VOGONS


First post, by SheikYerbouti

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I know that DOS has a max partitions size of 2 GB, but can I use any PATA drive, say a 40 GB?

Reply 1 of 21, by zyga64

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

It really depends on BIOS. For hardware of this era there are 2 limits: 8GB or 32GB. If you are lucky you can find modded bios with those restrictions removed.
If your BIOS vendor is AWARD, you can patch it by yourself using BIOS Patcher from http://www.rom.by/
http://www.rom.by/articles/BP/index_english.htm

Also many 40GB / 80GB harddrives (and larger) had jumper to limit its capacity to 32GB.

Last edited by zyga64 on 2020-05-29, 19:23. Edited 2 times in total.

1) VLSI SCAMP /286@20 /4MB /TVGA9000C /CMI8330
2) i420EX /486DX33 /16MB /Trio64V+ /AZT2316
3) i430HX /P233MMX /64MB /VirgeDX+3DFX /YMF701
4) i440BX /P II 400 /256MB /FX5500/AWE64
5) i865G /E5800 /2GB /Ti4200 /YMF724

Reply 4 of 21, by zyga64

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

According to internet your motherboard is Intel Zappa.
So there is for sure version 6 of the BIOS (now you have 4). There is also version 11 for Gateway 2000 OEM of this board. http://r3tr0.de/mirror/ftp.mpoli.fi/hardware/ … NTEL/index.html
I would try to flash this bios.

1) VLSI SCAMP /286@20 /4MB /TVGA9000C /CMI8330
2) i420EX /486DX33 /16MB /Trio64V+ /AZT2316
3) i430HX /P233MMX /64MB /VirgeDX+3DFX /YMF701
4) i440BX /P II 400 /256MB /FX5500/AWE64
5) i865G /E5800 /2GB /Ti4200 /YMF724

Reply 5 of 21, by cyclone3d

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

You can also use a drive overlay software to get around drive size limitations or use a NIC or other card with the XT-IDE BIOS or other similar LBA supporting BIOS to get around size limitations.

Yamaha YMF modified setupds and drivers
Yamaha XG resource repository - updated November 27, 2018
Yamaha YMF7x4 Guide
AW744L II - YMF744 - AOpen Cobra Sound Card - Install SB-Link Header
Epstein didn't kill himself

Reply 6 of 21, by zyga64

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

According to Intel archived page, final bios version for this motherboard (not OEM) is 6 http://support.intel.com/support/motherboards/desktop/AdvancedZP/

I found this BIOS here: ftp://soporte.uson.mx/DRIVERS/TARJETAS_MADRE/ … el/10006bs0.exe

Here are more informations about this motherboard: http://intel-vintage-developer.eu5.org/DESIGN … BD/ZP/INDEX.HTM

1) VLSI SCAMP /286@20 /4MB /TVGA9000C /CMI8330
2) i420EX /486DX33 /16MB /Trio64V+ /AZT2316
3) i430HX /P233MMX /64MB /VirgeDX+3DFX /YMF701
4) i440BX /P II 400 /256MB /FX5500/AWE64
5) i865G /E5800 /2GB /Ti4200 /YMF724

Reply 8 of 21, by SheikYerbouti

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
zyga64 wrote on 2020-05-29, 20:59:

According to Intel archived page, final bios version for this motherboard (not OEM) is 6 http://support.intel.com/support/motherboards/desktop/AdvancedZP/

I found this BIOS here: ftp://soporte.uson.mx/DRIVERS/TARJETAS_MADRE/ … el/10006bs0.exe

Here are more informations about this motherboard: http://intel-vintage-developer.eu5.org/DESIGN … BD/ZP/INDEX.HTM

Wow, thank you so much!

I freaking love this forum, you guys are great. Thanks everyone!

Reply 9 of 21, by SheikYerbouti

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Just one more question - will the BIOS update delete my start up splash screen? The splash screen is the logo and name of the computers original manufacturer and has nostalgic value to me 😀

Reply 10 of 21, by zyga64

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Show us photo of the splash screen !

1) VLSI SCAMP /286@20 /4MB /TVGA9000C /CMI8330
2) i420EX /486DX33 /16MB /Trio64V+ /AZT2316
3) i430HX /P233MMX /64MB /VirgeDX+3DFX /YMF701
4) i440BX /P II 400 /256MB /FX5500/AWE64
5) i865G /E5800 /2GB /Ti4200 /YMF724

Reply 13 of 21, by SheikYerbouti

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
evasive wrote on 2020-05-31, 20:03:

I think you can make a backup of that bitmap with the same tooling that is used to load it in there. Let me think where that went 15 years ago...

So would it be possible to restore it if the BIOS update erases it? I'd like that a lot 😀

Reply 14 of 21, by mpe

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

On Intel boards this is usually preserved during BIOS update as the image is located outside of the area flashable by fmup.exe with default settings. As far as I remember there was a separate utility for flashing OEM logo.

But if you care, do a backup. Should live between EC000H and ECFFFH addresses.

Blog||486DX-50|NexGen 586|S4

Reply 15 of 21, by evasive

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

There ya go. This tool apparently has no backup options so yes, make a backup of the original user area as described in the previous post and check if that is indeed as expected.

Attachments

  • Filename
    BIOSLOGO.ZIP
    File size
    185.8 KiB
    Downloads
    6 downloads
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 16 of 21, by chinny22

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Dos 6.22 has the Fat16 /2GB partition limit.
Also remember its a partition limit not drive. So you could have multiple 2GB partitions to use up more of the drive.

If you use Dos7 that comes with Win9x you'll also get Fat32 and go beyond the 2GB limit.
You don't even have to install Win9x just use a bootdisk to create a a bootable partition.
easiest way is boot from disk and type format c: /s

Reply 18 of 21, by zyga64

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
mpe wrote on 2020-06-01, 09:05:

On Intel boards this is usually preserved during BIOS update as the image is located outside of the area flashable by fmup.exe with default settings. As far as I remember there was a separate utility for flashing OEM logo.

But if you care, do a backup. Should live between EC000H and ECFFFH addresses.

how to do it ? Should we use debug ?

1) VLSI SCAMP /286@20 /4MB /TVGA9000C /CMI8330
2) i420EX /486DX33 /16MB /Trio64V+ /AZT2316
3) i430HX /P233MMX /64MB /VirgeDX+3DFX /YMF701
4) i440BX /P II 400 /256MB /FX5500/AWE64
5) i865G /E5800 /2GB /Ti4200 /YMF724

Reply 19 of 21, by SheikYerbouti

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
zyga64 wrote on 2020-06-02, 05:22:
mpe wrote on 2020-06-01, 09:05:

On Intel boards this is usually preserved during BIOS update as the image is located outside of the area flashable by fmup.exe with default settings. As far as I remember there was a separate utility for flashing OEM logo.

But if you care, do a backup. Should live between EC000H and ECFFFH addresses.

how to do it ? Should we use debug ?

I would like to know this aswell. I'm a complete noob with these things, so I'd really appreciate instructions.

Also how can you restore it after the BIOS update, if the update removes the splash screen?