pentium 3 isa psu ?

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Re: pentium 3 isa psu ?

Postby gdjacobs » 2017-12-03 @ 23:33

Alrighty. Computer PSUs supply power at different voltages, as you know. Modern computers consume most of their power supplied at 12V and modern PSUs are therefore designed to supply the majority of power via the 12V wires. Older computers consumed more power at 3.3 and 5V with 12V not having to be quite so strong. Athlon and Athlon XP systems in some circumstances required over 30A supplied via the 5V ATX pins, but this often is too much for modern power supplies.

The supply option you're looking at should be fine for a P3 or older (and probably for a P4 as well), but you will likely run into problems with an Athlon or Athlon XP.
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t++
 
Posts: 5151
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: pentium 3 isa psu ?

Postby scroeffie » 2017-12-04 @ 09:34

https://www.alternate.nl/Corsair/VS-Ser ... =7&lk=9533 Corsair VS Series VS350
https://www.alternate.nl/Corsair/VS-Ser ... =7&lk=9533 450
https://www.alternate.nl/Cooler-Master/ ... -(ErP-2013)-400W-Green-power-supply-400-Watt-voeding/html/product/1316447?tk=7&lk=9533 +3,3 V 20 A
+5 V 20 A
+5 Vsb 2.5 A
-12 V 0.3 A
+12 V gezamelijk 30 A
+12 V1 30 A
scroeffie
Newbie
 
Posts: 71
Joined: 2017-10-12 @ 15:55

Re: pentium 3 isa psu ?

Postby scroeffie » 2017-12-04 @ 10:50

scroeffie
Newbie
 
Posts: 71
Joined: 2017-10-12 @ 15:55

Re: pentium 3 isa psu ?

Postby gdjacobs » 2017-12-04 @ 14:42

These supplies you're posting are all fine. I just wanted to advise you of the potential limitation prior to your final decision.
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t++
 
Posts: 5151
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: pentium 3 isa psu ?

Postby scroeffie » 2017-12-04 @ 15:34

original psu is no brand 235 watt / +3.3v 12A / +5v 18A / +12v 8A / +5vsb 1A / -5v 0.5A / -12v 0.5A
Seasonic S12II Series 520 watt/ +3.3V 24 A / +5V 24 A/ +12V1 20 A / +12V2 20 A / -12V 0.8 A / +5VSB 2.5 A

pentium 3 800mhz /1hdd/1cd rom/1 floppy/2 videocards i think i have a voodoo 2 voodoo 3 and some other cards
and 1 fan thats it
scroeffie
Newbie
 
Posts: 71
Joined: 2017-10-12 @ 15:55

Re: pentium 3 isa psu ?

Postby gdjacobs » 2017-12-04 @ 23:20

Yeah, P3s don't draw that much juice.
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t++
 
Posts: 5151
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: pentium 3 isa psu ?

Postby scroeffie » 2017-12-05 @ 17:08

i just found out i dont have a awe soundcard 32 but just a normal sounblaster 32 ? it as 2 ram sticks and the card is very long
scroeffie
Newbie
 
Posts: 71
Joined: 2017-10-12 @ 15:55

Previous

Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CkRtech, Google [Bot], Justin1091 and 15 guests