VOGONS

First post, by Xray1281

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Hey everyone. I have a question about classic motherboards. I’m trying to build a 90’s exclusive pc. (Mostly 99) Would anyone know which motherboard from that time would work best with a Pentium 3, GeForce 256 ddr, soundblaster live platinum, a 5 1/4 inch floppy drive, 3 1/2 floppy drive, and a disc drive, with at least two ram slots both 256mb of ram with 133MHz. I’d like to have two or three hard drives if possible. (Max would be 4) The pc will be running windows 98 second edition. Also if you have a tower recommendation I’d gladly hear it. Sorry if this doesn’t explain much. I’m new to pc building but I am very interested in creating the strongest 90’s pc I can. Thanks for your time. 😀

Reply 1 of 17, by cyclone3d

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

Skip the HDDs and use an SSD via a PCI Promise SATA I - 150 raid controller.

Yamaha modified setupds and drivers
Yamaha XG repository
YMF7x4 Guide
Aopen AW744L II SB-LINK

Reply 2 of 17, by Katmai500

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

It really depends if you want slot 1 or socket 370. I'm partial to slot 1 for a 1999 build.

For slot 1: ASUS P3B-F and Intel SE440BX-2 are two great choices. If you don't mind skipping the intel 440BX chipset, an ASUS P3V4X with the VIA Apollo Pro 133A is a good option and fully supports the 133 MHz FSB.

For socket 370: ASUS CUSL2 and Intel D815EAA/D815EAA2 are great choices with the intel I815E chipset and full 133 MHz FSB support. This is really 2000-era hardware as opposed to 1999, and you lose ISA ports. The ASUS CUV4X is a good Apollo Pro 133A option for socket 370.

You'll need to check the revisions on the slot 1 boards if you plan to use a coppermine Pentium III.

Reply 3 of 17, by dionb

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

1999 is very borderline 1990s - most of the 1990s was an era of BabyAT minitowers and ever increasing socket pin density.