VOGONS


Best LGA 775 Motherboard with AGP and DDR400?

Topic actions

Reply 80 of 95, by RockstarRunner

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I need to put my Mushkin ram through memtest, to see if it's bad at all, because even at 5:4 high latency fsb divider @ 213mhz, it causes consistent ati driver failures in 3dmark2001.
Do you have good information on the vdimm mod, i'd be interested to at least read about it.

Update: memtest seems ok with the mushkin (note: the ram speed is 5:4 low lat, 213mhz /ddr426... ever since I installed the modded bios, the ram speed reporting has been weird in some apps)

IMG_20210408_125111.jpg
Filename
IMG_20210408_125111.jpg
File size
551.87 KiB
Views
298 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 82 of 95, by bnice7

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
RockstarRunner wrote on 2021-04-08, 08:00:
I need to put my Mushkin ram through memtest, to see if it's bad at all, because even at 5:4 high latency fsb divider @ 213mhz, […]
Show full quote

I need to put my Mushkin ram through memtest, to see if it's bad at all, because even at 5:4 high latency fsb divider @ 213mhz, it causes consistent ati driver failures in 3dmark2001.
Do you have good information on the vdimm mod, i'd be interested to at least read about it.

Update: memtest seems ok with the mushkin (note: the ram speed is 5:4 low lat, 213mhz /ddr426... ever since I installed the modded bios, the ram speed reporting has been weird in some apps)
IMG_20210408_125111.jpg

Best way to test the RAM for overclocking in my opinion if you have a different board that takes DDR, test it in that setup.

I'll have to dig up my notes on what I did for the vdimm mod, but I probably wouldn't recommend it since I seemed to have screwed something up with it 🤣

Reply 83 of 95, by The Serpent Rider

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Infineon BE/CE memory can pass Memtest, but just as easily cause visual corruption or crashes in 3D applications.

Get up, come on get down with the sickness
Open up your hate, and let it flow into me

Reply 84 of 95, by bnice7

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
The Serpent Rider wrote on 2021-04-08, 14:34:

Infineon BE/CE memory can pass Memtest, but just as easily cause visual corruption or crashes in 3D applications.

Yeah this is what I remember. At higher speeds it would pass memtest and superPi runs, but I'd still get instability and crashing during real world use.

Reply 85 of 95, by RockstarRunner

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I wanted to run memtest just to confirm the mushkin ram isn't faulty. Really, I've only seen issues with 3dmark series, as benching Crysis and fear go ok, but a failure is a failure, regardless of where it occurs. I'm very curious why you've been having much better results, with the same ram and motherboard... Without any better idea, I've put the HyperX ram back, and it actually runs a bit better, after using your setting suggestions.

Reply 86 of 95, by bnice7

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Messing with this today... I'm not sure if I can push the fsb speed as high with the X6800 because it gets so hot even with the water cooled setup, but will see how it does.

PXL_20210409_211130819.jpg
Filename
PXL_20210409_211130819.jpg
File size
1.18 MiB
Views
222 views
File license
Public domain
PXL_20210409_211041773.jpg
Filename
PXL_20210409_211041773.jpg
File size
1.75 MiB
Views
222 views
File license
Public domain

Edit: These settings failed soon after I started running Prime95 🤣. It's probably going to take me a little while to get back up to speed with all the settings.

Reply 87 of 95, by bnice7

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

So I messed around with this for a little while. I'm hitting a hard limit of 280mhz on the fsb and 5:4 divider. Doesn't matter if I loosen up memory timings or mess around with PAT. It just won't go higher than that.

With 1:1 divider, 233mhz fsb is as much as I can go before I start hitting the limits of this RAM in this board. I know the RAM can reach higher speeds in a better board. This new P5PE-VM is an older revision than my other one was. I was also actively cooling the north bridge on my old setup. I don't have that going here.

That said, I'm pretty eager to swap out this board and see how the Asrock 4coredual-VSTA does in comparison with some DDR2, so I might shelf this P5PE-VM for a little while until I can get a separate rig set up so I can run both side by side.

Reply 88 of 95, by cyclone3d

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

Why in the world are you running the CPU voltage so high?

The x6800 I have in one of my systems runs at at least 3.2Ghz on stock volts with just a good air cooler and it doesn't get hot at all.

I'm maxing out at about 300fsb but that is because the board doesn't have any adjustment for voltage whatsoever. I had to do a pencil mod to bring the NB voltage up.

It's been a while and I would have to pull the system out to get the board brand/model but I think it is one of the ASRock boards.

Yamaha YMF modified setupds and drivers
Yamaha XG resource repository - updated November 27, 2018
Yamaha YMF7x4 Guide
AW744L II - YMF744 - AOpen Cobra Sound Card - Install SB-Link Header
Epstein didn't kill himself

Reply 89 of 95, by Warlord

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I was using super PI. You shouldn't have any problem getting to DDR 533 on decent ram. You might have to loosen the timings to 3-3-3-8 which would be spec for DDR2 even though you are using DDR1, Id reccomend de clocking the CPU to make sure your errors are not the cause of the CPU being to far overclocked than it can handle. Throwing more voltage at the CPU doesn't help it when its already gone past what it will do.

i was able to easy hit 533mhz on my ram on 865 chipset.

Last edited by Warlord on 2021-04-10, 02:17. Edited 1 time in total.

Reply 90 of 95, by bnice7

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
cyclone3d wrote on 2021-04-10, 01:57:

Why in the world are you running the CPU voltage so high?

It doesn't need to be that high, I just crank it up while I'm trying other overclock settings to help eliminate CPU bottlenecks. Up to 1.5V is within spec for the X6800. Mine still gets pretty hot on stock voltage during prime95 runs though, at least according to ThrottleStop. I feel like the readings are a bit high, though. HwMonitor shows lower temps by like 5-10C.

The pencil mod is something I haven't tried yet. Maybe I'll give that a shot and add some active cooling to the northbridge.

Reply 92 of 95, by bnice7

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Warlord wrote on 2021-04-10, 02:19:

If you haven't already you might consider removing the NB heatsink and applying some proper thermal paste.

1m super PI is not reliable. 2M or higher for proper test.

Eh... I only use superpi to run quick benchmarks. I typically use prime95 for stress testing, as it does a much better job especially with multi-core CPUs.

And yes, I will apply some fresh thermal paste to the northbridge for sure if I end up pulling it out to add a fan to it.

Reply 93 of 95, by The Serpent Rider

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

You shouldn't have any problem getting to DDR 533 on decent ram.

With 512 mb RAM sticks - yes, plenty of RAM, which is capable.
With 1 gb RAM sticks - no, only Samsung or Infineon chips and your luck may vary, 3-3-3-8 is bit too optimistic.

Get up, come on get down with the sickness
Open up your hate, and let it flow into me

Reply 94 of 95, by bnice7

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

P5PE-VM VDIMM mod:

50K or 20K variable resistor between pin #2 of LM358 (or just "358", as mine is labeled) and ground. Alternatively you can use Pin 4 as ground. With the VR set to around 10K ohms, I'm getting 2.8v to the RAM.

Make sure you start with high ohms, then decrease the ohms to increase voltage. Always best to test these mods with no RAM sticks.

PXL_20210415_180221717~2.jpg
Filename
PXL_20210415_180221717~2.jpg
File size
299.25 KiB
Views
79 views
File license
Public domain

VDDR measurement points, for board revs. 1.02G and rev. 1.03G:

PXL_20210415_180221717~4.jpg
Filename
PXL_20210415_180221717~4.jpg
File size
333.05 KiB
Views
72 views
File comment
Rev. 1.02G
File license
Public domain
PXL_20210415_183431837~3.jpg
Filename
PXL_20210415_183431837~3.jpg
File size
737.38 KiB
Views
72 views
File comment
Rev. 1.03G
File license
Public domain

Reply 95 of 95, by bnice7

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I managed to fire up my "dead" P5PE-VM board over the weekend, not exactly sure what the issue was but I'm happy to have that one working again. The Rev. 1.03G has some better polymer caps around the VRMs for the CPU and it used to give me slightly better overclocks than I'm getting on this Rev. 1.02G board. I also ordered a test bench case and new power supply so I can start doing some benchmarks and comparisons without having to do full disassembly each time. I dug out an old set of 2x512MB "PQI" brand RAM (which I believe is TCCD) and I'm waiting on a Pentium E6500K I ordered from China along with a Pentium E6700 from here in the US to add to my CPU collection (already have X6800, E7600, and QX6700). For graphics, I have HD3850, HD4670, and 7800GS (anyone know someone with a 7950GT AGP? 😁). Will be interesting to compare the P5Pe-VM results to the 4CoreDual-VSTA with all these different combinations of hardware!