RAM for PowerMac G5 1,8Ghz DP and some Questions..

Discussion about old PC hardware.

RAM for PowerMac G5 1,8Ghz DP and some Questions..

Postby matze79 » 2018-3-05 @ 12:37

Hi,

i have a PowerMac G5 1,8Ghz DP (One CPU is missing.)

PCI-X and AGP. 4 Ram Slots. ATI 9600XT 256Mb, 3Gb DDR1.

Does anyone know if it will run 8Gb RAM ? 4x2Gb ECC DDR1 ?

I also have Leopard Image, but have no DL Layer DVD-R,
is it possible to create a Bootable USB Stick ?

I tried already to write the ISO with Transmac, unfortunaly it does not boot from OBP.
USB Device is listed, and it tries to load Stuff.
But then it goes back to the "Can't load Icon"

I'm currently running Ubuntu 16.04 on it.

i also compiled lwgl and can run Minecraft now.. but IBM Power4 32bit Java is slow as hell... :)
Don't know why Java is slow... even a PIII 1Ghz does better.

Thanks

Matthias
https://www.dosreloaded.de - The German Retro DOS PC Community
https://www.retroianer.de
matze79
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1173
Joined: 2014-12-12 @ 14:25
Location: Germany, Frankonia

Re: RAM for PowerMac G5 1,8Ghz DP and some Questions..

Postby bjwil1991 » 2018-3-05 @ 15:00

https://everymac.com/systems/apple/powe ... .8_dp.html

And it looks like 8x1GB DDR memory is supported only (if my memory serves me right as I've never owned one at all), but, yes, you can put 8GB RAM in there.
C64, WheelWriter 10 Series II QuietWriter 8, Pack-Mate 28 Plus, K6-2/300, Pavilion N3350, iMac G3 & G4, Socket 462, 2x Inspiron 600m, Athlon 64, Dimension 4550 & E510, ThinkPad R40, Presario C700, ASUS X54C, Raspberry Pi B+, 2B-3B+, Custom FX-6300
User avatar
bjwil1991
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1969
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: SE, MI USA

Re: RAM for PowerMac G5 1,8Ghz DP and some Questions..

Postby lazibayer » 2018-3-05 @ 15:14

For RAM, I think you can only max it out at 4x1GB. Not sure about the ECC part.
https://everymac.com/systems/apple/powe ... slots.html

For OS, this method looks plausible, though I didn't try it. You might need another working mac.
https://gwhiz.wordpress.com/2006/09/21/ ... -from-dmg/
User avatar
lazibayer
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1064
Joined: 2014-10-21 @ 21:16

Re: RAM for PowerMac G5 1,8Ghz DP and some Questions..

Postby bjwil1991 » 2018-3-05 @ 15:30

His PowerMac G5 has the PCI-X slots, not PCI, which supports 8x1GB RAM.
C64, WheelWriter 10 Series II QuietWriter 8, Pack-Mate 28 Plus, K6-2/300, Pavilion N3350, iMac G3 & G4, Socket 462, 2x Inspiron 600m, Athlon 64, Dimension 4550 & E510, ThinkPad R40, Presario C700, ASUS X54C, Raspberry Pi B+, 2B-3B+, Custom FX-6300
User avatar
bjwil1991
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1969
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: SE, MI USA

Re: RAM for PowerMac G5 1,8Ghz DP and some Questions..

Postby lazibayer » 2018-3-05 @ 15:38

The OP explicitly said 4 RAM slots. AFAIK only the last generation G5 with PCI-E slots can support single 2GB sticks, in DDR2, with processors faster than 2GHz DC.
I know PCI-X models should have 8 RAM slots but I tend to believe the OP did a better job at counting RAM slots than telling the difference between PCI and PCI-X.
User avatar
lazibayer
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1064
Joined: 2014-10-21 @ 21:16

Re: RAM for PowerMac G5 1,8Ghz DP and some Questions..

Postby matze79 » 2018-3-05 @ 15:55

It has 4 RAM Slots and PCI-X for sure :)

Apple says ECC RAM is ok, but i can't find Information about DIMM Size.
Also 8Gb supported.. but i have only 4 DIMM Slots :O

EDIT: only DDR2 Models support ECC ?

Seems Page Information is incomplete ^^

Too bad i have no ECC RAM to try it.
Attachments
m3.jpg
m2.jpg
m1.jpg
https://www.dosreloaded.de - The German Retro DOS PC Community
https://www.retroianer.de
matze79
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1173
Joined: 2014-12-12 @ 14:25
Location: Germany, Frankonia

Re: RAM for PowerMac G5 1,8Ghz DP and some Questions..

Postby lazibayer » 2018-3-05 @ 16:17

matze79 wrote:It has 4 RAM Slots and PCI-X for sure :)

Apple says ECC RAM is ok, but i can't find Information about DIMM Size.
Also 8Gb supported.. but i have only 4 DIMM Slots :O

EDIT: only DDR2 Models support ECC ?

Seems Page Information is incomplete ^^

Too bad i have no ECC RAM to try it.


I reckon those are PCI slots. They are 3.3V 64bit PCI slots and have the same appearance as 64bit PCI-X slots.
User avatar
lazibayer
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1064
Joined: 2014-10-21 @ 21:16

Re: RAM for PowerMac G5 1,8Ghz DP and some Questions..

Postby matze79 » 2018-3-05 @ 16:30

So you mean only 32bit Part is connected ? hmm (EDIT: full 64bit is connected)

PCI-X = 64bit PCI or not ?

Where is the difference ? PCI-X vs 64bit PCI ?
https://www.dosreloaded.de - The German Retro DOS PC Community
https://www.retroianer.de
matze79
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1173
Joined: 2014-12-12 @ 14:25
Location: Germany, Frankonia

Re: RAM for PowerMac G5 1,8Ghz DP and some Questions..

Postby bjwil1991 » 2018-3-05 @ 17:52

PCI-X is a 64-bit data bus that is backwards compatible with 32-bit PCI cards and supports the following voltages: 3.3V, 5V, or both (universal), depending on the slot itself as displayed on this site: https://superuser.com/questions/384640/ ... pci-x-slot

Image

There is no difference (generally) between PCI 64-bit and PCI-X in a matter of speaking.
C64, WheelWriter 10 Series II QuietWriter 8, Pack-Mate 28 Plus, K6-2/300, Pavilion N3350, iMac G3 & G4, Socket 462, 2x Inspiron 600m, Athlon 64, Dimension 4550 & E510, ThinkPad R40, Presario C700, ASUS X54C, Raspberry Pi B+, 2B-3B+, Custom FX-6300
User avatar
bjwil1991
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1969
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: SE, MI USA

Re: RAM for PowerMac G5 1,8Ghz DP and some Questions..

Postby lazibayer » 2018-3-05 @ 19:01

matze79 wrote:So you mean only 32bit Part is connected ? hmm (EDIT: full 64bit is connected)

PCI-X = 64bit PCI or not ?

Where is the difference ? PCI-X vs 64bit PCI ?


Conventional PCI tops at 66MHz 64bit, and PCI-X 1.0 pushed that limit to 133MHz 64bit.
PCI-X differs from PCI in more aspects than speed and bandwidth. It added split-response mechanism, message signaled interrupts and registered i/o on top of the conventional PCI.
User avatar
lazibayer
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1064
Joined: 2014-10-21 @ 21:16

Re: RAM for PowerMac G5 1,8Ghz DP and some Questions..

Postby nforce4max » 2018-3-05 @ 19:50

OCZ Platinums have been a default choice amongst some in the ppc mac community but anything with good timings and automatically works at those timings is a good choice as you will get a little bit of extra bandwidth which does help.
On a far away planet reading your posts in the year 10,191.
User avatar
nforce4max
l33t
 
Posts: 2445
Joined: 2012-5-05 @ 22:55

Re: RAM for PowerMac G5 1,8Ghz DP and some Questions..

Postby matze79 » 2018-3-06 @ 11:58

Maybe i can solder in the 4 Missing RAM Slots, or is it limited by chipset ?

Can i also put in a 2Ghz CPU and run it at 1.8Ghz? or do i need 100% matched pairs ?

i always wanted a IBM Power4/5 Machine, and a G5 is the cheapest option i found :)
Anyone knows if it will run AIX too ?
https://www.dosreloaded.de - The German Retro DOS PC Community
https://www.retroianer.de
matze79
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1173
Joined: 2014-12-12 @ 14:25
Location: Germany, Frankonia

Re: RAM for PowerMac G5 1,8Ghz DP and some Questions..

Postby PTherapist » 2018-3-06 @ 12:46

matze79 wrote:Anyone knows if it will run AIX too ?


It won't. It's not a Power 4/5 machine, despite similar CPU.

There are Linux distributions available, as well as flavours of OpenBSD and freeBSD. But generally Mac OS X is about the best and most supported OS you can run on it.
PTherapist
Member
 
Posts: 262
Joined: 2017-3-24 @ 02:00

Re: RAM for PowerMac G5 1,8Ghz DP and some Questions..

Postby matze79 » 2018-3-08 @ 12:28

I installed tiger, but its pretty hard to source software except Opensource Stuff you can compile yourself.

What about Gaming on G5 ?

Is there something else then Doom 3 and Quake ? :D
https://www.dosreloaded.de - The German Retro DOS PC Community
https://www.retroianer.de
matze79
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1173
Joined: 2014-12-12 @ 14:25
Location: Germany, Frankonia

Re: RAM for PowerMac G5 1,8Ghz DP and some Questions..

Postby lazibayer » 2018-3-08 @ 16:13

matze79 wrote:I installed tiger, but its pretty hard to source software except Opensource Stuff you can compile yourself.

What about Gaming on G5 ?

Is there something else then Doom 3 and Quake ? :D


I played Warcraft3 on G4 and G5.
With Tiger you can run OS9 games in classic mode.
User avatar
lazibayer
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1064
Joined: 2014-10-21 @ 21:16

Re: RAM for PowerMac G5 1,8Ghz DP and some Questions..

Postby matze79 » 2018-3-08 @ 16:37

thats why i installed tiger :)

What about Apple Only Games for OSX ?

Whats Apple's Halo ?
https://www.dosreloaded.de - The German Retro DOS PC Community
https://www.retroianer.de
matze79
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1173
Joined: 2014-12-12 @ 14:25
Location: Germany, Frankonia

Re: RAM for PowerMac G5 1,8Ghz DP and some Questions..

Postby lazibayer » 2018-3-08 @ 16:54

matze79 wrote:thats why i installed tiger :)

What about Apple Only Games for OSX ?

Whats Apple's Halo ?


Check the requirements. If it says Intel-only then no-go.
Halo CE has official support for PPC so should be good. Halo2 has unofficial PPC port so might be good.
User avatar
lazibayer
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1064
Joined: 2014-10-21 @ 21:16

Re: RAM for PowerMac G5 1,8Ghz DP and some Questions..

Postby bjwil1991 » 2018-3-08 @ 17:31

Halo CE requirements for Mac is this:

Minimum
Code: Select all
PowerPC G4 800MHz
256MB RAM free
32MB Video (nVidia GeForce2 MX/Radeon 7000)
Mac OS X Jaguar (10.2.8)
1.4GB Free HDD space


Recommended:
Code: Select all
1GHz CPU (PowerPC G5* or higher)
512MB RAM free
64MB  Video(GeForce4 or higher-ish)
Mac OS X Jaguar (10.2.8) or higher
1.4GB HDD Free space

*Don't know if this is right or not.
C64, WheelWriter 10 Series II QuietWriter 8, Pack-Mate 28 Plus, K6-2/300, Pavilion N3350, iMac G3 & G4, Socket 462, 2x Inspiron 600m, Athlon 64, Dimension 4550 & E510, ThinkPad R40, Presario C700, ASUS X54C, Raspberry Pi B+, 2B-3B+, Custom FX-6300
User avatar
bjwil1991
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1969
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: SE, MI USA

Re: RAM for PowerMac G5 1,8Ghz DP and some Questions..

Postby Unknown_K » 2018-3-08 @ 21:16

The first Powermac G5 tower (single 1.6ghz G5) shipped with 10.2.7 so the recommended requirements make sense.

Anyway the 4 RAM slot models are PCI and are stuck at 4GB of RAM. 8 RAM slot AGP models are PCI-X and can do 8GB of RAM. The PCIE models have 8 slots and can do 16GB (2x8GB) but I have no idea if you could actually need all that RAM.
Collector of old computers, hardware, and software
Unknown_K
Oldbie
 
Posts: 768
Joined: 2013-4-22 @ 18:59
Location: Youngstown, OH USA

Re: RAM for PowerMac G5 1,8Ghz DP and some Questions..

Postby matze79 » 2018-3-09 @ 15:01

Yeah i didnt mean halo, i mean Apple "Exclusive" Games, only on OSX :)
https://www.dosreloaded.de - The German Retro DOS PC Community
https://www.retroianer.de
matze79
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1173
Joined: 2014-12-12 @ 14:25
Location: Germany, Frankonia

Next

Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: canthearu, Vegge and 9 guests