P3 600B on Asus P2B 1.04

Discussion about old PC hardware.

P3 600B on Asus P2B 1.04

Postby JetSetWilly » 2017-11-09 @ 19:30

I´m triying to plug a Slot 1 Pentium III 600B (133Mhz FSB) into an Asus P2B Rev 1.04 (1012 BIOS) motherboard without success. The PC starts, fan works too but I receive no video signal or further activity. That happends with 100 or 133Mhz FSB jumpers, either option shows the same lack of video so I´m wondering if this board is compatible or not. It´s working fine with other Pentium II CPUs by the way.

Thanks in advance for any help :happy:
User avatar
JetSetWilly
Newbie
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 2017-6-07 @ 18:04

Re: P3 600B on Asus P2B 1.04

Postby Koltoroc » 2017-11-09 @ 20:09

IIRC you need Rev 1.10 or higher to find coppermine compatible VRMs. In short, it won't work. To get a coppermine to run on this you would need a slotket with its own VRM.
Koltoroc
Newbie
 
Posts: 81
Joined: 2016-10-07 @ 23:21

Re: P3 600B on Asus P2B 1.04

Postby JetSetWilly » 2017-11-09 @ 20:19

Koltoroc wrote:IIRC you need Rev 1.10 or higher to find coppermine compatible VRMs. In short, it won't work. To get a coppermine to run on this you would need a slotket with its own VRM.


Thanks, that´s a useful info. Then I´ll discard it until find a proper motherboard.
User avatar
JetSetWilly
Newbie
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 2017-6-07 @ 18:04

Re: P3 600B on Asus P2B 1.04

Postby dexvx » 2017-11-10 @ 00:58

JetSetWilly wrote:Thanks, that´s a useful info. Then I´ll discard it until find a proper motherboard.


Whaaaat. Don't just throw a perfectly good Asus P2B away!

Also, you need rev 1.12 or later. You can also get away with using slotkets that have VRM's on them, as the problem with VRM incompatibility.
dexvx
Oldbie
 
Posts: 696
Joined: 2017-3-07 @ 03:32
Location: USA

Re: P3 600B on Asus P2B 1.04

Postby SW-SSG » 2017-11-10 @ 01:45

... Is the OP's chip a Coppermine, though? "600B" points to the Katmai 600/133 processor. "600E" is what the Coppermine equivalent is referred to as.

Either way, yes, please don't toss that board.
[ThinkPad A30] PIII-M 1133MHz/256MB PC-133/30GB 4200RPM/ATI R7000 16MB/IBM 265244U/WinXP Pro
[Custom 440BX] PIII-K 600MHz/256MB PC-100/13.6GB 7200RPM/ATI R128VR 32MB/Intel SE440BX-2/Win98SE
User avatar
SW-SSG
Member
 
Posts: 182
Joined: 2016-9-29 @ 03:44
Location: Canada

Re: P3 600B on Asus P2B 1.04

Postby BitWrangler » 2017-11-10 @ 03:00

This is the basic stuff...
http://www.overclockers.com/upgrading-a ... therboard/

Wish I could come up with a name or keyword to find that old P2B website that had on the board voltage regulator mods and hacks and other tricks.
Basement full of ancient PC stuff, starting to go through it. Most recently toyed with DOS era stuff 15 years ago, so memory might be rusty. So what's this BitWrangler guy's deal ??? >>> http://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=56382
User avatar
BitWrangler
Member
 
Posts: 418
Joined: 2017-10-11 @ 00:55

Re: P3 600B on Asus P2B 1.04

Postby JetSetWilly » 2017-11-10 @ 09:22

Stay calm, please. Of course I won´t throw such a beaty board :lol: . Just asked about the 600B because it doesn´t work on it and I wasn´t sure about the reason.

SW-SSG wrote:... Is the OP's chip a Coppermine, though? "600B" points to the Katmai 600/133 processor. "600E" is what the Coppermine equivalent is referred to as.

Either way, yes, please don't toss that board.


Specifically, the 600B. When I plug it in, the computer starts but no video signal is shown and, like I said before, no further activity is done. With other models like PII 233 or PII 350 works perfectly fine.

BitWrangler wrote:This is the basic stuff...
http://www.overclockers.com/upgrading-a ... therboard/

Wish I could come up with a name or keyword to find that old P2B website that had on the board voltage regulator mods and hacks and other tricks.


Thanks for the link!
User avatar
JetSetWilly
Newbie
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 2017-6-07 @ 18:04

Re: P3 600B on Asus P2B 1.04

Postby Cyrix200+ » 2017-11-10 @ 09:24

BitWrangler wrote:This is the basic stuff...
http://www.overclockers.com/upgrading-a ... therboard/

Wish I could come up with a name or keyword to find that old P2B website that had on the board voltage regulator mods and hacks and other tricks.


I think you are looking for this?: http://homepage.hispeed.ch/rscheidegger ... e_faq.html
Chaintech 6ITM | Pentium Pro 200MHz | Matrox G200 | SCSI | Windows NT4
AOpen AX59Pro | AMD K6-3+ 450MHz | Windows 98SE
Tyan Tiger 230T | 2x Pentium III-S 1.4GHz | ATi Radeon 9100 | Aureal Vortex 2 | Windows 2000
-
Image gallery | Inventory
User avatar
Cyrix200+
Oldbie
 
Posts: 531
Joined: 2015-5-11 @ 15:52
Location: The Netherlands

Re: P3 600B on Asus P2B 1.04

Postby Radical Vision » 2017-11-10 @ 09:52

Yep i have P2B as well under 1.10 revision and it suck, no powerful coppermine, and not ever think of tualatins....

This is why is called P2B is for Pentium II, and nothing more... Better to find P3B-F, ABIT BE6, BE6-II, BE6-II V2, Gigabyte BX2000+ or MSI - BX Master. And for the looking the best ones are the Gigabyte BX2000+ and AOpen - AX6BC PRO II great colors, specially for whole black or blue build...
I think to make whole blue build, x2 3Dfx Voodoo 2 ProVideo, Gigabyte BX2000+, Blue Yamaha ISA sound card, some blue AGP card not sure what, maybe Chaintech FX5900XT or similar, blue IDE cables from new Gigabyte boards, and other blue things...
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
Radical Vision
Newbie
 
Posts: 32
Joined: 2017-10-30 @ 07:30
Location: Bat Cave

Re: P3 600B on Asus P2B 1.04

Postby JetSetWilly » 2017-11-10 @ 10:27

Radical Vision wrote:Yep i have P2B as well under 1.10 revision and it suck, no powerful coppermine, and not ever think of tualatins....

This is why is called P2B is for Pentium II, and nothing more... [...]


Reading the official documentation it supports Pentium III too, at least the 100MHz FSB models, so I don´t think it is a bad motherboard. Are there better options? Of course, but for a PII/PIII Deschutes/Katmai it works well in my opinion.
User avatar
JetSetWilly
Newbie
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 2017-6-07 @ 18:04

Re: P3 600B on Asus P2B 1.04

Postby Radical Vision » 2017-11-10 @ 10:32

JetSetWilly wrote:
Radical Vision wrote:Yep i have P2B as well under 1.10 revision and it suck, no powerful coppermine, and not ever think of tualatins....

This is why is called P2B is for Pentium II, and nothing more... [...]


Reading the official documentation it supports Pentium III too, at least the 100MHz FSB models, so I don´t think it is a bad motherboard. Are there better options? Of course, but for a PII/PIII Deschutes/Katmai it works well in my opinion.



Is not a bad board i have one myself, but compared to Gigabyte BX2000 it is not so good, specially my P2B it have bad capacitors, while 40% of the caps on BX2000 are SanYo, it have Dual bioses, CPU voltage protection, x4 memory slots... Now the CPU support i think was really bad, but is ok for Pentium II at least, but all the goodies on the Gigabyte board it make it really great...
And oo boy the Gigabyte BX2000+ is insane all the positive things form BX2000 and it have also blue color and maybe support for Tualatin processors....
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
Radical Vision
Newbie
 
Posts: 32
Joined: 2017-10-30 @ 07:30
Location: Bat Cave

Re: P3 600B on Asus P2B 1.04

Postby SW-SSG » 2017-11-10 @ 19:25

JetSetWilly wrote:Specifically, the 600B. When I plug it in, the computer starts but no video signal is shown and, like I said before, no further activity is done. With other models like PII 233 or PII 350 works perfectly fine.

Right. Perhaps you could try to clean the "gold fingers" with isopropyl alcohol+Qtips if you haven't already; possibly oxidization is preventing good contact with the slot connectors.
[ThinkPad A30] PIII-M 1133MHz/256MB PC-133/30GB 4200RPM/ATI R7000 16MB/IBM 265244U/WinXP Pro
[Custom 440BX] PIII-K 600MHz/256MB PC-100/13.6GB 7200RPM/ATI R128VR 32MB/Intel SE440BX-2/Win98SE
User avatar
SW-SSG
Member
 
Posts: 182
Joined: 2016-9-29 @ 03:44
Location: Canada

Re: P3 600B on Asus P2B 1.04

Postby agent_x007 » 2017-11-10 @ 19:59

Radical Vision wrote:And oo boy the Gigabyte BX2000+ is insane all the positive things form BX2000 and it have also blue color and maybe support for Tualatin processors....
Like this one ?
Gigabyte 2000+.jpg

9800 XT 440BX + Tualatin mini.png

;)
User avatar
agent_x007
Oldbie
 
Posts: 737
Joined: 2016-1-19 @ 11:06

Re: P3 600B on Asus P2B 1.04

Postby Radical Vision » 2017-11-10 @ 21:38

agent_x007 wrote:
Radical Vision wrote:And oo boy the Gigabyte BX2000+ is insane all the positive things form BX2000 and it have also blue color and maybe support for Tualatin processors....
Like this one ?
Gigabyte 2000+.jpg

9800 XT 440BX + Tualatin mini.png

;)


Yep the same one, great to see someone have that board, even it have IDE RAID so nice...
Can you try to run Tualatin 1.4GHz with slotket adapter, i want to know if it is possible. I see all the great features of the BX2000 here as well, good quality SanYo caps right to the slot, Dual BIOS, x4 memory slots, and even more, blue color, better CPU support, and even IDE RAID...
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
Radical Vision
Newbie
 
Posts: 32
Joined: 2017-10-30 @ 07:30
Location: Bat Cave

Re: P3 600B on Asus P2B 1.04

Postby BitWrangler » 2017-11-11 @ 01:08

Cyrix200+ wrote:
BitWrangler wrote:This is the basic stuff...
http://www.overclockers.com/upgrading-a ... therboard/

Wish I could come up with a name or keyword to find that old P2B website that had on the board voltage regulator mods and hacks and other tricks.


I think you are looking for this?: http://homepage.hispeed.ch/rscheidegger ... e_faq.html


Awesome thanks, that's another good one, I vaguely remember that one too, but forgot I'd forgotten about it, the one I was thinking about had pics.
Basement full of ancient PC stuff, starting to go through it. Most recently toyed with DOS era stuff 15 years ago, so memory might be rusty. So what's this BitWrangler guy's deal ??? >>> http://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=56382
User avatar
BitWrangler
Member
 
Posts: 418
Joined: 2017-10-11 @ 00:55

Re: P3 600B on Asus P2B 1.04

Postby agent_x007 » 2017-11-11 @ 08:43

Radical Vision wrote:Yep the same one, great to see someone have that board, even it have IDE RAID so nice...
Can you try to run Tualatin 1.4GHz with slotket adapter, i want to know if it is possible. I see all the great features of the BX2000 here as well, good quality SanYo caps right to the slot, Dual BIOS, x4 memory slots, and even more, blue color, better CPU support, and even IDE RAID...

Screenshot from my earlier post was done on this motherboard with 1,4GHz Tualatin PIII-S (10,5x 133MHz = 1400MHz) :)
I updated BIOS to latest beta : LINK, and I think that's why CPU-z isn't showing the proper name for the board : LINK (check BIOS date)
I did test it with special Tualatin tho (with added PCB for undervolting, hence 1,45V on CPU-z).
User avatar
agent_x007
Oldbie
 
Posts: 737
Joined: 2016-1-19 @ 11:06

Re: P3 600B on Asus P2B 1.04

Postby Radical Vision » 2017-11-11 @ 13:39

agent_x007 wrote:
Radical Vision wrote:Yep the same one, great to see someone have that board, even it have IDE RAID so nice...
Can you try to run Tualatin 1.4GHz with slotket adapter, i want to know if it is possible. I see all the great features of the BX2000 here as well, good quality SanYo caps right to the slot, Dual BIOS, x4 memory slots, and even more, blue color, better CPU support, and even IDE RAID...

Screenshot from my earlier post was done on this motherboard with 1,4GHz Tualatin PIII-S (10,5x 133MHz = 1400MHz) :)
I updated BIOS to latest beta : LINK, and I think that's why CPU-z isn't showing the proper name for the board : LINK (check BIOS date)
I did test it with special Tualatin tho (with added PCB for undervolting, hence 1,45V on CPU-z).



Great to know BX2000+ supports without a problem Tualatins, i think that board is even better then ASUS P3B-F...
But the BX2000 have really bad memory support most SDram don`t even boot my board. So how is the memory support on that board, is need special memory, or chip or whatever, or they just work most of them fine..

You sure this is BIOS file, because it is other type, and as far as i know BIOS files for socket 462 boards are BIN, and will that file work on Award winflash ?
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
Radical Vision
Newbie
 
Posts: 32
Joined: 2017-10-30 @ 07:30
Location: Bat Cave

Re: P3 600B on Asus P2B 1.04

Postby BitWrangler » 2017-11-11 @ 15:03

A lot of PII /PIII boards do not like high density SDRAM, 64 or 128MB modules should be safe, 256MB modules can be either high or low density, and I think 512s are all high density.... actually you'll know a low density one if you see it, it'll be huge, double rows of chips.
Basement full of ancient PC stuff, starting to go through it. Most recently toyed with DOS era stuff 15 years ago, so memory might be rusty. So what's this BitWrangler guy's deal ??? >>> http://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=56382
User avatar
BitWrangler
Member
 
Posts: 418
Joined: 2017-10-11 @ 00:55

Re: P3 600B on Asus P2B 1.04

Postby agent_x007 » 2017-11-11 @ 15:06

I think RAM for 440BX simply needs to be a Dual Sided 256MB module* (not sure if there is anything more needed than that).
*in other words, Low density (like @up said)

1GB didn't worked from start, however trying few things make it work (manually setting stuff with one DIMM and then adding more after each restart, checking each DIMM slot by itself - is also a good start).
Radical Vision wrote:You sure this is BIOS file, because it is other type, and as far as i know BIOS files for socket 462 boards are BIN, and will that file work on Award winflash ?
Socket 462 = Socket A = AMD, BX2000+ is Slot-1 ;)
You get flasher inside .zip with that beta BIOS.
I think changing file to .bin from .fdc should make it work on any flasher.

PS. Side note :
High End LGA 775 boards don't like high density 4GB DDR3 modules, ie. those that use chips with over 256MB capacity (ie. over 2GB/side) :D
User avatar
agent_x007
Oldbie
 
Posts: 737
Joined: 2016-1-19 @ 11:06

Re: P3 600B on Asus P2B 1.04

Postby BitWrangler » 2017-11-11 @ 15:53

Right, though be wary of confusion between physically double sided and electrically double banked. Many 16 chip modules in whatever is the "native" density of the chipset during time where it was current will be double banked, though actually small values might be just 4 chip. Double banked SDRAM sizes are 8, 32, 128, and 512. Singles are 16, 64, 256. However, in order to have space with the 16 low density chips to make a 256MB module, they have to use both sides of the PCB, so it looks double sided but isn't double banked. Like I said, you'd know a low density 512 instantly, because it would need 32 chips on it, so would be double height with 16 on each side.
Basement full of ancient PC stuff, starting to go through it. Most recently toyed with DOS era stuff 15 years ago, so memory might be rusty. So what's this BitWrangler guy's deal ??? >>> http://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=56382
User avatar
BitWrangler
Member
 
Posts: 418
Joined: 2017-10-11 @ 00:55

Next

Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: easy_john, killerclems and 11 guests