Will a GeForce FX 5500 work in a 2x (3.3v) Slot?

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Will a GeForce FX 5500 work in a 2x (3.3v) Slot?

Postby andreja6 » 2017-11-25 @ 04:46

I know this card has a universal slot type
In case anyone wants one, they are really cheap: never mind it was an ebay scam
Image
But i know some of them which should not be are also. Will this work in a 2x slot?
Last edited by andreja6 on 2017-11-26 @ 18:24, edited 2 times in total.
andreja6
Newbie
 
Posts: 72
Joined: 2017-10-03 @ 07:56

Re: Will a GeForce FX 5500 work in a 2x (3.3v) Slot?

Postby Dirk Daring » 2017-11-25 @ 06:32

The fact that the card is keyed for both 3.3V and 1.5V assumes that it *should* work with either or possibly that it needs both.... at the very least though, it won't harm the card, if the card's not going to work, it would probably be because it's not getting enough power, though, if it fits....it will most likely work.
Also being a 4X card means that is *should* work on 2X mothorboards as well.... as AGP was built with backwards compatibility in mind.
I for instance run an ATI Radeon 9600 XT which is an AGP 8X card just fine on an AGP 4x mobo.
I should also mention that I'm running a Matrox G400 which is keyed identically to your FX 5500 with both 1.5V and 3.3V slots in an older AGP 2X mobo that only has a 3.3V slot.
Cards that cannot operate on 3.3V will not be keyed for it(as my Radeon 9600 XT is not, it NEEDS a 1.5V slot)
I think you'll be fine.... as I said.... if it fits, it should work, the keying is there for a reason.
User avatar
Dirk Daring
Newbie
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 2017-11-12 @ 03:39

Re: Will a GeForce FX 5500 work in a 2x (3.3v) Slot?

Postby kanecvr » 2017-11-25 @ 11:08

The FX 5200/5500 should work fine on a AGP 2x board.
User avatar
kanecvr
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1957
Joined: 2015-4-22 @ 20:30
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Re: Will a GeForce FX 5500 work in a 2x (3.3v) Slot?

Postby Koltoroc » 2017-11-25 @ 17:06

Dirk Daring wrote:The fact that the card is keyed for both 3.3V and 1.5V assumes that it *should* work with either or possibly that it needs both.... at the very least though, it won't harm the card, if the card's not going to work, it would probably be because it's not getting enough power, though, if it fits....it will most likely work.
Also being a 4X card means that is *should* work on 2X mothorboards as well.... as AGP was built with backwards compatibility in mind.
I for instance run an ATI Radeon 9600 XT which is an AGP 8X card just fine on an AGP 4x mobo.
I should also mention that I'm running a Matrox G400 which is keyed identically to your FX 5500 with both 1.5V and 3.3V slots in an older AGP 2X mobo that only has a 3.3V slot.
Cards that cannot operate on 3.3V will not be keyed for it(as my Radeon 9600 XT is not, it NEEDS a 1.5V slot)
I think you'll be fine.... as I said.... if it fits, it should work, the keying is there for a reason.


never rely on the keying alone, research both motherboard and GPU. I recently killed a motherboard with "universal" AGP and SIS 645 chipset because they did not implement the 3.3V signalling. Instead of listing that under the board features, it was only mentioned in the manual under "installing agp cards", which nobody ever reads. Also there are older 3.3V only cards with universal keying (some geforce 256/2, some TNT2 and ALL SIS 300 series). Always fun to come across one of those. I hate manufacturers who see standards merely as guidelines.

In this particular case however, there should be no issue as the FX series should have proper AGP universal support (0.8, 1.5 and 3.3V signalling)
Koltoroc
Member
 
Posts: 200
Joined: 2016-10-07 @ 23:21

Re: Will a GeForce FX 5500 work in a 2x (3.3v) Slot?

Postby Dirk Daring » 2017-11-25 @ 21:00

Koltoroc wrote:
Dirk Daring wrote:The fact that the card is keyed for both 3.3V and 1.5V assumes that it *should* work with either or possibly that it needs both.... at the very least though, it won't harm the card, if the card's not going to work, it would probably be because it's not getting enough power, though, if it fits....it will most likely work.
Also being a 4X card means that is *should* work on 2X mothorboards as well.... as AGP was built with backwards compatibility in mind.
I for instance run an ATI Radeon 9600 XT which is an AGP 8X card just fine on an AGP 4x mobo.
I should also mention that I'm running a Matrox G400 which is keyed identically to your FX 5500 with both 1.5V and 3.3V slots in an older AGP 2X mobo that only has a 3.3V slot.
Cards that cannot operate on 3.3V will not be keyed for it(as my Radeon 9600 XT is not, it NEEDS a 1.5V slot)
I think you'll be fine.... as I said.... if it fits, it should work, the keying is there for a reason.


never rely on the keying alone, research both motherboard and GPU. I recently killed a motherboard with "universal" AGP and SIS 645 chipset because they did not implement the 3.3V signalling. Instead of listing that under the board features, it was only mentioned in the manual under "installing agp cards", which nobody ever reads. Also there are older 3.3V only cards with universal keying (some geforce 256/2, some TNT2 and ALL SIS 300 series). Always fun to come across one of those. I hate manufacturers who see standards merely as guidelines.

In this particular case however, there should be no issue as the FX series should have proper AGP universal support (0.8, 1.5 and 3.3V signalling)


Ugggg.... bet that made you want to punch some fool lol.... yeah manufacturers deviating from standards without bothering to implement some type of safeguard to prevent damage IMO should be criminal.
Really lousy part is, with this old hardware, you very rarely get any manuals, and with the really obscure stuff, even online manuals can sometimes be nearly impossible to find.
User avatar
Dirk Daring
Newbie
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 2017-11-12 @ 03:39

Re: Will a GeForce FX 5500 work in a 2x (3.3v) Slot?

Postby Dani-01 » 2017-11-25 @ 21:26

It should work in a 2X slot, the compatibility is there in theory. However, FX cards can also cause PS/2 devices to stop working on older boards. Had it happen to me with an FX5500 in an old VIA P3 board and some forums showed the same issue. Nothing permanent, so no need to worry, but it could cause some frustration if you don't have a spare USB port for a keyboard or mouse. :lol:
User avatar
Dani-01
Newbie
 
Posts: 26
Joined: 2017-9-20 @ 06:55

Re: Will a GeForce FX 5500 work in a 2x (3.3v) Slot?

Postby andreja6 » 2017-11-25 @ 21:29

Dani-01 wrote:It should work in a 2X slot, the compatibility is there in theory. However, FX cards can also cause PS/2 devices to stop working on older boards. Had it happen to me with an FX5500 in an old VIA P3 board and some forums showed the same issue. Nothing permanent, so no need to worry, but it could cause some frustration if you don't have a spare USB port for a keyboard or mouse. :lol:

Since my PS/2 ports already died, I'm not worried about that hah. All i'm worried about now is I don't want it to fry my AB-BH6, and if it is compatible, perfect!
andreja6
Newbie
 
Posts: 72
Joined: 2017-10-03 @ 07:56

Re: Will a GeForce FX 5500 work in a 2x (3.3v) Slot?

Postby Matth79 » 2017-11-26 @ 02:03

Bit sus, no history as a seller and offering free international shipping?
I'd buy one here in UK, but I wouldn't rate my chances
Matth79
Member
 
Posts: 410
Joined: 2014-5-19 @ 14:24

Re: Will a GeForce FX 5500 work in a 2x (3.3v) Slot?

Postby cyclone3d » 2017-11-26 @ 02:46

I just love those new Chinese knockoff "FX5500" cards.

I bet it actually has an FX5200 chip under that heatsink and they have just clocked it up to FX5500 speeds via the BIOS. Not a huge deal as the clock speeds were the only difference between the FX5200 and the FX5500.

I have a PCI "FX5500" I bought a while back that has an FX5200 chip.

For $4.99 shipped I guess it isn't a bad deal though.

If it was me selling them, I wouldn't even bother at that price as the take home after eBay and Paypal fees and shipping is going to be about 50-75 cents per card if they got them for FREE. 1st class USPS shipping is going to be about $3.60 or so. And then eBay and paypal fees together are another 58 cents per card.
User avatar
cyclone3d
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1741
Joined: 2015-4-08 @ 06:06
Location: Huntsville, AL USA

Re: Will a GeForce FX 5500 work in a 2x (3.3v) Slot?

Postby darry » 2017-11-26 @ 04:13

The Inno3D FX5500 I have seems to work fine in my Asus P3B-F's 2X AGP slot . It does not like an overclocked 89MHz AGP bus, though .
darry
Member
 
Posts: 256
Joined: 2014-1-20 @ 06:27
Location: Canada


Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], looking4awayout and 11 guests