Atek (Lucent Chipset) Modem with no drivers... problem?

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Atek (Lucent Chipset) Modem with no drivers... problem?

Postby Gahhhrrrlic » 2018-2-02 @ 16:03

I've gotten very used to the fact that any no-name modem I've ever owned has installed itself on any Windows system because the drivers are so generic that any driver will work with any modem as long as it can issue the AT commands to dial and communicate. I assume there isn't much proprietary about this process... Unfortunately this was always handled by Windows Updates or something.

On windows 3.X I guess I need drivers as usual but I just can't find any for this card. I tried some random drivers but the setup wanted to detect its own brand of card so that was a no-go.

Anybody know a way around this, like some generic drivers that don't care what card is plugged in? I just need basic modem functionality so I can connect to the internet, maybe some multiplayer gaming and using Cheyenne Bitware for fax/phone lol.
Gahhhrrrlic
Member
 
Posts: 204
Joined: 2017-12-05 @ 00:39

Re: Atek (Lucent Chipset) Modem with no drivers... problem?

Postby dionb » 2018-2-02 @ 17:17

Exactly which Lucent chipset does this thing have?

Lucent was known for some of the better (less completly crap) 'Winmodem' designs. As the CPU needs to do some of the processing, drivers are most definitely not generic in that case. This site may give you some info, but again, the exact chipset is vital to know which driver you need:
http://modemsite.com/56k/ltwin.asp
User avatar
dionb
Oldbie
 
Posts: 564
Joined: 2017-12-23 @ 15:35
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Atek (Lucent Chipset) Modem with no drivers... problem?

Postby Gahhhrrrlic » 2018-2-02 @ 17:36

Understood. I can check as soon as I get home from work. It had a particularly annoyingly hard to remember model code but IIRC was something like 56010 with an alpha character in there somewhere like 56010L or something. Also I have a sinking feeling that despite being ISA, it only has win95 or higher drivers support. I'll check the model though.

I can never tell by inspection whether it's a software or hardware modem. I do know it has jumpered IRQ and memory pins on it, a gigantic Lucent chip and a POTS style transformer, so maybe it's not a winmodem?
Gahhhrrrlic
Member
 
Posts: 204
Joined: 2017-12-05 @ 00:39

Re: Atek (Lucent Chipset) Modem with no drivers... problem?

Postby dionb » 2018-2-02 @ 19:27

Winmodems tend to be PCI, and IRQ pins sound reassuringly non-PnP ISA, so I'd be surprised if it was one, or if it only had >=Win95 support, but the model code of the chip should clear this up - and regardless of whether it is a Winmodem or not it should help search for drivers.
User avatar
dionb
Oldbie
 
Posts: 564
Joined: 2017-12-23 @ 15:35
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Atek (Lucent Chipset) Modem with no drivers... problem?

Postby Gahhhrrrlic » 2018-2-02 @ 22:07

dionb wrote:Winmodems tend to be PCI, and IRQ pins sound reassuringly non-PnP ISA, so I'd be surprised if it was one, or if it only had >=Win95 support, but the model code of the chip should clear this up - and regardless of whether it is a Winmodem or not it should help search for drivers.



It's this one (already tried to download last night but the download was removed):

http://www.modem-drivers.com/drivers/8/8847.htm
Gahhhrrrlic
Member
 
Posts: 204
Joined: 2017-12-05 @ 00:39

Re: Atek (Lucent Chipset) Modem with no drivers... problem?

Postby dionb » 2018-2-02 @ 22:25

Having a bit of trouble identifying stuff, but it looks like this is the same card (just different vendor), in which case is should be doable:
https://www.manualslib.com/manual/1556/ ... =14#manual

All you need for DOS or Win3.1 is a single DOS executable which reads/sets base I/O and IRQ. It can be downloaded here:
http://www.driverguide.com/driver/detai ... erid=22602
(can't check functionality, but it doesn't scan as a virus and is a bona-fide 16b DOS executable)
User avatar
dionb
Oldbie
 
Posts: 564
Joined: 2017-12-23 @ 15:35
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Atek (Lucent Chipset) Modem with no drivers... problem?

Postby Gahhhrrrlic » 2018-2-03 @ 02:13

dionb wrote:Having a bit of trouble identifying stuff, but it looks like this is the same card (just different vendor), in which case is should be doable:
https://www.manualslib.com/manual/1556/ ... =14#manual

All you need for DOS or Win3.1 is a single DOS executable which reads/sets base I/O and IRQ. It can be downloaded here:
http://www.driverguide.com/driver/detai ... erid=22602
(can't check functionality, but it doesn't scan as a virus and is a bona-fide 16b DOS executable)


Hmm... it didn't work but I think it's scanning a PCI bus that isn't there for PnP devices that aren't connected. The error says "No PCI V.90 Data/Fax Modem has been found"
Gahhhrrrlic
Member
 
Posts: 204
Joined: 2017-12-05 @ 00:39

Re: Atek (Lucent Chipset) Modem with no drivers... problem?

Postby Gahhhrrrlic » 2018-2-03 @ 23:02

No dice... can't seem to find the isa version of this. I'll probably end up buying a cheapo card that has drivers available if I can't make any further headway.
Gahhhrrrlic
Member
 
Posts: 204
Joined: 2017-12-05 @ 00:39


Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ajacocks, fitzpatr, m1919, mockingbird, Solarstrike and 10 guests