VOGONS

First post, by pan069

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I have this old mini tower and it has a turbo switch and speed display. I'm trying to configure the display to my CPU speed but I need a bit of help since I'm a total noob.

First question; as you can see in the photo, there is a single brown wire, where does this normally connect to?

Second question; to configure the speed indicator I assume I can connect it to a battery temporarily while I fiddle with the jumpers (marked 1 to 7 and A to G on the PCB). What would be a good voltage and "how" would I actually connect it?

Third question; what should I definitely not do (i.e. what might cause damage).

In case you're wondering, the white/yellow wire goes to the turbo led on the front of the case.

pRaO5bB.jpg

Reply 1 of 8, by wiretap

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Power: it is +5VDC.
- Check what model transistor those are at the very top of the board in the picture. See if they're PNP or NPN.
---If PNP, put a multimeter on the emitter and test for a short between it and one of the header pins. That will be your (+) lead for 5VDC. The collector pin of the transistor will go to the ground pin.
---If NPN, put a multimeter on the collector and test for a short between it and one of the header pins. That will be your (+) lead for 5VDC. The emitter pin of the transistor will go to the ground pin.
- Ground pin should be right next to the +5VDC pin at the header on the very top of the picture. If I had to guess, +5VDC/GND is 2 of those 3 pins you don't have hooked up.

To connect power outside the case, you can use a 9V battery jumpered to a breadboard. Then run the battery output on the breadboard to a LM7805 to output 5VDC. Alternatively, you could snip a USB cable and wire up the 5V/GND to it, powering the circuit from an old phone charger. It would be best to wire up a 2-position female header so you don't short something on accident.