First post, by Smack2k

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

OK,

Question for everyone....

If you had Retro PCs ranging from 1992 - 2004:

Where is your cutoff point for using a CRT Monitor?
After the CRT, would a 4:3 LCD VGA Monitor (1280 x 1024 ) fit in for a few years or do you go straight to WS DVI Monitors?
If you did use the LCD I mentioned, when would the Widescreen Monitors take over?

Just looking for some cutoffs here as I am planning on re-arranging my setup and trying to put some things in their best configurations....

Reply 1 of 29, by Ozzuneoj

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

For me? Until 2016 when I got a monitor that had motion blur reduction that could provide motion clarity that at least somewhat resembled a CRT. That's when I finally stopped using my HP P1230 on my main rig (using a GTX 970). I used an LCD for several years (2011-2015) but ended up going back to a CRT when I started playing some fast paced games again.

2016 also marks the end of support for the VGA interface for high end nvidia cards, since Pascal dropped the interface entirely. No VGA = No CRT. 🙁

Now for some blitting from the back buffer.

Reply 2 of 29, by RaverX

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

In real life I replaced my CRT (Samsung 757DFX) with an LCD (Packard Bell 220WDV) in 2007, quite late. It was affordable, but in some ways it was a step back:
-the resolution was inferior (757DFX could do 2048x1536, while Packard Bell could only do 1680x1050 (it had the option to do 1600x1200, but it looked bad).
-any non native resolution would look quite bad (scaling was very crappy), so older games that would not support 16:10 aspect ratio looked bad

But it was bigger, had a nice image quality and it was much brighter. Also it took a lot less desk space.