stuff, starting to go through it. Most recently toyed with DOS era stuff 15 years ago, so memory might be rusty. So what's this BitWrangler guy's deal ??? >>> http://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=56382
User avatar
BitWrangler
Member
 
Posts: 424
Joined: 2017-10-11 @ 00:55

Re: Cyrix 300 freebie wont auto-detect HDD

Postby tizzdizz » 2017-10-22 @ 20:27

Good point. None of my hdds are smaller than 8gb. I have an 80 and a 123. The only other thing I have currently is an 8gb compact flash setup. I'll go ahead and try that next.
tizzdizz
Newbie
 
Posts: 63
Joined: 2017-5-18 @ 18:12
Location: Northern California

Re: Cyrix 300 freebie wont auto-detect HDD

Postby Koltoroc » 2017-10-22 @ 21:15

Yeah it is likely either the 8GB or 32GB limit.
Koltoroc
Newbie
 
Posts: 81
Joined: 2016-10-07 @ 23:21

Re: Cyrix 300 freebie wont auto-detect HDD

Postby TOBOR » 2017-10-22 @ 23:50

Try using a Drive Overlay program.
If the truth hurts, tough shit.
TOBOR
Member
 
Posts: 103
Joined: 2017-8-10 @ 07:25

Re: Cyrix 300 freebie wont auto-detect HDD

Postby gdjacobs » 2017-10-23 @ 00:04

Most HDDs can be size limited in the firmware settings. Seagate and Samsung are the easiest. You just need a copy of SEATOOLS.
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t
 
Posts: 4192
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North


Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: carlostex, elianda, Mister Xiado, mrau, Shagittarius, tegrady, telecommand and 8 guests