Where's the CMOS Battery?

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Re: Where's the CMOS Battery?

Postby Gahhhrrrlic » 2018-2-15 @ 18:13

badmojo wrote:
Jed118 wrote:That's quite a good repair. The 486 I'm bidding on now has that same problem, but the RTC is facing a resistor pack. I would have done it your way if I could.


Thanks and yes I got lucky with the placement. It's still kicking with that battery I put in originally.


I'm half tempted to just mail my board to one of you guys and pay you to do it for me :P You both seem to have the skills that I surely don't.
Gahhhrrrlic
Member
 
Posts: 257
Joined: 2017-12-05 @ 00:39

Re: Where's the CMOS Battery?

Postby Gahhhrrrlic » 2018-2-15 @ 18:15

Slight de-railment:

This board... it says in the specs that it supports USB. There's supposed to be a header on the board somewhere but I'll be damned if I can find it. Should be 4 pins. Has anybody ever connected USB on these things? That would be cool huhuhuhh (in traditional Butthead voice).
Gahhhrrrlic
Member
 
Posts: 257
Joined: 2017-12-05 @ 00:39

Re: Where's the CMOS Battery?

Postby meljor » 2018-2-15 @ 19:36

According to the manual it should be j10 and j11 (close to the keyboard connector).

Finding the right pinout can be a challenge but usb support is there.
asus tx97-e, 233mmx, voodoo1, s3 virge ,sb16
asus p5a, k6-3+ @ 550mhz, voodoo2 12mb sli, gf2 gts, awe32
asus p3b-f, p3-700, voodoo3 3500TV agp, awe64
asus tusl2-c, p3-S 1,4ghz, voodoo5 5500, live!
asus a7n8x DL, barton cpu, 6800ultra, Voodoo3 pci, audigy1
meljor
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1552
Joined: 2014-4-30 @ 19:43
Location: Netherlands

Re: Where's the CMOS Battery?

Postby ibmapc » 2018-2-15 @ 19:55

Gahhhrrrlic wrote:Slight de-railment:

This board... it says in the specs that it supports USB. There's supposed to be a header on the board somewhere but I'll be damned if I can find it. Should be 4 pins. Has anybody ever connected USB on these things? That would be cool huhuhuhh (in traditional Butthead voice).


Have a look at http://www.uncreativelabs.de/th99/m/A-B/34328.htm
User avatar
ibmapc
Newbie
 
Posts: 26
Joined: 2018-1-26 @ 19:02

Re: Where's the CMOS Battery?

Postby Jed118 » 2018-2-15 @ 22:33

Gahhhrrrlic wrote:
badmojo wrote:
Jed118 wrote:That's quite a good repair. The 486 I'm bidding on now has that same problem, but the RTC is facing a resistor pack. I would have done it your way if I could.


Thanks and yes I got lucky with the placement. It's still kicking with that battery I put in originally.


I'm half tempted to just mail my board to one of you guys and pay you to do it for me :P You both seem to have the skills that I surely don't.


I'm in Toronto, Ontario. I'll do it for a pint ;)
Jed118
Member
 
Posts: 321
Joined: 2015-2-03 @ 17:15

Re: Where's the CMOS Battery?

Postby Gahhhrrrlic » 2018-2-16 @ 00:49

Wut?? Wait. How do you know I'm in Toronto?

Meljor/IBMaPC: I will surely check again but I looked at a schematic for the board, saw the location it should be in but there was nothing there. I'm going to check again.
Gahhhrrrlic
Member
 
Posts: 257
Joined: 2017-12-05 @ 00:39

Re: Where's the CMOS Battery?

Postby ibmapc » 2018-2-16 @ 01:12

Gahhhrrrlic wrote:...Meljor/IBMaPC: I will surely check again but I looked at a schematic for the board, saw the location it should be in but there was nothing there. I'm going to check again.

I drew a red oval on the picture you provided. There are two four pin headers right next to each other. In fact they look like one 8 pin header.
i430VX.jpg
User avatar
ibmapc
Newbie
 
Posts: 26
Joined: 2018-1-26 @ 19:02

Re: Where's the CMOS Battery?

Postby Gahhhrrrlic » 2018-2-16 @ 02:51

ibmapc wrote:
Gahhhrrrlic wrote:...Meljor/IBMaPC: I will surely check again but I looked at a schematic for the board, saw the location it should be in but there was nothing there. I'm going to check again.

I drew a red oval on the picture you provided. There are two four pin headers right next to each other. In fact they look like one 8 pin header.
i430VX.jpg


Found it. I can tell you why I never saw it before. 1) it was completely hidden under the ribbon cables and back plate I had installed there. Moved the plate down 1 pci slot. 2) There's no label on the MB! It does not say J10 J11. I can understand why though. It's too crowded for the silk screening to be legible if they tried. Well anyway this ought to be fun (enabling USB on such an old POS). That is, once I scrape the battery out of the RTL chip (or get my new best friend to do it for beer :D )
Gahhhrrrlic
Member
 
Posts: 257
Joined: 2017-12-05 @ 00:39

Re: Where's the CMOS Battery?

Postby derSammler » 2018-2-16 @ 10:16

USB of i430VX is version 1.0. Just forget about it, as you won't find any device that will work. USB 1.0 is not compatible with 1.1, but 1.1 is the lowest that 99.9% of all devices do.
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1779
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: Where's the CMOS Battery?

Postby heretic » 2018-2-16 @ 11:14

I had the same issue on GA-586HX. Ended up replacing this Dallas chip with a new one.
heretic
Newbie
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 2013-9-25 @ 18:11

Re: Where's the CMOS Battery?

Postby Gahhhrrrlic » 2018-2-16 @ 13:58

derSammler wrote:USB of i430VX is version 1.0. Just forget about it, as you won't find any device that will work. USB 1.0 is not compatible with 1.1, but 1.1 is the lowest that 99.9% of all devices do.


So nothing is backwards compatible with it? I don't care about speed but I figured it would at least work.
Gahhhrrrlic
Member
 
Posts: 257
Joined: 2017-12-05 @ 00:39

Re: Where's the CMOS Battery?

Postby derSammler » 2018-2-16 @ 14:00

No, I even tried very old USB sticks with just 128 MB - but even those required USB 1.1 and did not work with 1.0. Wasted days with that sh*t and ended up installing a USB 2.0 PCI card.
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1779
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: Where's the CMOS Battery?

Postby Skyscraper » 2018-2-16 @ 14:13

My Intel pr440fx has USB 1.0 and it reads files from USB sticks perfectly fine. It flakes out while writing individual files larger than about one megabyte to an USB stick in Wndows NT4 but that could very well be because the USB stack is from some sort of Web camera driver package or the like.
Last edited by Skyscraper on 2018-2-17 @ 21:16, edited 1 time in total.
Main PC: Dual Xeon X5690@4.6ghz, Evga - SR-2, 48gb memory, Intel X25-M g2 SSD and a Nvidia GTX 980 ti.
Retro PC #3: K6-2 450@500mhz, PC-Chips m577, 256mb sdram, AWE64 and a Voodoo Banshee.
Skyscraper
l33t
 
Posts: 3353
Joined: 2013-9-18 @ 15:36
Location: Sweden

Re: Where's the CMOS Battery?

Postby Jed118 » 2018-2-17 @ 03:10

Haha actually I just responded to your PM! I know you're in Toronto NOW HAHAHHA!

I'm in Brampton, but I work in Toronto. PM me your cell # and we'll see if we can meet up. Always nice to find a local :D
Jed118
Member
 
Posts: 321
Joined: 2015-2-03 @ 17:15

Previous

Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dickkickem, Dragon Caesar, kjliew and 3 guests