Bad ide cable ?

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Bad ide cable ?

Postby okenido » 2018-3-07 @ 01:47

Hello guys,
Today I wanted to test a new pentium 3 build, but I had several filesystem errors during or after windows 98 install. Either a system file is randomly corrupted with garbage or not readable anymore (can't even open those file with any hex editor). I was ready to test the ram and everything else (it's a bit special since it's an SSD plugged with a sata/ide adapter) when I noticed my ide cable had one of the wires cut :

IMG_20180307_022930.jpg


It looks so clean I can't believe it broke.. My others ide cables doesn't have this. Do you know what is it, an if it could be related to the file corruption problems I have ?
okenido
Newbie
 
Posts: 97
Joined: 2017-9-21 @ 20:42

Re: Bad ide cable ?

Postby Beegle » 2018-3-07 @ 02:00

I have some cables like this and was wondering the same thing, but never thought about asking about it.
Only seen this on 80-wire IDE cables, never on 40 wire.
The more sound cards, the better.
AdLib documentary: Official Thread
User avatar
Beegle
Member
 
Posts: 406
Joined: 2013-12-01 @ 02:15
Location: Canada

Re: Bad ide cable ?

Postby Baoran » 2018-3-07 @ 02:12

Perhaps the hole is that the controller knows that you are using 80 wire cable instead of 40 wire cable?
Baoran
Oldbie
 
Posts: 581
Joined: 2017-4-01 @ 08:39
Location: Finland

Re: Bad ide cable ?

Postby PC Hoarder Patrol » 2018-3-07 @ 03:10

No, the hole isn't the cause of any corruption - as Baoran says it allows 40/80 conductor detection at the connector (@GND) and the hole then allows the same conductor to carry any master/slave diagnostic comms traffic. Not all 80-wire cables have the hole, as the same results can be had by omitting the conductor tooth in the connector.
User avatar
PC Hoarder Patrol
Newbie
 
Posts: 47
Joined: 2018-3-04 @ 19:59

Re: Bad ide cable ?

Postby carangil » 2018-3-07 @ 05:22

I have had 2 bad 80 conductor cables in my life, and zero 40-conductor cable issues. I have had a 40 pin connector get stuck in a board, and pulling the cable ripped it off the connector, but that board was all corroded anyway.
carangil
Newbie
 
Posts: 74
Joined: 2009-10-22 @ 05:38
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: Bad ide cable ?

Postby okenido » 2018-3-07 @ 08:36

I remember the sata/ide adapter working fine on another build, never had any corruption. For the ram, I'd expect having crashes instead of corrupted files two times in a row. Do you think it's possible to have an incompatibility between the ide controller and the sata/ide adapter ? It's a 440bx Mobo, adapter is a noname Chinese thing, that was working well with the via-133a build
okenido
Newbie
 
Posts: 97
Joined: 2017-9-21 @ 20:42

Re: Bad ide cable ?

Postby okenido » 2018-3-07 @ 21:14

Tried with another cable and checked the RAM, still the same problem. The GPU driver crashed after 2 reboots, I went where I had extracted the nvidia install files to reinstall them and the setup.exe didnt work anymore, looking with an hex editor it's full of trash data. I plugged the SSD on my Windows10 computer and the Nvidia folder completely disappeared. I can't even remove some files, it shows an error 0x80070570 "The file or directory *** is corrupt and unreadable."

I've swapped the SSD several times between my old machine and my modern computer, to do a fast FAT32 format, add various programs and games with simple copy/paste. Is this could be problematic ? (I always turn the machine off before removing/adding the drive)
okenido
Newbie
 
Posts: 97
Joined: 2017-9-21 @ 20:42

Re: Bad ide cable ?

Postby timb.us » 2018-3-08 @ 00:02

okenido wrote:I've swapped the SSD several times between my old machine and my modern computer, to do a fast FAT32 format, add various programs and games with simple copy/paste. Is this could be problematic ? (I always turn the machine off before removing/adding the drive)


Did you use proper anti-static handling protocols when doing so? You could have zapped something on the SSD. I’d try using Parted Magic (or similar) to put the drive in diagnostic mode and see what it says.
Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic. (E.g., Cheez Whiz, RF, Hot Dogs)
timb.us
Newbie
 
Posts: 69
Joined: 2018-2-06 @ 01:23
Location: Virginia, United States

Re: Bad ide cable ?

Postby Tetrium » 2018-3-08 @ 11:55

carangil wrote:I have had 2 bad 80 conductor cables in my life, and zero 40-conductor cable issues. I have had a 40 pin connector get stuck in a board, and pulling the cable ripped it off the connector, but that board was all corroded anyway.

I've had a bad 40p cable in my main rig years ago. It happens.
Some cables seemed to have somewhat troublesome connectors where one of the 3 connectors wouldn't really work well, but virtually all my IDE cables were salvaged from dumpsterdived systems or from thrift stores so these have already gotten some use before they ended into my hands.

I always try to make sure I setup the cable according to the colors of the connectors if it's one of those cable select cables, along with correct jumpering.

An IDE cable is not that hard to damage I think, but IDE cables aren't really hard to come by anyway. Sometimes it may be hard to dislodge a cable from within an assembled rig as the angles are often odd (along with the almost mandatory scratches and blood lol).

But if in doubt about an IDE cable, simply try another cable. It's one of those standard troubleshooting thingies :P
User avatar
Tetrium
l33t++
 
Posts: 7584
Joined: 2010-1-27 @ 18:53
Location: Netherlands

Re: Bad ide cable ?

Postby okenido » 2018-3-08 @ 19:31

timb.us wrote:
okenido wrote:I've swapped the SSD several times between my old machine and my modern computer, to do a fast FAT32 format, add various programs and games with simple copy/paste. Is this could be problematic ? (I always turn the machine off before removing/adding the drive)


Did you use proper anti-static handling protocols when doing so? You could have zapped something on the SSD. I’d try using Parted Magic (or similar) to put the drive in diagnostic mode and see what it says.


I just touch a ground wire before when I don't forget. It's a Samsung SSD which doesn't have any pcb that could get in contact with hands so it's probably not that.

Looking closely at the sata/ide adapter, there were something between two legs of the chip, it's so small I couldn't see what it was, but I cleaned up the whole thing with a toothbrush and white gas (it had a bit of dirtyness despite it's new, like badly cleaned up soldering flux), and I didn't got any corruption after multiple reboots, file manipulations and disk swapping. I need to test more to confirm the problem is really gone though...
okenido
Newbie
 
Posts: 97
Joined: 2017-9-21 @ 20:42

Re: Bad ide cable ?

Postby bjwil1991 » 2018-3-08 @ 19:39

I had to use contact cleaner on some of my IDE ribbon cables since I cannot find new ones anymore, and they still work. Maybe it's dusty, dirty, or corroded. Try cleaning out the IDE cable ends with a can of compressed air, and use DeoxIt or something similar to get rid of the corrosion or dirt.
C64, WheelWriter 10 Series II QuietWriter 8, Pack-Mate 28 Plus, K6-2/300, Pavilion N3350, iMac G3 & G4, Socket 370, 2x Inspiron 600m, Athlon 64, Dimension 4550 & E510, ThinkPad R40, Presario C700, ASUS X54C, Raspberry Pi B+, 2B-3B+, Custom FX-6300
User avatar
bjwil1991
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1276
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: United States of America


Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: TheAbandonwareGuy and 4 guests