286 Motherboard with Keyboard error/Keyboard interface error

Discussion about old PC hardware.

286 Motherboard with Keyboard error/Keyboard interface error

Postby muon » 2019-2-11 @ 10:31

Hi

I have this motherboard ACER, INC.RT-286-12/16

https://stason.org/TULARC/pc/motherboar ... 12-16.html

When I power on I get a message error: keyboard error.
Image
While it is powering on I get a lot of "backfire" through speaker. I took a video:

https://mega.nz/#!bJ80RSTS!1cH6zC1w6iJD ... CNothta3Hw

The battery was leaked and the keyboard conector was rusty. I changed these two elements. Now the backfire is gone, but the keyboard error continues.


Any suggestions?
muon
Member
 
Posts: 104
Joined: 2017-9-16 @ 09:35

Re: 286 Motherboard with Keyboard error/Keyboard interface error

Postby root42 » 2019-2-11 @ 10:38

Did you try simply hitting F1? Might simply be due to CMOS without valid data. Else you should trace the connections from the keyboard connector to the keyboard controller with a multimeter in continuity and see if there is some broken trace due to battery corrosion.
Soldering, retro game reviews and more on YouTube and Bonus videos
Me playing games on my 286 and on my Sega MD2 on Twitch
80386DX@25 MHz, 8 MiB RAM, Tseng ET4000 1 MiB, schlae AdLib, PC MIDI Card + SC55MkII, XT CF Lite, OSSC 1.6
User avatar
root42
Oldbie
 
Posts: 816
Joined: 2018-1-27 @ 13:23

Re: 286 Motherboard with Keyboard error/Keyboard interface error

Postby muon » 2019-2-11 @ 20:31

root42 wrote:Did you try simply hitting F1? Might simply be due to CMOS without valid data. Else you should trace the connections from the keyboard connector to the keyboard controller with a multimeter in continuity and see if there is some broken trace due to battery corrosion.




The board hasn't got a jumper for clearing CMOS data, but I bet It is broken trace or something like that
muon
Member
 
Posts: 104
Joined: 2017-9-16 @ 09:35

Re: 286 Motherboard with Keyboard error/Keyboard interface error

Postby dkarguth » 2019-2-11 @ 21:17

286 boards don't normally have cmos clear jumpers. Does the keyboard really not work, or is it just a random error? Also, have you tried another keyboard? Most 286 motherboards will throw a keyboard error if they detect a key is held down during power up. I would check to see if your keyboard has a stuck key.
Also, does anyone else find it humorous that the bios asks for the user to press the F1 key on their keyboard if it detects that the keyboard isn't functioning?
"And remember, this fix is only temporary, unless it works." -Red Green
dkarguth
Member
 
Posts: 144
Joined: 2019-1-29 @ 20:47
Location: Texas, USA

Re: 286 Motherboard with Keyboard error/Keyboard interface error

Postby kixs » 2019-2-11 @ 21:19

Check all the traces near the battery. At least one is broken in that area.
My Amibay: SALE | BUY - Updated on 2019-01-24
User avatar
kixs
l33t
 
Posts: 2134
Joined: 2013-1-31 @ 02:08
Location: Slovenia, EU

Re: 286 Motherboard with Keyboard error/Keyboard interface error

Postby root42 » 2019-2-11 @ 21:38

dkarguth wrote:286 boards don't normally have cmos clear jumpers. Does the keyboard really not work, or is it just a random error? Also, have you tried another keyboard? Most 286 motherboards will throw a keyboard error if they detect a key is held down during power up. I would check to see if your keyboard has a stuck key.
Also, does anyone else find it humorous that the bios asks for the user to press the F1 key on their keyboard if it detects that the keyboard isn't functioning?


Yes, I had this error quite a few times. And keyboard would work, simply by pressin F1.

But this error might even happen with no keyboard attached....
Soldering, retro game reviews and more on YouTube and Bonus videos
Me playing games on my 286 and on my Sega MD2 on Twitch
80386DX@25 MHz, 8 MiB RAM, Tseng ET4000 1 MiB, schlae AdLib, PC MIDI Card + SC55MkII, XT CF Lite, OSSC 1.6
User avatar
root42
Oldbie
 
Posts: 816
Joined: 2018-1-27 @ 13:23

Re: 286 Motherboard with Keyboard error/Keyboard interface error

Postby muon » 2019-2-12 @ 09:12

First of all: thanks you at all

Second: the keyboard is OK. I use that keyboard for all my retro motherboards and it works properly - in all other motherboards - without any problems.

Pictures the "danger zone" I'll tested with polimeter

Image Image Image Image Image

How can i repare a trace? Is there any kind of pencil for restoring that?
muon
Member
 
Posts: 104
Joined: 2017-9-16 @ 09:35

Re: 286 Motherboard with Keyboard error/Keyboard interface error

Postby root42 » 2019-2-12 @ 09:51

If you definitely found the trace that is broken, you have to run a wire across the gap. You can either remove some solder mask on either side of the gap and simply run a short jumper wire, soldering it to the exposed copper of the trace. Or you can run a long jumper wire, soldering it on the bottom of the board from the pin at the keyboard connector whose trace is broken to the pin on the SOCKET of the keyboard controller IC where this broken trace leads to.
Soldering, retro game reviews and more on YouTube and Bonus videos
Me playing games on my 286 and on my Sega MD2 on Twitch
80386DX@25 MHz, 8 MiB RAM, Tseng ET4000 1 MiB, schlae AdLib, PC MIDI Card + SC55MkII, XT CF Lite, OSSC 1.6
User avatar
root42
Oldbie
 
Posts: 816
Joined: 2018-1-27 @ 13:23

Re: 286 Motherboard with Keyboard error/Keyboard interface error

Postby kixs » 2019-2-12 @ 10:04

Remove the battery and check the traces under it.
My Amibay: SALE | BUY - Updated on 2019-01-24
User avatar
kixs
l33t
 
Posts: 2134
Joined: 2013-1-31 @ 02:08
Location: Slovenia, EU


Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: darry, Google [Bot], sheath and 14 guests