486dx2 with second ide on soundcard

Discussion about old PC hardware.

486dx2 with second ide on soundcard

Postby retropol » 2019-8-11 @ 17:44

Hi Guys,
I have a 486 with only one IDE on the mobo. Both connectors are used now - one for hdd, second for cf card.
I need to setup cdrom, so decided to use 2ND IDE from soundcard:

download/file.php?id=62442&mode=view

how to make it working on dos and win3.11?
retropol
Member
 
Posts: 103
Joined: 2019-4-14 @ 17:39

Re: 486dx2 with second ide on soundcard

Postby Intel486dx33 » 2019-8-11 @ 18:14

I had the same problem.

See this thread.

viewtopic.php?f=46&t=68544

I downloaded this CD-ROM driver “VIDE-CCD.SYS” which worked well.
https://sites.google.com/site/pcdosretro/vide-cdd

Extract and copy to C:\

Edit you autoexec.bat and config.sys files

Autoexec.bat
MSCDEX.EXE /D:MYCD01 /L:D

Config.sys
DEVICE=VIDE-CCD.SYS /D:MYCD01
User avatar
Intel486dx33
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1837
Joined: 2018-5-17 @ 01:17
Location: U.S.A.

Re: 486dx2 with second ide on soundcard

Postby retropol » 2019-8-12 @ 16:40

hi thank you will try it, btw- in your thread there is no word about VIDE-CCD.SYS - you are suggesting VIDE-CCD.SYS so is this any improvement in comparison to the original suggestions from your topic?
retropol
Member
 
Posts: 103
Joined: 2019-4-14 @ 17:39

Re: 486dx2 with second ide on soundcard

Postby Grzyb » 2019-8-12 @ 16:46

That sound card may need some initialization software in CONFIG.SYS/AUTOEXEC.BAT - make sure it's initialized before loading the .SYS driver for CD-ROM.
Grzyb
Member
 
Posts: 164
Joined: 2019-5-08 @ 13:47
Location: Poland

Re: 486dx2 with second ide on soundcard

Postby retropol » 2019-8-12 @ 19:50

hi, can you put some more light on the initialization aspect?
retropol
Member
 
Posts: 103
Joined: 2019-4-14 @ 17:39

Re: 486dx2 with second ide on soundcard

Postby Grzyb » 2019-8-12 @ 20:39

Quoting the README.TXT file from the attached package...
Code: Select all
Problem:        Cannot load IDE CD-ROM drive.
Cause:          IDE port is not enabled. Check the config.sys file under
                C: root directory and you should see "device=c:\alsound
                \cdsetup.sys" before loading your CD-ROM driver. The
                cdsetup.sys enables the IDE port.
Solution:       Run c:\alsound\alconfig.exe again and select the CD-ROM
                IDE. When you leave the alconfig program, device=c:\alsound
                \cdsetup.sys will be added to config.sys. Make sure
                that this line is before loading the CD-ROM driver.
Attachments
w95_007.exe
(756.95 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
Grzyb
Member
 
Posts: 164
Joined: 2019-5-08 @ 13:47
Location: Poland

Re: 486dx2 with second ide on soundcard

Postby retropol » 2019-8-13 @ 19:59

Grzyb thank you.

This card has no jumpers, question what addr, irq and dma is it working on? Do you know? ALS007 - FCC id: MA5ASOUND.

For now - i tried different combinations in a cannon fodder 2 setup and no success.. :/
retropol
Member
 
Posts: 103
Joined: 2019-4-14 @ 17:39

Re: 486dx2 with second ide on soundcard

Postby Grzyb » 2019-8-14 @ 03:21

ALCONFIG.EXE should display such settings, and even add the appropriate "SET BLASTER=..." to AUTOEXEC.BAT
Grzyb
Member
 
Posts: 164
Joined: 2019-5-08 @ 13:47
Location: Poland

Re: 486dx2 with second ide on soundcard

Postby PC@LIVE » 2019-8-14 @ 21:48

Some time ago I suggested how it works on my PC.
I solved by loading these two lines in config.sys:
Device=C:\awsound\cdsetup.sys /P:220
Devicehigh /L1:,23888 =C:\oakcdrom.sys /D:MSCD000

While in autoexec.bat I have the following line:
set BLASTER=A220 I5 D1 T4
LH /L:1,27952 C:\dos\MSCDEX /D:MSCD000

The sound card is an ALS100 ISA and the CD-ROM is an IDE.

In my opinion it is possible that it also works with other sound cards and CD-ROMs, but it is possible that different drivers are needed from those I use.
AMD 286-16 287-10 4MB HD 45MB VGA 256KB
AMD 386DX-40 Intel 387 8MB HD 81MB VGA 256KB
Cyrix 486DLC-40 IIT387-40 8MB VGA 512KB
AMD 5X86-133 16MB VGA VLB CL5428 2MB and many others
AMD K62+ 550 SOYO 5EMA+ and many others
AST Pentium Pro 200 MHz L2 256KB
User avatar
PC@LIVE
Newbie
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 2019-6-08 @ 15:11
Location: Italy CR


Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Anders- and 18 guests