VOGONS

First post, by athlon-power

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

At the moment, I don't have any pictures of the inside of it yet, as I recently moved, and still have yet to get some screwdrivers moved over. All of this work was done at my local technical school with the aid of my instructor, as I've been attending there for a couple of months now and crazy projects like this one are generally encouraged.

This was all done due to the damaged front panel piece my IBM had when I first got it, as well as the broken front panel locking mechanism that kept it from being able to stay locked shut- here's a picture of that:

20190822_150647.jpg
Filename
20190822_150647.jpg
File size
570.32 KiB
Views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Not only was it missing that left corner, but I found out later on that it was missing an entire, large part of the front panel, seen here:

download.jpeg
Filename
download.jpeg
File size
4.34 KiB
Views
File license

I had a few options with the broken corner: I could've molded some clay to it, let it dry off, sanded it smooth, and then painted it over, and when I started at that technical school, I could've even designed and 3D printed a replacement corner piece, however I found that option to be far more complex than I initially realized when I started trying to measure out everything to put it into a 3D model. This is completely ignoring that entire sliding cover, which would've been near impossible to try and recreate and 3D print. I decided to instead go with designing my own front panel, but again, when I started trying to measure it, all the little things that needed to be measured would've made the thing an even more complex option than before.