VOGONS

First post, by Cga.8086

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

During the 90s (DOS-Win3.11-Win95-Win98 era) most of us had 14inch and some even got 15inch CRT monitors on our pc.
games during that era were made for those monitors, meaning that the resolution in DOS and windows games looked great for a 14inch or 15inch.

Then during windows 98 to windowsXP 17inch and 19inch monitors started to become more of a standard leaving behind the good old 14inch and 15inch.

So, playing DOS games on a 20inch CRT monitor is an overkill?
Suppose you want to play Doom on a 20inch CRT, would it look akward? would that look too much blocky?

Reply 1 of 22, by amadeus777999

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

It would simply look... Awesome.

The only downside to a bigger than 19" display could be picture fidelity. I have a 22" Vision Master and a 19" one and, albeit they're not the same model, the latter's picture is really hard to beat... even better than the Samsung 951p's already great one.

Which monitor are you thinking of getting?

Reply 4 of 22, by Cga.8086

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

i was looking for a sony 20inch monitor

but i don´t know for me it is kind of too much. Maybe it looks better on a smaller size monitor for example a 17inch

what other brand and CRT model# have awesome picture quality?

Reply 5 of 22, by bjwil1991

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

I have 4 different CRT monitors in my collection:

1) Sony PVM-9L1 8" monitor for my Commodore 64 (might get a bigger PVM since 8" is too small)
2) IBM 2115-001 15" PC monitor (has the pink color issue)
3) Medion MD 1998 OF 19" PC monitor (German)
4) 15" CRT inside an iMac G3/600 (might go green and modify an LCD display inside the machine)

TV sets:
1) Some portable color TV from the 1980's
2) Toshiba TV/VCR Combo with a Roku Streaming Plus (composite and HDMI outputs)

Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from the Compaq Portable 1 to Ryzen 9 5950X
Twitch: https://twitch.tv/retropcuser