Anyone got a ZIDA 4DPS Tomatoboard ? Need help

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Anyone got a ZIDA 4DPS Tomatoboard ? Need help

Postby Pabloz » 2018-2-06 @ 22:51

I got this socket 3 motherboard

ZIDA 4dps

It is a beauty. i never had a small compact board with PCI and ISA, it also accepts amd x5 133 i belive, and only takes FPM ram.

I have not tested it yet, but upon examination i did find some things broken, and i need advice on what those parts are in order to buy replacements.

this is the full board

Image


these 2 are the broken components:

Image


From what i understant the first one is a ceramic capacitor
Capacitor (472)
4700 pF
[4.7 nF]

The other one is a diode, somehow it has a broken leg, and maybe broken in the inside too,
but i have no clue on what diode i need to replace it with.

can anyone help?
Pabloz
Member
 
Posts: 208
Joined: 2017-4-22 @ 22:36

Re: Anyone got a ZIDA 4DPS Tomatoboard ? Need help

Postby quicknick » 2018-2-06 @ 22:56

1N4148 or any small signal diode should work.
User avatar
quicknick
Newbie
 
Posts: 78
Joined: 2017-10-30 @ 23:53

Re: Anyone got a ZIDA 4DPS Tomatoboard ? Need help

Postby Pabloz » 2018-2-07 @ 00:23

quicknick wrote:1N4148 or any small signal diode should work.


are you 101% sure it will not ruin the board?
Pabloz
Member
 
Posts: 208
Joined: 2017-4-22 @ 22:36

Re: Anyone got a ZIDA 4DPS Tomatoboard ? Need help

Postby SSTV2 » 2018-2-07 @ 00:38

If cap plates are not separated it's still good and D4 is 1N4148.
User avatar
SSTV2
Member
 
Posts: 150
Joined: 2014-11-19 @ 20:30

Re: Anyone got a ZIDA 4DPS Tomatoboard ? Need help

Postby Pabloz » 2018-2-07 @ 06:23

thanks guys

i replaced the diode. the board had the fpm 8meg memory on upper slot. did not boot
changed memory to down slot and booted bunch of times

then changed to 16mb fpm memory and did not want to boot. tried like 30 times and did not boot nor gave video signal
even changing to the original memory and it did not post.

another lottery boot motherboard?

after hours i was able to boot using a 4mb fpm stick

should i replace all caps? its strange that it did not post,not even with the original memory that worked
Pabloz
Member
 
Posts: 208
Joined: 2017-4-22 @ 22:36

Re: Anyone got a ZIDA 4DPS Tomatoboard ? Need help

Postby bjwil1991 » 2018-2-07 @ 20:38

Check for cold or cracked solder points as well. I'd replace that one tantalum (tantrum) cap by the ISA slot, if I were you.
C64, WheelWriter 10 Series II QuietWriter 8, Pack-Mate 28 Plus, K6-2/300, Pavilion N3350, iMac G3 & G4, Socket 370, 2x Inspiron 600m, Athlon 64, Dimension 4550 & E510, ThinkPad R40, Presario C700, ASUS X54C, Raspberry Pi B+, 2B-3B+, Custom FX-6300
User avatar
bjwil1991
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1219
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: United States of America

Re: Anyone got a ZIDA 4DPS Tomatoboard ? Need help

Postby Pabloz » 2018-2-09 @ 03:17

i was able to get it up and running nicely
the problem was the memory

the board is only compatible with FPM memory ,but even using that memory is a lottery
because i got a bunch of FPM 16mb memory with chips on one side and it refused to boot

but using FPM memory with chips on both sides i was able to reach a total of 32mb
very nice board
Pabloz
Member
 
Posts: 208
Joined: 2017-4-22 @ 22:36


Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: furan, grjr, quicknick and 8 guests