Commodore PC-10 and HD floppy drives

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Commodore PC-10 and HD floppy drives

Postby Kubik » 2018-3-08 @ 13:42

Folks, does the floppy controller in PC-10 support HD floppy drives? I am wondering if it makes any sense to try one of the HD floppy option ROMs, but if the HW shouldn't support it, it would be a waste of time.

Thanks!
Kubik
Member
 
Posts: 142
Joined: 2017-11-06 @ 08:24

Re: Commodore PC-10 and HD floppy drives

Postby derSammler » 2018-3-08 @ 14:00

No, it can handle DD drives only.
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1779
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: Commodore PC-10 and HD floppy drives

Postby Jo22 » 2018-3-08 @ 14:30

The problem is that old FDCs (floppy disk controllers) have to little bandwith. They run at 256KBit/s only.
HD floppy drives do require 500KBit/s, however, to run in native mode.

Otherweise, they still work, but act like they were DD drives
(though not fully compatible with DD media).

As a workaround, you could try to disable the internal FDC and use a third-party FDC controller card w/ HD support.
It has been discussed at forum.classic-computing.org

English translation

Edit: Also note that Commodore used the Shugart wiring; not the IBM-style wiring.
"Time, it seems, doesn't flow. For some it's fast, for some it's slow.
In what to one race is no time at all, another race can rise and fall..." - The Minstrel

//My video channel//
User avatar
Jo22
l33t
 
Posts: 3032
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06
Location: Europe

Re: Commodore PC-10 and HD floppy drives

Postby Kubik » 2018-3-09 @ 07:37

Thanks, guys, it looks like I have to stay with DD and eventually add 3.5" DD drive, because I am not sure I'll have enough ISA slots for another controller.
Kubik
Member
 
Posts: 142
Joined: 2017-11-06 @ 08:24


Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bregolin, dr.zeissler, Exabot [Bot], modbus and 14 guests