Soyo EH-1BC1 motherboard.

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Soyo EH-1BC1 motherboard.

Postby Baoran » 2017-12-23 @ 12:34

Does anyone have any information or pictures of 01/05/1999-VP3-586B-8669-2A5LES2AC-00 Soyo EH-1BC1 motherboard?
Is it socket 7? super socket 7? Is it a standard motherboard size? What expansion slots it has? What cpus does it support?
I would appreciate any information you might have.

Edit: Main reason why I am looking for the information is that I saw this oem pc for sale cheap that has the motheboard. The case of the pc looks really nice, so I would grab it if I knew you can put any standard motherboard inside even if the motherboard and other parts that comes with would not be that useful to me. All the other information is just extra to know if I might also use the motherboard that is already there.
Baoran
Oldbie
 
Posts: 585
Joined: 2017-4-01 @ 08:39
Location: Finland

Re: Soyo EH-1BC1 motherboard.

Postby BeginnerGuy » 2017-12-23 @ 13:25

Any chance its an AT case?

http://www.kva.kursk.ru/bios1/HTML1/soyo.html
Based on this and its bios name it would be a via apollo chipset. The boards that come up with a similar bios string are SS7 with agp ports.

FIC VA-503+ is one that turns up under a 1999 version of that chipset bios.

Via apollo vp3 :
https://www.anandtech.com/show/72/18
Sup. I like computers. Are you a computer?
User avatar
BeginnerGuy
Oldbie
 
Posts: 577
Joined: 2016-12-19 @ 08:32
Location: North Carolina, US

Re: Soyo EH-1BC1 motherboard.

Postby Baoran » 2017-12-23 @ 13:34

Yeah, it is an AT case if standard parts fit in the case.
Baoran
Oldbie
 
Posts: 585
Joined: 2017-4-01 @ 08:39
Location: Finland

Re: Soyo EH-1BC1 motherboard.

Postby Baoran » 2017-12-23 @ 15:43

I bought the pc. It was cheap only 20 euros, so I thought there wasn't too much of a risk. The seller said in the description that system posts but he had not tried to install any OS. Now all I can do is to wait and see what I will get :)
Baoran
Oldbie
 
Posts: 585
Joined: 2017-4-01 @ 08:39
Location: Finland

Re: Soyo EH-1BC1 motherboard.

Postby BeginnerGuy » 2017-12-23 @ 16:24

Baoran wrote:I bought the pc. It was cheap only 20 euros, so I thought there wasn't too much of a risk. The seller said in the description that system posts but he had not tried to install any OS. Now all I can do is to wait and see what I will get :)


I would have bought this too, as I like AT form factor socket 7 stuff. I'm fairly confident you're getting a super socket 7 setup here as well, if that's what you were after.

Post pics when you have it :cool:
Sup. I like computers. Are you a computer?
User avatar
BeginnerGuy
Oldbie
 
Posts: 577
Joined: 2016-12-19 @ 08:32
Location: North Carolina, US

Re: Soyo EH-1BC1 motherboard.

Postby Baoran » 2018-1-02 @ 14:17

I just received the pc today. It seems I was mistaken about the motherboard. I only had a post screen picture from the seller that said EH-1BC1.
The motherboard is actually Soyo SY-5EHM. I found manual here http://www.motherboards.org/files/manua ... hv1310.pdf
It seems that I won't be able to use 1.6V K2-III+ with this motherboardbecause voltage settings are only between 2.0V and 3.5V. Cpu that came with the pc seems to be K6-2 300Mhz

Here are some pictures.

20180102_160002.jpg

20180102_154707.jpg

20180102_154721.jpg


I am still happy about this because the pc was so cheap. Only thing that is missing is the support for 1.6V cpu.
Baoran
Oldbie
 
Posts: 585
Joined: 2017-4-01 @ 08:39
Location: Finland

Re: Soyo EH-1BC1 motherboard.

Postby Baoran » 2018-1-02 @ 14:25

One thing interesting that I noticed is that even though the motherboard seems to be baby-at size, it has both AT and ATX power connectors. First time I have seen that.
It also seems to have ati rage pro turbo graphics card in agp slot.

Anyone has any idea how to recognize what revision this motherboard is?
Baoran
Oldbie
 
Posts: 585
Joined: 2017-4-01 @ 08:39
Location: Finland

Re: Soyo EH-1BC1 motherboard.

Postby oerk » 2018-1-02 @ 15:00

The K6-3+ runs happily with 2V. At least mine does.

And that is a pretty case, looks older than the guts in it. The fake wood panel is a nice touch :)
oerk
Oldbie
 
Posts: 631
Joined: 2014-8-20 @ 09:59

Re: Soyo EH-1BC1 motherboard.

Postby AlaricD » 2018-1-02 @ 15:07

Baoran wrote:
20180102_154707.jpg


Clint (LGR) would probably love that "walnut burl" insert on the case. I know *I* do! Snazzy!
"The Big Bang. The ultimate hero of low frequency. The divine intergalactical bass drum connecting the tribes of our solar system."
Yello
"Solar Driftwood"
User avatar
AlaricD
Member
 
Posts: 145
Joined: 2017-6-28 @ 19:11
Location: Stillwater, America

Re: Soyo EH-1BC1 motherboard.

Postby Baoran » 2018-1-02 @ 15:57

Yeah and when you touch it, the insert has made to feel rough and different from rest of the plastic on the case, so it almost feels like it isn't plastic.
The pc seems to be working fine. Hard drive had NT 4.0 that didn't boot because it said that there was a missing file, but when I installed dos 6.22, everything seems to work fine. The cpu fan sounds like it is going to need a replacement though.

AlaricD wrote:
Baoran wrote:
20180102_154707.jpg


Clint (LGR) would probably love that "walnut burl" insert on the case. I know *I* do! Snazzy!
Baoran
Oldbie
 
Posts: 585
Joined: 2017-4-01 @ 08:39
Location: Finland

Re: Soyo EH-1BC1 motherboard.

Postby Moogle! » 2018-1-03 @ 04:32

Moogle!
Member
 
Posts: 282
Joined: 2008-4-21 @ 01:03

Re: Soyo EH-1BC1 motherboard.

Postby Baoran » 2018-1-03 @ 04:53

Thanks. It helps alot. So it is actually VIA apollo MVP3 chipset.

If I am going to try running 1.6V K3-III+ cpu using 2.0V, Does the cpu/motherboard have any kind of temperature sensor that I could make sure cpu won't be too hot?
Also Could I replace the current cpu fan that has clearly bad bearings with Gelid Silent 5 fan or would it not be powerful enough to keep it cool? The gelid fan is exactly same size and I tested that I could even use the same screws.

Baoran
Oldbie
 
Posts: 585
Joined: 2017-4-01 @ 08:39
Location: Finland

Re: Soyo EH-1BC1 motherboard.

Postby PcBytes » 2018-1-03 @ 19:30

Baoran wrote:One thing interesting that I noticed is that even though the motherboard seems to be baby-at size, it has both AT and ATX power connectors. First time I have seen that.
It also seems to have ati rage pro turbo graphics card in agp slot.

Anyone has any idea how to recognize what revision this motherboard is?

IIRC, most of the MVP3 boards had AT and ATX connectors.

Now I wish I would find a PCChips M577 again, just for the sake of plugging in a Voodoo 3 in it.
R1: Xeon X5450, 8GB RAM DDR2, DFI Lanparty DK P45-T2RS
R2: Core 2 Duo E7600, 1GB DDR2, MSI P35 Neo2 Platinum -FR
R3: Core 2 Duo E6750, 1GB DDR2, ABIT IP35
R4: Pentium Dual Core E2160, 1GB DDR2, ABIT IP35 Pro
R5: Celeron 420, 512MB RAM, ASUS P5K SE\EPU
User avatar
PcBytes
Oldbie
 
Posts: 664
Joined: 2012-12-31 @ 08:32
Location: Bacau,Romania

Re: Soyo EH-1BC1 motherboard.

Postby Baoran » 2018-1-03 @ 20:24

I have actually no idea what revision the motherboard. I found manuals for REV 1.0 and REV 1.3, but neither is a match. It feels like it is even older than REV 1.0 because REV 1.0 has 5 switches for cpu voltage and this motherboard seems to have 6 jumpers instead of those switches.
Baoran
Oldbie
 
Posts: 585
Joined: 2017-4-01 @ 08:39
Location: Finland

Re: Soyo EH-1BC1 motherboard.

Postby Moogle! » 2018-1-04 @ 04:59

Did you check TH99? You want to look for ECS, Amptron, DTK, PC CHIPS as well. SOmetimes they're clones.
Moogle!
Member
 
Posts: 282
Joined: 2008-4-21 @ 01:03

Re: Soyo EH-1BC1 motherboard.

Postby Baoran » 2018-1-04 @ 06:54

After bit of searching, I found a third manual that seems to match. http://www.motherboards.org/files/manua ... m5eh20.pdf as it has those 6 jumpers in JP30 to set voltage for cpu.
anyone has any idea if there is bios update for this motherboard anywhere? Bios ID during boot is 01/05/1999-VP3-586B-8669-2A5LES2AC-00 like I mentioned in the first post.
I found this page https://biosagentplus.com/bios/2A5LES2A?ref=822 that claims to have bios with similar ID but I don't know if that web site is some kind of fake or what.
I assume motherboard would not recognize K6-III or K6-III+ without bios upgrade because bios date is before K6-III was released.
Baoran
Oldbie
 
Posts: 585
Joined: 2017-4-01 @ 08:39
Location: Finland

Re: Soyo EH-1BC1 motherboard.

Postby Baoran » 2018-1-04 @ 09:26

OK. I found this site. http://www.elhvb.com/mobokive/Archive/S ... index.html
are any of these bios files compatible with my motherboard?
Is there any way to check if the bios id in bin file matches the bios id in post screen?
Baoran
Oldbie
 
Posts: 585
Joined: 2017-4-01 @ 08:39
Location: Finland

Re: Soyo EH-1BC1 motherboard.

Postby mario » 2018-2-21 @ 16:35

about voltages ... try to find the datasheet for the voltage regulator IC, I remember I had modified an MVP3 board to use a k6+ by inverting the MSB of VID's, this way the lower voltages of the voltage table are in use. Pay attention ! Bye, Mario
mario
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2018-2-21 @ 15:19

Re: Soyo EH-1BC1 motherboard.

Postby dionb » 2018-2-21 @ 17:00

Baoran wrote:OK. I found this site. http://www.elhvb.com/mobokive/Archive/S ... index.html
are any of these bios files compatible with my motherboard?
Is there any way to check if the bios id in bin file matches the bios id in post screen?

Do you have an EEPROM programmer or the ability (and experience/balls) to hot-flash on another board? If so, don't worry, just try likely ones until you find the one that works ;)

First check is if the size of the image file fits the EEPROM. This board was from just around the time that motherboards were moving from 1Mb to 2Mb EEPROMs, and frequently you see images in both sizes. A 1Mb image can fit on either, but obviously a 2Mb image won't fit on a 1Mb EEPROM. Check the file size in Bytes (so 128kB vs 256kB).

Apart from that see here:
http://web.inter.nl.net/hcc/J.Steunebrink/k6plus.htm
Soyo 5EHM Family-1DA1 05/16/2000 5EH1DA1.BIN There are different versions of the 5EHM. Be sure you get the right BIOS.

So there certainly is K6-3+ support on at least one official BIOS for that board. I'd try this one first.
User avatar
dionb
Oldbie
 
Posts: 736
Joined: 2017-12-23 @ 15:35
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Soyo EH-1BC1 motherboard.

Postby Baoran » 2018-2-21 @ 22:11

I took the risk and I flashed the bios. The bios that was previously in the system was same as in 5eh-1bc1.bin, so based on the naming scheme they seemed to use in their bios files, I flashed 5eh1da1.bin. It seemed to work, but the cpu was only recognized as K6-III instead of K6-III+.
Baoran
Oldbie
 
Posts: 585
Joined: 2017-4-01 @ 08:39
Location: Finland


Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Repo Man11 and 8 guests