VOGONS

First post, by treeman

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

So like the topic says I am trying to connect 2 ide hard drive controllers on my 486.

A the situation is my cf card adapter no way can reach the cdrom drive using the same ide cable which must be a common issue?

all my isa hard drive controllers have 1x ide 1x floppy port so in order to use a cdrom and cf card I will need separate ide controllers.

I have my cf card as a master connected on the master cable to one of my ide controllers.

I connect the cdrom as a slave on the secondary ide controller with the slave cable plug, the system boots but doesn't see the cdrom.

If I plug the cdrom to the same cable the cf card cable as a slave it boots and detects properly.

So logically thinking if I have 2 ide controllers how does the bios know which one is primary?

I had a look at the pinpoints on one of my controllers PINE
PT-607G but doesn't seem any option to make it a "master" controller if such a thing exists.

Maybye its not possible to do what I am after?

I did see a pci and isa controller in 1 system together working however

Reply 1 of 13, by tayyare

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
treeman wrote:

So like the topic says I am trying to connect 2 ide hard drive controllers on my 486

....So logically thinking if I have 2 ide controllers how does the bios know which one is primary?

You need to adjust the IRQ and I/O adresses of your IDE controllers accordingly. The two cards' IRQs should be different (14 and 15 preferably) and I/O adresses of their IDE channels should reflect primary master/slave and secondary master/slave adresses.

http://www.pcguide.com/ref/mbsys/res/ioSummary-c.html

Please note that, not all cards allow you to adjust these parameters. As far as I can see, your card (PINE PT607G) does not have any feature that allows you to adjust the IRQ for example:

http://arvutimuuseum.ee/th99/c/P-R/20880.htm