VOGONS

Mini ATX motherboards for old PC?

Topic actions

First post, by maddrock

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

I'm planning on building a PC to run windows 98, but ideally would love the finished build to fit inside a compact case (I'd rather it took up very little space!).
Please excuse if I'm getting anything wrong here etc. I've only build a PC from scratch once before and its a new build so it was a lot easier researching parts, I'm only a beginner at this!
My plan was to use Pentium 2 processor, and therefore use a motherboard with a intel440 chipset(??)
However all the motherboards I found were of course standard ATX size. Is it possible to find a suitable mini atx board? I know they were first manufactured in 2005 so I'm probably barking up the wrong tree! If not a micro atx would be acceptable.

9M3NTVu.png

Reply 1 of 34, by tayyare

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
maddrock wrote:
I'm planning on building a PC to run windows 98, but ideally would love the finished build to fit inside a compact case (I'd rat […]
Show full quote

I'm planning on building a PC to run windows 98, but ideally would love the finished build to fit inside a compact case (I'd rather it took up very little space!).
Please excuse if I'm getting anything wrong here etc. I've only build a PC from scratch once before and its a new build so it was a lot easier researching parts, I'm only a beginner at this!
My plan was to use Pentium 2 processor, and therefore use a motherboard with a intel440 chipset(??)
However all the motherboards I found were of course standard ATX size. Is it possible to find a suitable mini atx board? I know they were first manufactured in 2005 so I'm probably barking up the wrong tree! If not a micro atx would be acceptable.

As far as I know, mini ATX is possible but you need to go for socket 370 PIII rather than PII. For s370 PIII, there are plenty old and even contemporary boards available, though the comtemporary ones are industrial (=expensive).