Calling on PSU experts!!!

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Calling on PSU experts!!!

Postby buckeye » 2018-1-26 @ 18:01

Based on the rail ratings any reason this one won't work with slot 1 motherboards? Intel SE440-BX/2 specifically. See attached pic.
Attachments
20180123_182612.jpg
Foxconn Q45M E8400 Core2 Duo 2GB DDR2 800 160GB BFG Geforce 7950GT 512MB 500W XP SP2
Asus P3B-F P3 850 512MB 40GB Hercules 3D Prophet II 64MB Voodoo2 SLI Aureal Vortex 2 400W 98SE
User avatar
buckeye
Member
 
Posts: 387
Joined: 2015-11-04 @ 17:54
Location: Piney Grove, AL

Re: Calling on PSU experts!!!

Postby Radical Vision » 2018-1-26 @ 18:17

If you will use something like PII with not very powerful Video card it will be good for your needs.
Of course this PSU soes not have the best +5V but is ok for PII and something like Coppermine, but Tualatins will need something that have like 25 amps on +5V.
Also if you want to know what to look for older builds look the amps of the +5V on a PSU as that is the raild that old hardware is using.
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
Radical Vision
Member
 
Posts: 348
Joined: 2017-10-30 @ 07:30
Location: The Bat Cave

Re: Calling on PSU experts!!!

Postby firage » 2018-1-26 @ 18:51

^It would've been next to impossible to find a PSU rated that low (18A) in Pentium I-III times, but it'll probably do.
User avatar
firage
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1045
Joined: 2013-1-06 @ 21:43
Location: Finland

Re: Calling on PSU experts!!!

Postby cyclone3d » 2018-1-26 @ 21:36

firage wrote:^It would've been next to impossible to find a PSU rated that low (18A) in Pentium I-III times, but it'll probably do.


At the same time, most of the PSUs back then were super crappy quality-wise and were rated way above what they could actually put out because there were no hardware review sites such as Hardocp.com that actually did any type of real power supply testing.

Even the newer cheapo power supplies are rated for way above what they can actually put out without releasing the magic smoke or having good power regulation overall even at lower power loads.
User avatar
cyclone3d
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1804
Joined: 2015-4-08 @ 06:06
Location: Huntsville, AL USA

Re: Calling on PSU experts!!!

Postby gdjacobs » 2018-1-27 @ 03:44

Call it 10-12 amps total 5V rail draw for a basic Tualatin system including the motherboard, and some peripherals. A high performance video card add significant draw, but comparatively little on the 5V rail.
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t++
 
Posts: 5330
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: Calling on PSU experts!!!

Postby The Serpent Rider » 2018-1-27 @ 05:14

120w for 5v & 3.3v is fine for early Pentium III.
User avatar
The Serpent Rider
Oldbie
 
Posts: 755
Joined: 2017-3-25 @ 19:07
Location: Stagnant Demesne

Re: Calling on PSU experts!!!

Postby buckeye » 2018-1-28 @ 00:03

Well, gave up on the newer Thermaltake and tried the Antec SL350 in my other Win98 rig. Lo and behold, it fired up the 850 P3/SE440-BX2 combo no problem. Below is the rail ratings for the Antec:

+5V - 35A
+12 - 16A
+3.3 - 28A
-5V - 0.5A
-12V - 0.8A
+5VSB - 2.0A

Can anyone tell me which of these enabled the Antec to boot the system where the Thermaltake could not?
Foxconn Q45M E8400 Core2 Duo 2GB DDR2 800 160GB BFG Geforce 7950GT 512MB 500W XP SP2
Asus P3B-F P3 850 512MB 40GB Hercules 3D Prophet II 64MB Voodoo2 SLI Aureal Vortex 2 400W 98SE
User avatar
buckeye
Member
 
Posts: 387
Joined: 2015-11-04 @ 17:54
Location: Piney Grove, AL

Re: Calling on PSU experts!!!

Postby gdjacobs » 2018-1-28 @ 01:12

Have you tried the Thermaltake on another build? Maybe it's just faulty...
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t++
 
Posts: 5330
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: Calling on PSU experts!!!

Postby firage » 2018-1-28 @ 03:54

Could be faulty, could be the cross loading (not enough 12V drawn).
User avatar
firage
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1045
Joined: 2013-1-06 @ 21:43
Location: Finland

Re: Calling on PSU experts!!!

Postby Ozzuneoj » 2018-1-28 @ 05:31

Based on the ratings, that's a horrible power supply. Thermaltake PSUs have basically always been junk unless you bought something very high end. Don't let the enthusiast styling fool you. Seriously, those rails are pathetic for a 350w rated power supply... I wouldn't be surprised if there were leaky caps and missing safety features in that thing.
Time Machine = FIC PA-2013 2.1 - K6-2 500 - 256MB PC-100 - TNT2 Pro 16MB AGP - Labway Yamaha YMF719-E - Midiman MM401
Amibay For Sale Threads
I have lots of PC stuff for sale on Mercari! Get a $10 sign up credit with invite code VBGQMM.
User avatar
Ozzuneoj
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1137
Joined: 2016-3-16 @ 21:33

Re: Calling on PSU experts!!!

Postby Tetrium » 2018-1-29 @ 01:30

buckeye wrote:Well, gave up on the newer Thermaltake and tried the Antec SL350 in my other Win98 rig. Lo and behold, it fired up the 850 P3/SE440-BX2 combo no problem. Below is the rail ratings for the Antec:

+5V - 35A
+12 - 16A
+3.3 - 28A
-5V - 0.5A
-12V - 0.8A
+5VSB - 2.0A

Can anyone tell me which of these enabled the Antec to boot the system where the Thermaltake could not?

Like others have said, it's possible your other PSU is defective. The crossload thingy may also be the culprit.

This Antec has rails that look almost perfect for even an Athlon XP :D
Personally I've never used PSUs on anything s370 or Slot 1 with less then 25A on the 5v line, unless it had very few parts or some really low-power parts (like a Virge or something lol)
User avatar
Tetrium
l33t++
 
Posts: 7586
Joined: 2010-1-27 @ 18:53
Location: Netherlands

Re: Calling on PSU experts!!!

Postby gdjacobs » 2018-1-29 @ 01:54

I run my Ezra Slot 1 build with a lower capacity PSU, but it could probably be powered by a hamster wheel.
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t++
 
Posts: 5330
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: Calling on PSU experts!!!

Postby Cyberdyne » 2018-1-29 @ 07:27

Strange thing is, that i have had never no problems, with using some cheap crappy noname(Codegen) 250-350W ATX PSU-s with all my retro computers, from 486 to Pentium 3. Come on, CPU wattage went up high in Pentium 4 AMD Athlon era, not tulatin era, and i usually use maximum Geforce TNT2M64, MX or FX5200 video cards....
I am aroused about any X86 stuff that has full functional ISA stuff. I think i have problem.
User avatar
Cyberdyne
Member
 
Posts: 289
Joined: 2011-9-18 @ 18:45
Location: Estonia, Tallinn

Re: Calling on PSU experts!!!

Postby CkRtech » 2018-1-29 @ 07:53

There is a bit of a grey cloud representing the phrase "it works" for a given PSU. There could be a noisy PSU that meets the power draw requirements and the components seem to handle everything OK. There could also be a rather barebones PSU that works and has no protection inside. There could be a PSU that is delivering more current than it should be yet still seems to function.

Each one of those scenarios can go from benign to nightmare at any point. So it just depends on how lucky one feels.
User avatar
CkRtech
Oldbie
 
Posts: 590
Joined: 2014-8-23 @ 00:54
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: Calling on PSU experts!!!

Postby Tetrium » 2018-1-29 @ 09:07

CkRtech wrote:There is a bit of a grey cloud representing the phrase "it works" for a given PSU. There could be a noisy PSU that meets the power draw requirements and the components seem to handle everything OK. There could also be a rather barebones PSU that works and has no protection inside. There could be a PSU that is delivering more current than it should be yet still seems to function.

Each one of those scenarios can go from benign to nightmare at any point. So it just depends on how lucky one feels.

I've had the same with people telling me their PC worked "just fine" with that PSU.
I was always of the more safe approach. And besides, back then it was easy to find any ATX PSU that had at least 25A on the 5v line, so why not use them?
I tended to mostly use FSP as these were cheap and many people didn't realize this and wanted Antec. And FSP was used in many OEMs so easy to find as well.
User avatar
Tetrium
l33t++
 
Posts: 7586
Joined: 2010-1-27 @ 18:53
Location: Netherlands

Re: Calling on PSU experts!!!

Postby Radical Vision » 2018-1-29 @ 09:47

FSP PSU are builded well, but only problem on them is the trash capacitors, that when they are not even leaked, they start to make problems, restarting, no stability, as the caps have lost their spec long time ago, and now they stay in the PSU only for decoration, not to do any real work, and that is not 1,2 or 3 units i faced so far, they are all like that. So better is to use Delta units that have 100% japan caps, or Enermax, as Enermax have also trash capacitors, but they seems to be build very well, so that does not make problems even after so many years...
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
Radical Vision
Member
 
Posts: 348
Joined: 2017-10-30 @ 07:30
Location: The Bat Cave

Re: Calling on PSU experts!!!

Postby The Serpent Rider » 2018-1-29 @ 10:17

Thermaltake PSUs

They're just rebranded PSUs from multiple companies with varying quality. Personally I use Thermaltake XP480 and XP550 PSUs for old hardware, which are good 250W-300W rebranded HEC PSUs.
User avatar
The Serpent Rider
Oldbie
 
Posts: 755
Joined: 2017-3-25 @ 19:07
Location: Stagnant Demesne

Re: Calling on PSU experts!!!

Postby buckeye » 2018-2-05 @ 15:52

buckeye wrote:Well, gave up on the newer Thermaltake and tried the Antec SL350 in my other Win98 rig. Lo and behold, it fired up the 850 P3/SE440-BX2 combo no problem. Below is the rail ratings for the Antec:

+5V - 35A
+12 - 16A
+3.3 - 28A
-5V - 0.5A
-12V - 0.8A
+5VSB - 2.0A

Can anyone tell me which of these enabled the Antec to boot the system where the Thermaltake could not?


More confusion/frustration! Just a bought a Antec SL400 with the same specs as above except:

+5V - 38A
+12V - 18A

Wont fire up the SE440-BX2/P3 850 config. Psu & gpu fans run but as for the cpu - nothing. Now here's the kicker, hooked up the same psu to my other win98 system (see sig) and it fired up no problem. This is really turning into a "crap shoot". So my solution right now is just swap psu's but would like to know why it's working out like this. Is the Intel SE440-BX2 picky when it comes to power supplies?
Foxconn Q45M E8400 Core2 Duo 2GB DDR2 800 160GB BFG Geforce 7950GT 512MB 500W XP SP2
Asus P3B-F P3 850 512MB 40GB Hercules 3D Prophet II 64MB Voodoo2 SLI Aureal Vortex 2 400W 98SE
User avatar
buckeye
Member
 
Posts: 387
Joined: 2015-11-04 @ 17:54
Location: Piney Grove, AL

Re: Calling on PSU experts!!!

Postby bjwil1991 » 2018-2-05 @ 16:53

Check the capacitors to see if they bulged or spewed electrolytic on the board (or on top of the caps), check for cold or cracked solder points and reflow with fresh solder if needed. My i430TX Socket 7 board does that sometimes as well, but, I'm planning on installing the 24-pin ATX without the -5v to 20-pin ATX with the -5v for certain ISA cards, as well as some chipsets into the system and see what happens. I did test the voltage on the PSU, and it passed with flying colors.
C64, WheelWriter 10 Series II QuietWriter 8, Pack-Mate 28 Plus, K6-2/300, Pavilion N3350, iMac G3 & G4, Socket 370, 2x Inspiron 600m, Athlon 64, Dimension 4550 & E510, ThinkPad R40, Presario C700, ASUS X54C, Raspberry Pi B+, 2B-3B+, Custom FX-6300
User avatar
bjwil1991
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1389
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: United States of America

Re: Calling on PSU experts!!!

Postby cyclone3d » 2018-2-05 @ 17:51

Definitely check the caps on that Antec PSU. I used to use Antec pretty much exclusively until they all started having problems with the caps.

The ones I fixed have not given me any more problems, but I had to run wires in order to use larger sized caps in some of them because of the crappy smaller than normal caps that were used and I was unable to find any good caps that would fit in the original location.
User avatar
cyclone3d
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1804
Joined: 2015-4-08 @ 06:06
Location: Huntsville, AL USA


Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Errius, fitzpatr, krivulak, the_ultra_code, timitt and 11 guests