Socket 8 system questions

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Socket 8 system questions

Postby LR35902 » 2017-11-23 @ 00:35

Hello everyone,

I recently acquired a socket 8 motherboard plus processor during a sudden inexplicable interest in computers of this period.
If this is the right place, I would like to ask some questions about it.

The board in question is an MS6104 (which is MSI I assume) running a Pentium Pro 200 (256k) and a mix of ram adding up to 32MiB.

1. Is there any non totally-luck-based way of acquiring an i/o shield for this board? The shield I need:
Image
(This image is directly taken from the german wikipedia page about I/O-shields :P )

2. The memory check upon boot seems to repeat itself for a total of three runs. I am planning on upgrading the ram anyway, but is this anything to be concerned about?

3. I am currently using an Eagle S3 Virge/DX as a videocard. It works, but the image is somewhat rainy, with lines seeming to glide from the top right to the bottom left of the screen. I am not sure what to make of this.

And of course, this board has no external battery, so I will have to replace the pesky rtc chip. So I haven't done anything with it other than staring at it booting.
User avatar
LR35902
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2017-11-22 @ 18:00
Location: Netherlands

Re: Socket 8 system questions

Postby Ampera » 2017-11-23 @ 00:51

1. Besides luck, you can buy blank I/O shields and you can cut the holes out yourself. I honestly wouldn't bother as it's not 100% needed.

2. Define concern. My 486 does this, and it has an option to skip the memory test, yet my Pentium Pro machine doesn't do this (tests once) but doesn't have an option to skip.

3. New card or bake your old one.
User avatar
Ampera
Oldbie
 
Posts: 885
Joined: 2016-11-16 @ 22:31

Re: Socket 8 system questions

Postby Jade Falcon » 2017-11-23 @ 01:10

1: Hunt on evay for an i/o cover. Just pull up I/O covers on ebay and dig. Or make one from a black or aluminum tape.

2: thats typical on some boards msi server bards even more so. If its a option enable quick boot in the bios

3: could ne many things. Check the card in another system, clean the contracts and take a close look at it to see if anything is missing. A bake will likely not fix such an old card.
Jade Falcon
BANNED
 
Posts: 3219
Joined: 2016-5-08 @ 19:23
Location: Nar Shaddaa.

Re: Socket 8 system questions

Postby LR35902 » 2017-11-23 @ 01:31

Ampera wrote:1. Besides luck, you can buy blank I/O shields and you can cut the holes out yourself. I honestly wouldn't bother as it's not 100% needed.

2. Define concern. My 486 does this, and it has an option to skip the memory test, yet my Pentium Pro machine doesn't do this (tests once) but doesn't have an option to skip.

3. New card or bake your old one.


Yes I am aware of the blank shields and that they aren't vital. It's just that I have seen various types of common shields, but none with the ps/2 ports next to each other.

Hearing about baking cards makes me think of the 8800 series of Nvidia cards :happy:

Jade Falcon wrote:1: Hunt on evay for an i/o cover. Just pull up I/O covers on ebay and dig. Or make one from a black or aluminum tape.

2: thats typical on some boards msi server bards even more so. If its a option enable quick boot in the bios

3: could ne many things. Check the card in another system, clean the contracts and take a close look at it to see if anything is missing. A bake will likely not fix such an old card.


I will look on ebay some more. It's just that I got the feeling I've gone through hundreds of them already. :dead:
The test is skippable yes. Might also be a bios option, but I think I will have to replace the rtc before being able to do anything.
User avatar
LR35902
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2017-11-22 @ 18:00
Location: Netherlands

Re: Socket 8 system questions

Postby gdjacobs » 2017-11-23 @ 14:15

You can make one out of cardboard/acetate and foil.
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t
 
Posts: 4421
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: Socket 8 system questions

Postby sprcorreia » 2017-11-23 @ 20:35

I have a box with something around 100 backplates. I'll check if I have one of those.
ASUS P2B with P3 1100 for sale.

http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?95680-Asus-P2B-Rev-1-10-Intel-P3-1-1GHz-with-Asus-adapter-and-Coolermaster-cooler

Lots of other stuff too. PM me for more details.
User avatar
sprcorreia
Oldbie
 
Posts: 681
Joined: 2010-11-15 @ 01:40
Location: Porto, Portugal

Re: Socket 8 system questions

Postby LR35902 » 2017-11-23 @ 22:47

sprcorreia wrote:I have a box with something around 100 backplates. I'll check if I have one of those.


Very cool, much appreciated! :blush:

Ordered a rtc replacement. Will have to try and remove the old one with mediocre soldering skills. :dead:
User avatar
LR35902
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2017-11-22 @ 18:00
Location: Netherlands

Re: Socket 8 system questions

Postby Jade Falcon » 2017-11-23 @ 23:42

Please practice on junk hardware frist.
Jade Falcon
BANNED
 
Posts: 3219
Joined: 2016-5-08 @ 19:23
Location: Nar Shaddaa.

Re: Socket 8 system questions

Postby Jed118 » 2017-11-24 @ 04:46

LR35902 wrote:
sprcorreia wrote:I have a box with something around 100 backplates. I'll check if I have one of those.


Very cool, much appreciated! :blush:

Ordered a rtc replacement. Will have to try and remove the old one with mediocre soldering skills. :dead:


I could probably fix the RTC for you, I've done three quite recently.
Jed118
Member
 
Posts: 171
Joined: 2015-2-03 @ 17:15

Re: Socket 8 system questions

Postby luckybob » 2017-11-24 @ 08:43

checking the ram 3 times is normal for some boards. Look in your bios options for "fast post" or something to that effect.

Or just not turn it off.
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.
User avatar
luckybob
l33t
 
Posts: 3017
Joined: 2009-4-30 @ 04:43

Re: Socket 8 system questions

Postby LR35902 » 2017-11-24 @ 17:00

Jed118 wrote:
LR35902 wrote:
sprcorreia wrote:I have a box with something around 100 backplates. I'll check if I have one of those.


Very cool, much appreciated! :blush:

Ordered a rtc replacement. Will have to try and remove the old one with mediocre soldering skills. :dead:


I could probably fix the RTC for you, I've done three quite recently.

Thanks, but I really want to do this myself. It's going to be okay.

luckybob wrote:checking the ram 3 times is normal for some boards. Look in your bios options for "fast post" or something to that effect.

Or just not turn it off.

It's not bothersome, I was just curious. And yes, it says it is skippable.
User avatar
LR35902
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2017-11-22 @ 18:00
Location: Netherlands

Re: Socket 8 system questions

Postby LR35902 » 2017-12-05 @ 19:01

Image
At 150MHz for now, as I don't have a fan on the heatsink. Next step might be upping the RAM, but that would have to be bought first. Not sure, maybe I will focus more on a P166 MMX build I am doing concurrently. :evil:

Probably needs more ram before I attempt to let it run a very light modern Linux distro.
User avatar
LR35902
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2017-11-22 @ 18:00
Location: Netherlands


Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: anetanel, HYRO, jarreboum, MERCURY127, Ultraporing, Vipersan and 22 guests