How to setup 3Com Etherlink II/IITP

Discussion about old PC hardware.

How to setup 3Com Etherlink II/IITP

Postby Ultrax » 2019-5-15 @ 22:20

My new 95 setup has a 3Com Etherlink II in it. I'd like to connect it to my network - however, drivers are impossible to find for this damn card. I found some, but I don't know how to use them. Windows would detect the card, tell me to insert the CD-ROM, and seemingly do something - but, when the computer came back on, it told me that the card is not working properly. I went to Device Manager and it claims that no drivers are installed. So, my question is, how do I install the drivers????!!!!! The "EtherDisk" gives me options to update NDIS or 3+ drivers, but neither of those options do anything, and one gives me a stack overflow error. I can't find any other drivers online for this thing. I'm really starting to hate 3Com, but they're basically the only company who made decent ISA NICs. All help is appreciated.
Ultrax
__
Presario 425|DX2-50|8MB|SB V16S|D622/WFW3.11 8)
Deskpro XE 450|DX2-50|32 MB|NT4.0/95
SR2038X|Athlon 64 X2 3800|2G|GT710 WINXP
Dimension 4400|P4 NW 2 GHz|256M|R128U AGP|WINXP
HPMini311|N270|2G|9400M|WINXP
Libretto50CT|P75|16MB|YMF711|WIN95 8)
User avatar
Ultrax
Member
 
Posts: 166
Joined: 2018-7-30 @ 22:30
Location: Texas, USA

Re: How to setup 3Com Etherlink II/IITP

Postby luckybob » 2019-5-15 @ 22:55

irq conflict.

IIRC that is the 3C-501 and its an 8-bit card. What is rest of the system like?
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.
User avatar
luckybob
l33t
 
Posts: 3885
Joined: 2009-4-30 @ 04:43

Re: How to setup 3Com Etherlink II/IITP

Postby Ultrax » 2019-5-15 @ 23:17

It doesn't say anything about IRQ conflicts in the window to configure it - then again, I can't totally doubt that there is one. I'll set it to every option it gives me and report back. But it still claims there is no driver installed for it. Would that have something to do with an IRQ conflict? Windows identifies it as a 3C-503, which is apparently 16-bit card (though Windows says "8 or 16-bit".) The system is a 486 with 16-bit ISA.
Ultrax
__
Presario 425|DX2-50|8MB|SB V16S|D622/WFW3.11 8)
Deskpro XE 450|DX2-50|32 MB|NT4.0/95
SR2038X|Athlon 64 X2 3800|2G|GT710 WINXP
Dimension 4400|P4 NW 2 GHz|256M|R128U AGP|WINXP
HPMini311|N270|2G|9400M|WINXP
Libretto50CT|P75|16MB|YMF711|WIN95 8)
User avatar
Ultrax
Member
 
Posts: 166
Joined: 2018-7-30 @ 22:30
Location: Texas, USA

Re: How to setup 3Com Etherlink II/IITP

Postby luckybob » 2019-5-15 @ 23:24

My last 486 I build I had to make up a spreadsheet with every irq/dma/and memory address mapped ON PAPER to get it to work right.

Dont forget things like com ports and even the game port on your sound card. Make sure the boot rom is disabled and the jumpers are set correctly. https://stason.org/TULARC/pc/network-ca ... 3C503.html

Maybe try these drivers: http://files.mpoli.fi/hardware/NET/3COM/

Also relevant: http://www.vcfed.org/forum/showthread.p ... -a-80386DX
Last edited by luckybob on 2019-5-15 @ 23:51, edited 1 time in total.
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.
User avatar
luckybob
l33t
 
Posts: 3885
Joined: 2009-4-30 @ 04:43

Re: How to setup 3Com Etherlink II/IITP

Postby Ultrax » 2019-5-15 @ 23:47

I got the drivers from that link, but how do I install them? Is it a manual installation? (sorry, dumb question)
Ultrax
__
Presario 425|DX2-50|8MB|SB V16S|D622/WFW3.11 8)
Deskpro XE 450|DX2-50|32 MB|NT4.0/95
SR2038X|Athlon 64 X2 3800|2G|GT710 WINXP
Dimension 4400|P4 NW 2 GHz|256M|R128U AGP|WINXP
HPMini311|N270|2G|9400M|WINXP
Libretto50CT|P75|16MB|YMF711|WIN95 8)
User avatar
Ultrax
Member
 
Posts: 166
Joined: 2018-7-30 @ 22:30
Location: Texas, USA

Re: How to setup 3Com Etherlink II/IITP

Postby Ultrax » 2019-5-15 @ 23:53

It seems to work now, as there are two 3C503s in the Device Manager - one of them with an exclamation mark, which I can delete, and the other one which is "working properly". Although, Windows still says the network is inaccessible. It's already connected to my offline network router - but that's a problem for another thread. Thanks for the advice!
Last edited by Ultrax on 2019-5-15 @ 23:55, edited 1 time in total.
Ultrax
__
Presario 425|DX2-50|8MB|SB V16S|D622/WFW3.11 8)
Deskpro XE 450|DX2-50|32 MB|NT4.0/95
SR2038X|Athlon 64 X2 3800|2G|GT710 WINXP
Dimension 4400|P4 NW 2 GHz|256M|R128U AGP|WINXP
HPMini311|N270|2G|9400M|WINXP
Libretto50CT|P75|16MB|YMF711|WIN95 8)
User avatar
Ultrax
Member
 
Posts: 166
Joined: 2018-7-30 @ 22:30
Location: Texas, USA

Re: How to setup 3Com Etherlink II/IITP

Postby luckybob » 2019-5-15 @ 23:54

well, let windows do it. I don't have it in front of me, but I thought w95 has 3c-503 drivers.

is it a 503?
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.
User avatar
luckybob
l33t
 
Posts: 3885
Joined: 2009-4-30 @ 04:43

Re: How to setup 3Com Etherlink II/IITP

Postby Ultrax » 2019-5-16 @ 00:04

Oops, I posted a bit too early :P
A device now shows up on the router with a 3Com OUI... and with the name "DESKPRO486". Hooray! Now I just need to get the computer discoverable on the network. I have no clue how the card just started working, but it did :-) Again, thanks for the help!
Ultrax
__
Presario 425|DX2-50|8MB|SB V16S|D622/WFW3.11 8)
Deskpro XE 450|DX2-50|32 MB|NT4.0/95
SR2038X|Athlon 64 X2 3800|2G|GT710 WINXP
Dimension 4400|P4 NW 2 GHz|256M|R128U AGP|WINXP
HPMini311|N270|2G|9400M|WINXP
Libretto50CT|P75|16MB|YMF711|WIN95 8)
User avatar
Ultrax
Member
 
Posts: 166
Joined: 2018-7-30 @ 22:30
Location: Texas, USA


Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: carlostex, Mumak, Orkay, Stiletto, umageddon and 16 guests