How to detect if cache is real or not?

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Re: How to detect if cache is real or not?

Postby bjwil1991 » 2017-11-10 @ 14:04

Cga.8086 wrote:the only thing i did not like was the 8 KB L1 cache.
is that upgradable to 16 KB L1 cache ?, don´t even know where that L1 cache is on the motherboard.

I also installed 32mb of memory. its more than enough for windows95 and about the recommended per microsoft for windows98

L1 cache is the CPU cache and L2 is the motherboard cache. However, the Super Socket 7 (K6-2+, K6-3, K6-3+), Slot 1 and higher processors had both L1 and L2 cache integrated while on some boards, the L2 cache acts as the L3 cache (motherboard dependent).
C64, WheelWriter 10 Series II, Pack-Mate 28 Plus, K6-2/300, Pavilion N3350, iMac G3/600 Graphite, Socket 370, Pavilion 7955, Athlon 64, Dimension 4550, Dimension E510, ThinkPad R40, Presario C700, ASUS X54C, Raspberry Pi B+, 2-3, Custom FX-6300
User avatar
bjwil1991
Oldbie
 
Posts: 551
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: United States of America

Re: How to detect if cache is real or not?

Postby Cga.8086 » 2017-11-10 @ 14:08

thanks for the clarification
:)
Cga.8086
Newbie
 
Posts: 67
Joined: 2017-4-16 @ 22:38

Re: How to detect if cache is real or not?

Postby Cga.8086 » 2017-11-11 @ 06:38

today i tested it a little bit more

used a intel dx4 75mhz cpu with the motherboard voltage regulator and it was a no go. too many problems ans artifacs playing doom

then used a intel dx4 100 with voltage regulator socketed to the cpu. and its running great

with a trident VESa card... 3dbench gave me like 52fps scorex
Cga.8086
Newbie
 
Posts: 67
Joined: 2017-4-16 @ 22:38

Re: How to detect if cache is real or not?

Postby bbhaag » 2017-11-12 @ 03:30

I will admit that I am impressed with your successful attempt at removing the fake chips and then installing functioning ones. Very impressive. I do have to ask one question though. Is that blood on the cache chips in your pic?
User avatar
bbhaag
Newbie
 
Posts: 75
Joined: 2015-10-12 @ 21:31

Re: How to detect if cache is real or not?

Postby BitWrangler » 2017-11-12 @ 03:43

Might be the no clean flux... but the approved method for ensuring 486 cache works needs chicken blood drawn at midnight on a full moon.
Basement full of ancient PC stuff, starting to go through it. Most recently toyed with DOS era stuff 15 years ago, so memory might be rusty. So what's this BitWrangler guy's deal ??? >>> http://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=56382
User avatar
BitWrangler
Member
 
Posts: 384
Joined: 2017-10-11 @ 00:55

Re: How to detect if cache is real or not?

Postby Robin4 » 2017-11-12 @ 03:59

BitWrangler wrote:In my experience, the UMC cache chips were usually real actually. You do seem to be missing a Keyboard Controller chip.



Some 486 boards doesnt havent a keyboard bios chip onboard..Because those functions where also intergrated in new kind of biosses..

Normally you would have Bios chip + KB bios, but this board have BIOS rom + keyboard bios in one Eprom.. If you would adding a kB-bios chip to the empty IC socket, it only would lock your whole keyboard.

Only if you replace it with a Bios only Eprom, then you will have to add a kb-bios chip to the empty socket.
~ At least it can do black and white~
User avatar
Robin4
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1925
Joined: 2011-4-04 @ 09:52
Location: THE NETHERLANDS

Re: How to detect if cache is real or not?

Postby Cga.8086 » 2017-11-12 @ 20:53

haha not blood. just a marking . some old cpus came with some.markings . i always see a 486 cpu with some sort of cat or animal seal. looks like hardware sellers did that when they sold their stuff
Cga.8086
Newbie
 
Posts: 67
Joined: 2017-4-16 @ 22:38

Previous

Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bishopcop, dada and 9 guests