VOGONS

First post, by cabezonnor

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Hi guys!

First of all, sorry for my crappy english, I'm from Chile. Second i've been reading a lot of material here and you have a really awesome community here, congrats!

Now i have a little question. I'm a retro tech and retro game enthusiast, but in my country i don't have so many options to buy hardware, so I dig a lot to build a system to run primarily
old games like: Carmageddon 2, AoE2, Doom, Doom2, Need for speed II, Commandos, Duke 3d, Red Alert, etc.

And i wonder if this PC can handle those games in a Win98 SE enviroment well. These are the specs.

CPU: AMD Athlon Xp 1600+ (1.4 ghz)
MB: MSI KT4V Agp
RAM: 256 MB
GPU: Riva TNT2 M64 or Geforce 2 MX400 32 MB
HDD: 40 GB IDE
SCREEN: Sony Vaio LCD 17" VGA 4:3

Please guys, if you have some advices or anything i will be very happy.

Thanks a lot!

AMD Athlon XP 1600+ 1400mhz / MSI KT2 VIA VT8366A / 256 MB PC2100 DDR SDRAM / Nvidia Geforce 3 / Soundblaster Live! / SB Audigy front panel / SONY SDM-S71 17" LCD / Win 98 SE

Reply 1 of 14, by Baoran

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Generally you want to play dos games in ms-dos mode in win98se too and they work as well as in normal dos. Old windows games are also going to work fine in that system.

Reply 3 of 14, by Tetrium

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

I'd pick the GF2MX over the TNT2 M64. The TNT2 M64 is more suited for something like a Pentium 2.
The hardware seems like a good balance 😀

I've build a couple systems in the past that were roughly similar.
The GF2MX seems a bit underpowered compared to the rest of your hardware, but it should work fine for your intentions.

And welcome to Vogons, enjoy your stay and don't forget to take pics! 😁

Whats missing in your collections?
My retro rigs (old topic)
Interesting Vogons threads (links to Vogonswiki)
Report spammers here!

Reply 4 of 14, by nforce4max

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t