VOGONS

First post, by CapitanOdessa

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Hello! I am fairly new in these retro-rigs, and I am going to try slotkets for the first time. My motherboard is a MS-6163 VER.1, which doesn't officially support Coppermine, but later BIOS revisions allowed the VER.2 to do so. The BIOS are interchangeable, I think, for VER1 and VER2. The question is... I got a pair of slotkets for five dollars and I wanted to know whether it was possible to run a coppermine CPU there. My idea is to run one that reaches 1ghz.

Here are the slokets

First one
INSStpU.png

Second one
0Q5t9c5.png
MnZZnlC.png

Are these any good? One of them have voltage regulator.

Thing is, my motherboard doesn't accept bus speeds higher than 100mhz, and the processors they sell in my country are all 133mhz, do you guys thing I will be able to do anything combining the slotket and the mobo, or should I dessist and find a better one?

As a side question, can I flash a BIOS from a CD? I can boot from a CD, but the BIOS readme wanted me to use a diskette, and make it bootable from cmd.

Reply 1 of 7, by PARKE

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

The 370SPC Rev.1.0 that I have here ran every Coppermine including an 1100 Celeron on various 440BX motherboards so I assume that your Rev2.0 will be fine too,
Your MS-6163 VER.1 is probably not limited to FSB 100 - that seems to be the standard requirement that is listed in manuals while everything above is qualified as overclocking. Some time ago I had an MS-6163 Pro that went all the way up to FSB 150.

slotket01.JPG
Filename
slotket01.JPG
File size
298.89 KiB
Views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 2 of 7, by gerwin

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t