VOGONS

First post, by jessenator

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Greetings.

I'm new to the vintage PC world, having spent most of my time dabbling with vintage Macintosh systems. I set out thinking I was being careful, but I think I jumped headlong and would appreciate any advice.

I was curious about the VIA C3 series, as they can be easily downclocked (aside from being slow among their contemporaries), but get just enough for certain applications that need the full beans. My board I bought without a lot of detailed specs, other than it was a TriGem Socket370 board—I thought it was a Cognac model... While the manuals hint at 100 MHz FSB support, it looks like that was not fully implemented in hardware(?) based on some old forum digging. I mean, I'm certain these eMachines boxes really only wanted Celerons perhaps? These old posts from all over the interwebs had some hardware modifications, which I already know am not qualified to perform. I was let down that there's no jumper solution for this board (that I could find).

Is this board, the TriGem Anaheim2, able to be modified using setFSB? If so, would I then need to get myself a standard Celeron to get things initially set up and then swap out to the C3?
FDC22vwl.jpg

Again, apologies if this is covered, but I wondered if anyone knew specifically if this board would work at all, or if I should just cut my losses and find a 100 MHz-FSB supported board? Or even if I should look at a 66MHz FSB C3 to tinker with? I'm not looking for a SUPER WIDE range, like being able to play both ancient DOS games and then flip over and run Quake III Arena or anything. Just maybe get close to early PII capability, which the C3 apparently can scrape by on.

The board is my larger sunk cost (not a lot by any stretch), if that helps form opinions. Thanks!

Reply 1 of 13, by jessenator

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Well, shoot, I think I've answered my own question: http://m.majorgeeks.com/files/details/setfsb.html