Batman's Revenge socket 4 motherboard - need manual

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Re: Batman's Revenge socket 4 motherboard - need manual

Postby feipoa » 2019-5-15 @ 23:21

I tested my POD133 on my Batman's Revenge board and it appeared to work ok.
User avatar
feipoa
l33t++
 
Posts: 6502
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Re: Batman's Revenge socket 4 motherboard - need manual

Postby vmr_ » 2019-5-16 @ 09:59

feipoa wrote:I tested my POD133 on my Batman's Revenge board and it appeared to work ok.


By the way, what OS you run on the Pentium 60 machine? Win 95 or Win 98?

Planning to build one for fun&testing in the comming weeks, will try first with Win 98SE (afterall, it worked fairly well on Nexgen P90)
vmr_
Newbie
 
Posts: 38
Joined: 2018-9-06 @ 08:14

Re: Batman's Revenge socket 4 motherboard - need manual

Postby feipoa » 2019-5-16 @ 18:17

I ran Win95c, but my P60 system is not setup now and is in pieces.
User avatar
feipoa
l33t++
 
Posts: 6502
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Re: Batman's Revenge socket 4 motherboard - need manual

Postby feipoa » 2019-8-06 @ 10:19

Anyone have the BIOS for this board? I want to try it on my Acer V12P, which has a similar layout.
User avatar
feipoa
l33t++
 
Posts: 6502
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Re: Batman's Revenge socket 4 motherboard - need manual

Postby sonicx » 2019-8-06 @ 18:52

I think the last bios for this motherboard had version 1.00.13.AF2
http://download.viglen.co.uk/files/moth ... 013AF2.EXE
sonicx
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2018-12-12 @ 05:56

Re: Batman's Revenge socket 4 motherboard - need manual

Postby feipoa » 2019-8-07 @ 08:02

Oh, thank you! The BIOS on my board is 1.00.10.AF2T. Not sure what the T is for. It seems to be missing in the part number you provided. I did notice that some of these boards on eBay were missing the PCI chipset, but not sure if this is related to T or no T. I'll be sure to backup the existing BIOS first.
User avatar
feipoa
l33t++
 
Posts: 6502
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Re: Batman's Revenge socket 4 motherboard - need manual

Postby Windows9566 » 2019-8-07 @ 08:52

feipoa wrote:Oh, thank you! The BIOS on my board is 1.00.10.AF2T. Not sure what the T is for. It seems to be missing in the part number you provided. I did notice that some of these boards on eBay were missing the PCI chipset, but not sure if this is related to T or no T. I'll be sure to backup the existing BIOS first.

T means that it's gateway OEM, the letters (AF2/BS0/CN0/DH0) is the motherboard and the last letter (J, T, R, U) is the OEM brand like J is dell, T is gateway, U is AST, and R is packard bell
1995-Advanced/ML,P100,32MB-RAM,CL-GD5446,CT1740,WFWG-3.11/DOS-6.22
1996-VX97,P133,32MB-RAM,TRIO-64V+,CT1740,Win95-OSR2.1
2009-M2N68-AM-Plus,Athlon-64-X2-5600+,2GB-RAM,GTS-450,WinXP-Pro
2017-ROG-B450F,R5-1600,16GB-RAM,GTX-1060,Win10-Home
User avatar
Windows9566
Member
 
Posts: 251
Joined: 2015-4-30 @ 14:55

Re: Batman's Revenge socket 4 motherboard - need manual

Postby amadeus777999 » 2019-8-07 @ 12:44

Windows9566 wrote:
feipoa wrote:Oh, thank you! The BIOS on my board is 1.00.10.AF2T. Not sure what the T is for. It seems to be missing in the part number you provided. I did notice that some of these boards on eBay were missing the PCI chipset, but not sure if this is related to T or no T. I'll be sure to backup the existing BIOS first.

T means that it's gateway OEM, the letters (AF2/BS0/CN0/DH0) is the motherboard and the last letter (J, T, R, U) is the OEM brand like J is dell, T is gateway, U is AST, and R is packard bell


Nice to know!
User avatar
amadeus777999
Oldbie
 
Posts: 695
Joined: 2013-7-04 @ 17:04

Re: Batman's Revenge socket 4 motherboard - need manual

Postby feipoa » 2019-8-07 @ 23:01

Interesting how they didn't pick G for Gateway, P for Packard Bell, etc... They wanted to be cryptic.
User avatar
feipoa
l33t++
 
Posts: 6502
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Re: Batman's Revenge socket 4 motherboard - need manual

Postby feipoa » 2019-8-08 @ 11:42

sonicx wrote:I think the last bios for this motherboard had version 1.00.13.AF2
http://download.viglen.co.uk/files/moth ... 013AF2.EXE

I attempted to update this BIOS to my motherboard using Intel's fmup.exe utility, but I receive an error message.

The selected FLASH Data File cannot be used for updating FLASH memory. Either this FLASH Data File is invalid for this system or the information contained in this File is corrupted.

Do I need to find the same file but with a T suffix, e.g. 10013AF2T.exe ? Or is there an old Gateway ftp portal I need to browse around? Alternately, is there another utility that will properly update the BIOS on this board? I tried uniflash, but it crashed upon loading. Is there an AMI flashing tool which will work with this motherboard? And if there is, will it know that there appear to be two BIOS files for this board which somehow work together: 1013AF2_.BIO and 1013AF2_.BI1

This is my first foray into programming BIOSes on Intel produced boards and it hasn't been very straight-forward. Unfortunately the EEPROM BIOS is surface mount.

If someone were to make a copy of their 1.00.13.AF2 BIOS while in the system using NSSI, which software could I use to program that file onto my motherboard?
User avatar
feipoa
l33t++
 
Posts: 6502
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Previous

Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: looking4awayout, mram427 and 17 guests