VOGONS

First post, by buckeye

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I'm new at testing mobo's out of the case so bear with me here. So far all I have hooked up to it is the ps, keyboard, mouse, monitor & video card. The fans for ps & video card come on but that's it, no beeps, burps nothing. Checked the ps (which is nos) with the paper clip method and it checked out. Tried switching the ram going from SDRAM DDR 133mhz to 100mhz model but no change. Have not hooked up a hard/floppy drive yet as didn't know if that mattered. So before I chunk the mobo here's a checklist:

1. Re-seat everything
2. Clean cpu/ram connections
3. Hook up a floppy drive
4. Try it inside a case. Currently the mobo is on a box, seen others do it.
5. Try a different CPU
6. Anything else???

Something to note. I've been using one of those cheap power "button" switches to start it instead of the "screw driver" method. It's labeled as a reset
switch, does that matter? Sorry for the long post, I finally got a "good" deal on this mobo so really would like it to work.

Asus P5N-E Intel Core 2 Duo 3.33ghz. 4GB DDR2 Geforce 470 1GB SB X-Fi Titanium 650W XP SP3
Intel SE440BX P3 450 256MB 80GB SSD Radeon 7200 64mb SB 32pnp 350W 98SE
MSI x570 Gaming Pro Carbon Ryzen 3700x 32GB DDR4 Zotac RTX 3070 8GB WD Black 1TB 850W

Reply 1 of 6, by SW-SSG

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
buckeye wrote:

5. Try a different CPU

Would try this. My own SE440BX-2 would show the same symptoms (including, interestingly, the CPU fan not spinning) with an old Celeron 333 (which may or may not be broken; I don't have another Slot 1 board to test it on). A P-II 450 and the P-III Katmai 600 I currently have installed have it working properly.

buckeye wrote:

Something to note. I've been using one of those cheap power "button" switches to start it instead of the "screw driver" method. It's labeled as a reset switch, does that matter?

This shouldn't matter, no.

Reply 2 of 6, by dionb

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank