VOGONS

First post, by foil_fresh

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

hi all

i've ordered a thermaltake pipe101 solid copper 500gm heatsink that requires either a separate 80mm or 92mm fan. motherboard is an ecs 648fx-A2. i currently have a stock cooler which is terribly loud and wobbly to the point that one of my SATA ports broke off from the vibration (i assume).

now back in the day i had a p4 2.4 that my dad gave me and it had a stock fan too, so i have zero knowledge about these hot beasts and how to cool them.

i have read that the fans should have 2 connectors - 1 for power and 1 for rpm management from the mobo. if this is correct, what kind of fan would be sufficient to cool the 103w TDP going thru this half kilogram heatsink? ebay / amazon inks / model numbers would be appreciated.

i would like to keep noise down. the heatsink is capable of handling 3.8ghz so i guess this cpu at 3.2 means that the heatsink will be cool enough with a lower speed fan? wrong? right? ehhhh?

cheers guys.

Attachments

• pipe101b.jpg
    Filename
    pipe101b.jpg
    File size
    59.43 KiB
    Views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 1 of 8, by kolderman

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Just make sure the fan is high static pressure. Do not get a slow one! Quality brands will make quiet capable fans. The Prescott were a disaster for heat, if I was you I would switch it for Northwood. They are cheap enough.

Reply 2 of 8, by foil_fresh

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
kolderman wrote on 2020-01-13, 07:14:

Just make sure the fan is high static pressure. Do not get a slow one! Quality brands will make quiet capable fans. The Prescott were a disaster for heat, if I was you I would switch it for Northwood. They are cheap enough.

what is considered slow RPM and what is considered fast in this case?