VOGONS


Reply 180 of 192, by Slashzero

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
CuPid wrote on 2020-02-03, 13:46:
Slashzero wrote on 2020-02-03, 02:04:

Hi there! Are you still looking for testers? I have some older hardware I can try it on.

Yes definitely, especially on 486 & PIIIs. Thanks !

Ok! I need to head in to work right now, but I will try it out later today.

Reply 181 of 192, by red-ray

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

The latest CPUZ_x32 crashes, but CPUZ_95 runs and I suspect you may wish to use the C3-M logo

file.php?id=76000

Attachments

  • RVN.PNG
    Filename
    RVN.PNG
    File size
    51.4 KiB
    Views
    183 views
    File comment
    Screen shot showing cpuz_x32 crashed
    File license
    Public domain
  • Filename
    RVN.zip
    File size
    14.98 KiB
    Downloads
    1 download
    File comment
    Crash dump files and report
    File license
    Public domain

Reply 182 of 192, by Slashzero

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Sorry, my 30GB Maxtor drive I dug out of storage and was running Windows 98SE on died. I’ve swapped to a 60GB drive and am in the process of setting everything back up.

I will test this later.

Update: Man, I had to reinstall windows a few times. Installed drivers in the wrong order and WIndows 98SE went all sorts of wonky. Anyway, I'm back up and running now. I will download CPU-Z from the original post and try it out.

Update 2: So, I did try it out on my Windows 98 machine, and it detected everything perfectly. I am now working on my other desktop, which was running as an unstable Windows Vista machine. I just reformatted the drive, and am running XP Pro (and posting this from the XP machine). Once I get the video drivers, and sound card drivers installed, I will run CPU-Z on the Pentium D machine as well, for science.

Reply 183 of 192, by Slashzero

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I’m trying to run the Win95 version, but it caused a BSOD when I ran it. Attaching image so you can see the error.

01238D65-D8A5-4F2F-A20F-EC3A145CC738.jpeg
Filename
01238D65-D8A5-4F2F-A20F-EC3A145CC738.jpeg
File size
17.22 KiB
Views
136 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0

I reset the laptop, and tried again. Made it to 22%, and the system froze.

Had do do a hard reset. Control-Alt-Delete did not work.

Tried a third time. It is consistently locking up my laptop at 22% (Monitoring).

34F00CAD-29E2-4A80-BB33-4E6CC9F28CBE.jpeg
Filename
34F00CAD-29E2-4A80-BB33-4E6CC9F28CBE.jpeg
File size
25.01 KiB
Views
137 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0

Reply 186 of 192, by CoffeeOne

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Last but not least, I am going to the cpu-z with the antique computer (Micronics ASIC EISA mainboard, 133MHz Kingston Turbo chip, 64MB 30 pin SIMM RAM, only EISA slots) as well.
On Windows 98 SE I have to use the Vintage edition 1.01.
So I started it and ***boom*** blue screen, but fortunately windows kept running, no reboot necessary.

But I very quickly found out, how I could run it:
I changed in the ini file "SPD" to 0 and it worked.

The cpu is detected well, the mainboard (and so the 256kB L2 cache) and the graphics card are not detected.

Attachments

  • cpuz-mic-mainboard.jpg
    Filename
    cpuz-mic-mainboard.jpg
    File size
    39.21 KiB
    Views
    110 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
  • cpuz-mic-cpu.jpg
    Filename
    cpuz-mic-cpu.jpg
    File size
    48.03 KiB
    Views
    110 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
  • cpuz-mic-graphics.jpg
    Filename
    cpuz-mic-graphics.jpg
    File size
    30.48 KiB
    Views
    110 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 187 of 192, by Slashzero

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
red-ray wrote on 2020-02-12, 08:45:
Slashzero wrote on 2020-02-12, 03:03:

Made it to 22%, and the system froze.

Try editing cpuz.ini and changing Sensor=1 to Sensor=0

So, the zip file didn’t have an ini file to start from. It just had the single exe. I suppose I could create an ini file and put the single setting in it, and hope it reads it.

Reply 188 of 192, by red-ray

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Slashzero wrote on 2020-02-13, 05:00:
red-ray wrote on 2020-02-12, 08:45:
Slashzero wrote on 2020-02-12, 03:03:

Made it to 22%, and the system froze.

Try editing cpuz.ini and changing Sensor=1 to Sensor=0

So, the zip file didn’t have an ini file to start from. It just had the single exe. I suppose I could create an ini file and put the single setting in it, and hope it reads it.

I would copy the cpuz.ini from a different system or you could paste as follows into one.

[CPU-Z]
VERSION=1.9.1.0
TextFontName=
TextFontSize=14
TextFontColor=000080
LabelFontName=
LabelFontSize=14
ACPI=1
PCI=1
MaxPCIBus=256
DMI=1
Sensor=1
SMBus=1
Display=1
UseDisplayAPI=1
BusClock=1
Chipset=1
SPD=1
XOC=0

Reply 189 of 192, by red-ray

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

The CPUZ Vintage Edition seems to have issues that CPUZ_x32 does not so I suspect some bugs crept in, further both the 32-bit builds report the incorrect number of cores even though CPUID 0000000B correctly reports 18 cores to 32-bit programs.

file.php?id=76852

Attachments

  • RED.png
    Filename
    RED.png
    File size
    60.42 KiB
    Views
    84 views
    File comment
    Compararison
    File license
    Public domain

Reply 190 of 192, by Slashzero

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
red-ray wrote on 2020-02-13, 09:42:
The CPUZ Vintage Edition seems to have issues that CPUZ_x32 does not so I suspect some bugs crept in, further both the 32-bit bu […]
Show full quote

The CPUZ Vintage Edition seems to have issues that CPUZ_x32 does not so I suspect some bugs crept in, further both the 32-bit builds report the incorrect number of cores even though CPUID 0000000B correctly reports 18 cores to 32-bit programs.

file.php?id=76852

Locks up in the same spot. 😒